We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Palazzo Doria Pamphilj
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.47*
and up
Doria Pamphilj Palace Gallery and Museum Private Tour with Local Guide
More Info
$44.64*
and up
Rome Baroque Concert and Tour at Palazzo Doria Pamphilj
More Info
$46.99*
and up
Opera Serenades By Night in Rome at Palazzo Doria Pamphilj
Ranked #36 of 1,522 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stunning palace located in a central location. Full of galleries of gorgeous paintings. Make sure to ask for the audio guide to get the full experience.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I highly recommend this small private museum if you have some spare time. I went first thing in the morning and had the place to myself. I enjoyed the feeling that I was in someone's stunning home (well, palace) viewing their personal art collection. I loved the Bernini busts in particular. Like others have said, the audio narrated by a family member is great. It's not the first place you should visit in Rome, but definitely should be on your list if you've got a lot of time there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sperantei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,456
    419
    83
    34
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We loved everything about this palace. The audio was great, the collection was impressive and the palace and its history were fascinating. We loved that we could walk right up and buy a ticket and that it wasn't crowded at all (early November) and wonder why we had never encountered it before this, our 4th visit to Rome. Do yourself a favor and explore this excellent and very interesting palace/museum/residence. It will not disappoint.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank candj39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“PALAZZO DORIA PAMPHILJ IS A GEM”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This museum, still partly inhabited by the family that owns it, is an uncrowded delight. You can't say it's off the beaten path, because it's on a main thoroughfare (via del Corso), but because Rome has so many treasures, it's just not #1 on anyone's list. The palazzo itself is a lovely building that induces an almost restful feeling, but once you look at the art, you do not want to doze. Unlike more modern museums that hang paintings in a minimalist fashion, this place has floor-to-ceiling treasures. It's impossible to look carefully at each piece, but every once in awhile you are arrested by the thing of beauty that is before you. After you spend a few days going to the Colosseum, the Forum, the Pantheon, the Capitoline, etc., you will welcome a change of pace! I see that some visitors balk at the admission fee, but I thought it was well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Surprisingly poor museum”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A private museum, this treasure-trove of many very important paintings exhibits them in a way that makes them almost impossible to view: floor to ceiling hangings and very por lighting. No photography is allowed unless you pay 4 euros to get a pass. I have never come across such a thing before.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OVERLOOKED MARVEL”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Magnificent palace housing a truly stellar art collection encompassing history's superstars, in a relaxed and uncrowded setting. Pay the couple of euros for the audio guide, well worth it. Perfect little tea room for full meal or just coffee and dessert, nice place to regroup. Excellent little gift shop near entrance. You'll be amazed, don't miss this place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank authenticone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Doria Pamphilj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing