We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Richard Meier”

Museo dell'Ara Pacis
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.82*
and up
The Emperor’s Tombs Small Group Tour
Ranked #143 of 1,490 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ceremonial dedication of the Altar of Peace, took place on the 30th January in the year 9 B.C. It seems, according to the evidence provided by the historian Cassius Dione (LIV, 25.3), that at first the Senate had planned to build an altar within their own building, the Curia, but the idea was not followed through and the northernmost part of the Field of Mars, which had recently been urbanized, was chosen instead. The altar dedicated to peace came, therefore, and not by chance, to be built in the middle of a vast plain, on which, traditionally, the man oeuvres of the infantry and the cavalry took place, and, in more recent times, the gymnastic exercises of the Roman youth.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Richard Meier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Richard Meier architect of light. The quality and respect to the projective pre existence are striking in this museum. The building has large glass facades, and at the same time is not affected by the large amount of sun in the summer. It is a place where you feel living in the present and the past visiting harmoniously.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdgarSTEFFENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    206
    82
    45
    45
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“FOR THE DIE HARDS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

For me it is 'a nice to see' but not 'a must' on your trip to Rome. Entrance fee is less than 10 €. Sometimes people/visitors have remarks on the entrance fees, but if you think twice , musea are cheap to visit, and certainly in Italy. Beautiful new building presenting and protecting the altar , even the outside is worth seeing. The virtual tour, both in English and Italian is very good and explains well it's history . But the museum is about the altar and only the altar......could I not have seen it from the outside ?? ..........but on the inside plays the ancient 'object' and the timeless building......up to you, the visitor, to choose.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tempiodelgusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
701 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,304 helpful votes
“Outstanding example of Roman civilisation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Whilst so many of the Roman remains commemorate military conquest, martial valour and armed combat generally, it is something of a relief to visit the Ara Pacis and remind yourself that the Roman Empire was also responsible for civilizing many of the territories with its influence. The altar of peace is a beautiful and elegant monument to the splendour of Augustan Rome and thoroughly deserves the distinction of having its own building to preserve it. Visitors have close access to the altar and even a short viewing will help to dispel the ubiquitous images of the Colosseum from your memory whenever you think of Rome. The superb frieze around the altar's exterior depicts Augustus and his family as well as many of the senatorial figures of the era and this provides a unique historical record of Roman identities in the early years of the 1st century. The improbable task of re-assembling the Ara Pacis from fragments that had been dispersed around the world and it's remarkable state of preservation make this a must see on any serious visitor's itinerary.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An often-missed marvel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were delighted to find that on our third visit to Rome we could at last see the Ara Pacis in all its glory in its modern, earth-quake proof, climate controlled building.
One can understand the decision to site it next to the Augustus Mausoleum - a shame that this interesting relic is an overgrown deglected ruin. This historic and magnificent Altar is ignored by most visitors to Rome, yet it is only a short walk from the Piaza Di Spagna and the designer shops of the Via Del Corso. The Rotary Club of South Rome have contributed interesting models that put the Ara Pacis in context. Entry is expensive for this single exhibit, presumably due to the cost of the museum project. If Roman history is of interest then the visit is well worthwhile. It seems a shame that the high cost is preventing more visitors. Maybe the answer for many people is a swift detour from the shopping and a walk around the outside !
For us it was a wonderful experience of great historic significance that should not be missed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pookymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Like other reviewers, I had seen this altar from outside but had not gone into the museum. If you are interested in history it is well worth a visit, even though the entry fee is rather high.

Some people have been critical of the setting in a very modern glass building, but for me the contrast between old and new was stunning. It was just right, with the sunlight falling on the old marble. You can walk into the "sacred enclosure" next to the altar itself which is something I did not realise when I looked at it from outside. The fact that we are able to see it at all is incredible, as it was thought for many years to have been almost a myth, until historians started to piece together the scattered remains.

I was so impressed by it that I visited it a second time.

The bookstore is good but I would have welcomed a small guide book in English. There was a fairly heavy guide - weightwise - but nothing smaller.

If you visit, don't forget to look out the back at Augustus's Mausoleum. This is fenced off at the moment - I hope it will be accessible sometime. The other interesting aspect is also at the back: the Res Gestae of Augustus (a list of his notable deeds) is set into the outside wall of the museum as it would have been in Roman times. It takes up most of the wall and is most impressive.

For me the monument is worth 5 stars+ but I have limited the site to four due to the cost of entrance (11 or 12 euros from memory) and the lack of a guide book.

But this is one of the most memorable parts of my visit to Rome and I plan to include it in any future visits to Rome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thecrazyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museo dell'Ara Pacis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing