We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A do-not-miss in Rome”
Review of Pipero Roma

Pipero Roma
Ranked #74 of 12,262 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $135
Cuisines: Italian, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
228 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“A do-not-miss in Rome”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This place is such a hidden gem and I cannot find an explanation for such a low ranking here. A quite small, intimate (proper distance between tables) yet spacious (high ceilings) space, wonderfully professional and charming service and literally everything that is served creative, beautiful on the plate and delicious. No wonder there's a Michelin star by their name, they deserve this and more. Just the first page of the menu states what you can expect and you will not be disappointed - have a look at the photo. We will come back with utmost pleasure :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NATinCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    154
    49
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
619 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Terrific meal and experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went for the tasting menu at lunch, and were one of only three tables dining. The room is pretty, with vaulted wooden ceilings, an old large fireplace (now converted into storage for after dinner drinks!), modern lighting, and comfortable tables. Mr. Pipero and his staff took excellent care of us, starting with a drink of his house sparkling wine and an amuse bouche of fabulous ham, balsamic and bread. Stupendous duck breast tartare "sandwich" with green apple and mustard, and egg poached in green tea with potato. Also lovely seafood linguine with fish roe, beef filet pizzaiolo, and white chocolate/cherry/hazelnut crumble dessert. This place produces dishes that have surprising contrasting taste, color and texture -- every little piece, from a tiny herb or flower petal on up -- works together and enhances the other components. My only question -- why isn't it absolutely packed all the time? It should be. A splurge meal, and worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpanishStepsApt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Delightful room, charming host and terrific, accessible yet special, food. A shout out to the linguine with fish sauce. (Why should the divine carbonara get all the kudos? Tho it IS divine.) The beef tenderloin from Todi...yum. Whipped white chocolate with cherries, amaretto crunch and hazelnut gelato. Sigh. Thank you, Alessandro, and thanks to your wonderful chef. Best meal we had in Rome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eastwestSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you are looking for first class service, an unforgettable dining experience and something just a bit special then look no further than Pipero al Rex. I booked a table for my partner's birthday after reading amazing reviews about the restaurant and we certainly weren't disappointed.

The tasting menu was the perfect way to sample michelin-starred cooking at its best - the dishes were so varied and expertly created, and the attention to detail was something to be applauded.

If you appreciate elegant cuisine and enjoy the finer things in life then be sure to visit Alex Pipero and his team at Pipero al Rex. We certainly hope to be able to visit again in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience, best meal in Rome!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My partner picked this restaurant based on the reviews. How is this restaurant not further up the list on trip advisor, I'm not sure? We arrived at opening time as we eat early. We were greeted by the owner Pipero and offered a complimentary glass of wine. After a short discussion with Pipero, we decided to go with the surprise tailored menu and were given bread fresh from the oven (best bread I have tasted)... We had no idea how many courses, they just kept coming :-) the whole evening was an experience! Pipero was attentive as were the wait staff, who introduced and explained each dish. The chef even came out to farewell us when we were done! The food was amazing, inventive but so fresh, vibrant and tasty. I can't recommend this place enough! For me the stand outs were the carbonara and the seared lamb with strawberries and raspberries. However it was pricey, but worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pipero Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing