We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a early evening drink”
Review of Bar Frattina

Bar Frattina
Ranked #62 of 157 Coffee & Tea in Rome
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Colonna
Description: In 1956 , the return of the old shopkeepers after the war , he opened the " Bar Frattina ." In those years the road was frequented by neo-realist painters and filmmakers . Constant was the presence of Guttuso and Rossellini. Associations and cultural halls give way to place atelier and exhibition of high fashion, among the most popular in the world. Today, as then, you can easily meet writers and celebrities . The Way of the Bar and become the meeting point as well as a necessary step . Antonello Venditti has imagined the meeting of the leaders of his own song at a table in the bar between the passage of people.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Perfect for a early evening drink”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Located on yet another elegant street people meander down...ergo this bar, cafe, tabacchi and purveyor of good gelato, is perfectly located to sit, sip, read and watch.
Excellent and generous bar snacks. Good drinks.
Did go for lunch one day..enjoyable watching the locals 'friday' lunch, generous cafe food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    69
    36
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Try another place”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Not far from Spanish steps, we though a nice casual bite to eat and drink and then hop in a taxi from the rank nearby. The place with its outdoor seating looked 'just right' but there were only seats free inside. Perhaps because we opted to go inside, we were forgotten even though the waiters were constantly passing us. Just as we were about to leave for lack of service, our order was taken. We received slightly burnt and cold offerings by the non smiling, distinctly grumpy waiter who appeared to be more annoyed when we ordered a second glass of the house red. The staff were very busy serving the outside customers but that hardly validates poor service for others. I did enquire about the cost of a menu dessert of gelato as it did look superb and seemed to be a speciality. However when told it 'about 15 or 16 Euros' I knew it was time to leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, small dishes”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The sandwiches are tasty yet pretty small, the sitting in beautiful street makes a great atmosphere, coffee is great, ice coffee is disappointing. Ice creams are very expensive comparing to other places. Breakfast of 2 coffees and 2 paninies is ~15 euro.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ido R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expensive ! Prices do not match quality. Look further”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went there for ice cream but most of their menu choices were either not available, or finished.
More than half of the ice cream flavors were not available, the machine for the yoghurt ice creams wasn't working. The waiter wasn't particularly professional nor apologetic for the inconvenience.
Most ice creams cups were 10 Euros each which is a lot by Italian standards and the quality of the products was disappointing. Sizes were ridiculously small. The smallest banana split I have ever seen in my life. I ordered ice cream with fruits but my bananas came to the table already darkened. They were overripe and melted with the ice cream. Blah...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maplehuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Looks like one of those typical places with outdoor seating near major tourist attractions which should be avoided. But it was great - a stumble away from the Spanish Steps, great drinks at reasonable prices, gorgeous olives for nibbles and our pizza snack was perfectly acceptable. Surprisingly good all round, including the service, and we were at risk of staying the rest of the afternoon but had to go and chuck a coin in some nearby fountain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Frattina also viewed

 

Been to Bar Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing