We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it. Not crowded”

Palazzo Doria Pamphilj
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.08*
and up
Doria Pamphilj Palace Gallery and Museum Private Tour with Local Guide
Ranked #36 of 1,488 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stunning palace located in a central location. Full of galleries of gorgeous paintings. Make sure to ask for the audio guide to get the full experience.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Well worth it. Not crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

You will marvel at the lack of crowds ,matched with the amazing art. And add to that this incredible setting. The sound recording guide is well worth it and practically a requirement. And I never get those things. This one is very informative, and not just on the art but on the history of the building and the families. The chance to stand alone in the room with the Velasquez painting of the Pamphili Pope is worth the price of admission in its own right.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    397
    81
    33
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An unmissable collection of art where it belongs in somebody's home..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found this place in a guide book and it lived up to the recommendation and more. An immense collection of art from a family collection. Housed in the apartments where a member of the family still lives.

Definitely worth getting the audio guide to walk around with as this gives you the real background behind the family's property funny stories and the art on the walls.

If we return to Rome we would go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Polko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“unexpected delight, and wonderful Velasquez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

we had an hour to kill before the churches opened again and visited this palazzo - and loved it so much we were still there 2 1/2 hours later - great audio guide, somehow being introduced to the family history by a family member made it all more personal and engaging. We loved the stories behind the paintings and sculpture. Our party of 5 ranged in age from 11 - 74 and we all had a brilliant time. And the Velasquez is spectacular, as are many of the other paintings. And after the crush of people in the Vatican Museums, nice to go somewhere relatively quiet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get the free Audioguide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved the audioguide - finally understood some of the paintings, it was great. Go in the morning or evening though as there is no air con.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerPlumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stumbled upon this while walking on the Vi Del Corso. An unassuming building but don't let that deter you. This is a word class museum. The narration and explanation was provided by a member of the family who still lives there. He was educated in the UK so easy to understand. The state rooms have been restored and stories passed on from generation are passed on. The rooms are fully furnished an hung with art. There is a great collection and the walls are covered with art (not lik a museum). There are Cavaggios and Raphaels plus many more. They have a "gallery" like the palace of Versilles hall of mirrors - even better - the mirrors are clean and the hall filled with art. I found out after words that I could have bought a photo pass for 4 Euro after I was done. So get it up front. I went back for a second visit. The place was not crowded and you could really admire the works.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RBoyd585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Doria Pamphilj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing