We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chiesa del Gesu

Chiesa del Gesu
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.79*
and up
Trastevere and Jewish Ghetto Rome Walking Tour
Ranked #40 of 1,490 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

An superb church with a lovely high altar and an amazing ceiling fresco - the grandiose Triumph of the Name of Jesus by Giovanni Battista Gaulli.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank katiee_stansfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    276
    53
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Ceiling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went to all the top rated in the Michelin guide and this was one. I loved the ceiling and the chapel Sant'Ignazzio. Well worth a special visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol.com
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

There are so many beautiful churches in Rome that they can easily run together--but this one stood out--I guess it was the GOLD and the tie to St. Ignatius Loyola that stuck with me. Being inside was very moving.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rpv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than St. Peters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

After taking the expected St. Peter's tour and being overwhelmed by its size, we stopped off at this church on the way to the Colosseum. The church is tied closely to the Counter Reformation and St. Ignatius. We were not disappointed. The heavy baroque artwork and gilding were wonderful, but what struck me the most was the intimacy of each of the smaller side chapels and a sense of true reverence, with or without the glitz. We liked it so much that after we got back from the Colosseum, my husband went back with his camera to take picts, except for some inexplicable reason the church was closed. This was about 3:30, well before winter closing hours.

I highly recommend a visit to it. Everything is so very close in Rome. On the map the distances look daunting, but these are small blocks by U.S. standards.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Sacred place with secrets...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderfull Roma baroque church sometimes with open entry upstairs to some secret rooms and Chappel. Amasing view down to the church and to fresque paintings. Recomendation!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiesa del Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing