We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very overated!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria in Trastevere

Santa Maria in Trastevere
Book In Advance
$91.53*
and up
Trastevere Quarter Rome Segway Experience with Lunch
Ranked #28 of 1,264 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very overated!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Don't waste your time. The square is very dirty, many strange people, lousy shops and restaurants. We had the worst gelato ever at Blue ice -- do not go here!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SharDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,913
    839
    110
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Church in a awesome district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Getting to this church you'll go through some of the best streets Rome has to offer. Close-knit roads with great restaurants and cafes. Eventually, you'll reach the main square where the church is situated. The gorgeous church was memorable with a striking center alter piece and great religious artworks. Additionally, the atmosphere was very peaceful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunnyAudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not like all the other churches in Rome...DON'T MISS THIS ONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am not particularly interested in churches in Rome, as there are so many and was under the general impression that I had seen enough of them, BUT this one is very special since it is from the Byzantine era and is filled with gorgeous mosaics.

On top of that, there is a very loving and religious atmosphere inside - created in part by music playing in the church.

Be sure to put a coin in the light box to activate the lights so you can see the mosaics.

For me, I love this church because of the images of Mary - they are so queenly and beautiful and not the usual fare.

The outside is also filled with a beautiful mosaic.

I also like the gift shop here - I ended up lighting candles for people I love inside the church, and then in the gift shop I got them each a brochure and a refrigerator magnet of the face of the beautiful Mary and of the nativity mosaic which I think is a masterpiece. As well as ofthe bull. There are also nice bookmarks of Mary. If I had more room in my suitcase I would also have brough home the lovely little candleholders.

I also bought a beautiful advent calendar of St. Peter's for the holidays done by a lovely Canadian artist who lives in Rome (She also does the Metropolitan Museum of Art advent calendars in the U.S.).

But just to sit in the pews here is a very lovely thing to do. One of the few churches in tourist Rome that feels authentic, where you focus on the spiritual feeling.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Liked the feel of the entire neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Good combo here is to have guided tour Church of San Clemente, Colosseum and Roman Forum then thru Trastevere.....one evening we walked thru area and wished we hadn't eaten yet as all the cafes looked yummy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really beautiful church. Incredible painting on walls. Wonderful seiling, all in gold, and figure of Virgin Mary right above you. Really wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing