We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rome Free Walking Tour
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:15 AM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Rome Free Walking Tour
from $19.99
More Info
Reviews (1,970)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
539
123
50
28
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
123
50
28
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish steps spanish embassy your bearings meeting point trevi fountain answer questions interesting stories great guide vatican city piazza venezia roman history gelato information mauro serena knowledge overview
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our tour guide was Gaustavo. I hope that’s the correct spelling. He was an excellent guide. He showed us “his” Rome and he obviously loves it. He spoke about the difference between baroque and renaissance architecture and compared the difference to musical styles. I know nothing about architecture (or music) but he kept us amused and interested. He also told us about the lunch at teatro quirino. Which was great. We ate there twice and we very pleased both times. My friends also enjoyed the ice cream tip. We of course left a tip for Gaustavo, but I was disappointed to note that some people who stayed with us all round did not.

Thank Jazza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had our morning tour with Sarah. She was very preoccupied with other tour groups, especially one where the guide had a microphone. It really wasn't bothering us but it seemed to bother her a lot. First few stops she carried on about it before, very distractedly, continuing with the info about the area.

As the tour went on it got a lot better and we found the last couple of stops very informative. Give it a go if you're pov like us!

Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were at afternoon free walking tour (English group). The tour guide was very good, starting at spanish steps, continuing to Trevi fountain, going to Venezia square to Roman Forum and finally to Coloseum. The tour durated 2h and it was a pleasure to hear some interesting stories that we could not read in guide books. We were with 9 years old child and the tour was not exhosting.

1  Thank BernardaLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to do this tour, but our tourguide had a very soft voice. The group was quite big and so we couldn't understand what the guide was saying. The spanish guide stayed nearby with her group and because her voice was a lot louder we only heard her. After two stops we left the group and took our travelguide out to learn more about Rome. A pity!

Thank Smai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menella C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Rome Free Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback but this is a FREE TOUR, and we cannot rent headsets or use microphone.
We offer this tour to welcome people in our city and we only work with official LICENSED TOUR GUIDES. So you have the same quality service as paid tours but if you take a paid one you can have also headsets.

Thanks and regards
Rfwt staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fredericka was a fantastic guide. She bought humour, combined with her knowledge of Rome made this an unforgettable tour and by far the highlight of our Rome experience.

The tour is at a great pace and allows you to see all the main attractions in Rome.

Definitely would recommend this tour again.

And Fredericka- you should definitely still visit Australia, don't worry about the spiders.

Thank taylaarce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Free Walking Tour business model seems to have taken off everywhere and we have had universally good experience.
Rome was no different, and for someone new to the city, the morning and the afternoon tours (same starting point - different route) were an outstanding introduction.

With our first tour we had Frederico, who was so entertaining that we all stuck with her even though there was a torrential downpour in the middle.

Thank AndrewB162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Usually with a free walking tour you get enthusiastic guides. However, the guide we had Maria, was first of all more than 15 minutes late, and then started complaining about everything; inpolite tourist, other guides, giving tours based on tips, etc...she was enthusiastic about Rome, all buildings were fantastic, but didn't seem to like the job because other groups annoyed her and other activities annoyed her. Maybe one of the other free tours have better guides.

1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We stumbled across Free Walking tours, and we will use them everywhere possible from now on! Nikola was a great, informative guide in Rome, starting at the Spanish Steps. He gave history, information and suggestions, and set the stage for our days to come in Rome. We started clueless and ended feeling like we had a plan. Rome can be overwhelming to a first time tourist with minimal language skills. This was very helpful.

Thank Guide816095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Though we visited many familiar sites, Gastone gave a unique and fascinating look at the architecture of many well known buildings, fountains and more. Well worth the trip whether you have been to Rome before or this is your first time.

Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

I have Participated in many free walking tours in Europe and South America. This was hands down the best. The size of the tour was restricted to a manageable size. Our guide, Stefano, kept us in rigorous formation and was both articulate and Had great English. His enthusiasm was infectious. Most importantly, he had the rare ability to appeal to both history geeks like myself and less intense participants. Everyone was captivated by his narrative and. No one dropped off the tour because of boredom or whatever — a rare accomplishment. And although This was my fifth trip to Rome, I saw new things and learned a host of new information. I cannot recommend this tour more highly. Just reserve well in advance since the size is limited and it is justifiably popular!

Thank niloc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews