We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind plain walls”

Santa Maria Sopra Minerva
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.86*
and up
Pantheon and Santa Maria Sopra Minerva Guided Tour in Rome
More Info
$236.03*
and up
Rome in a Day by Golf Cart: Colosseum and Roman Forum - Lunch Included
More Info
$391.41*
and up
Private Baroque Walking Tour of Rome: Bernini, Caravaggio, Michelangelo, and...
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Behind plain walls”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Inside a plain front is a spectacular interior with many chapels, and statues by Bernini and Michelangelo. It is literally steps from the Pantheon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank busyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    452
    53
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I just love this place, I have visited each time I was in Rome and I know I will keep going back to it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Michelangelo & Filippino Lippi”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Right around the corner from the pantheon is this appealing Dominican church. For some people, the best part will be the statue in the piazza - an elephant supporting an obelisk - by Bernini's workshop. Inside is a Gothic interior with Michelangelo's Risen Christ to the left of the altar - you can walk right up to it - & Filippino Lippi's gorgeous Carafa Chapel frescoes off the right aisle. Fra Angelico is buried here & so is most of St. Catherine of Siena (her head is back home).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Albiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful Church next to the Pantheon”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We actually popped into this church to get out of the rain but we greeted by a beautiful church with a genuinely peaceful atmosphere. The ceiling was painted but not with the busy scenes to which we had become used around Rome. It has a blue celestial scene that added to the peacefulness. If you are visiting the Pantheon it is literally in a square to its rear. A great place to visit to wind down after the frenetic activity of the adjacent building.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank piggymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Santa Maria Sopra Minerva”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fantastic place tucked around the corner from the Pantheon, it's the only Gothic Church in Rome. Should definitely to included in any list of Churches to see in Rome

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lori k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Sopra Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing