We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, friendly, clean and perfect location”
Review of Giulia Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giulia Town House
Ranked #2,391 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just a little bit different to your average guest house the Giulia Town House. The owners are designers and this makes the interior a cut above what you'd expect. Blond wooden floors, white sofas and cream shutters and designer lamps are the theme here. But like all designer houses, the furnishings don't wear too well so there are paint scuffs here and there and some things look a tad tired and could do with replacing. The room we had was small but had a balcony where you could sit out, although it was noisy with the road. It was very clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night when the windows were closed, in spite of the very busy road. The air con was good. The shower was hot and strong.The location is perfect - I mean totally perfect. One skip across the road and you're into some super restaurants and interesting squares. The Vatican is 5 mins away. The owner we met - Luca - was mild mannered and couldn't be more helpful. He let us store our luggage before a late flight home and use the house to stay cool in the afternoon.The breakfast was good (fruit, bread, pastry) - the best cappuccino we have ever drunk. Thank you for that. We would stay here again and would recommend this to you if you are staying in Rome and want friendly, modern and clean lodgings.

Room Tip: I would go for a larger room and forget the balcony in summer.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mstraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Giulia Town House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Guilia Townhouse, is a great place to stay in in Rome. We stayed at the beginning and again at the end of our trip to Italy. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the ambience of the place and the friendliness of the staff who were always willing to help us and give advice. The location made it easy to walk to the main attractions and to explore Rome. Overall it is a wonderful place to stay in Rome and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved Giulia Townhouse. The staff is very friendly, helpful and professional. The facility is beautiful, immaculate, comfortable, nicely decorated, and in an amazing location.The breakfast which is included is a wonderful bonus. There is a lovely shared living space where breakfast is served. Breakfast served from 8-10am (great hours) includes a perfect assortment of breakfast foods, "cornetto" (croissant-like, but better in my opinion, sweet rolls) and a variety of others breads and cakes, yogurts, fresh fruit, cheeses, salami, cappucino, teas, juices. Its a perfect way to start the morning. Other guests were nice to meet and talk to as well. The ambiance is perfect for talking and sharing information. And the staff was so helpful with directing us to buses, making reservations for us, etc. Its amazing service all around, and on top of that, they are just nice people to talk with. I couldn't recommend it more highly! We will be back on our next stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaGA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I agree with the last reviewer. Room facing the big street is very small, as is the bathroom, but probably fine for a young couple or a single traveler. At our age, we could use a little more space. Also, the bathroom needs a shelf, could use some tiling on the walls and the a/c needs help. That being said, I am a light sleeper and with the windows closed it was quiet. Maybe it is because I am from NYC like the other reviewer, but even with the window open, it was ok. Yes street noise but Rome is a big city. The bottom line is we had no problem sleeping. On the plus side, location is perfect for walking everywhere, terrace next to room is large. Lucca and Francesco are totally fluent in English (they were born in the US) and are very helpful. Breakfast croissants and the juice could be upgraded but you won't starve. Plenty of yogurt and fruit. Also cheese and some ham. The common area, while smaller than it seemed on the website, is very attractive and has couches. I think the other rooms are bigger and so probably don't have the downsides mentioned. Wifi worked just fine. Great water pressure in the shower.

Room Tip: If u will be unhappy with a small room, don't take the double with terrace, though the terrace i...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I agree with all of the positive reviews of this B&B. Being clean, affordable and in a perfect location are my priorities when looking for a place to stay and this certainly met those criteria. The shower was larger than many European ones, with good pressure and hot water. (A shelf in the bathroom would have been nice for toiletries - that's just my thing.) I also do agree, in part, with the 1 negative review. We stayed in the same room that faces the main street, Lungotevere, (the one with the terrace), and yes, it is quite noisy. But closing just 1 window made a significant difference. The noise never kept us up at night, but if you are a very light sleeper, I can see that it could be an annoyance. Then you may want to request a room facing Via Giulia rather than Lungotevere. European rooms can be on the smaller side, generally speaking, that's just the way it is. And I know from years of traveling that photos on a website always make the rooms appear larger than they are. In our room, we just put our luggage on top of the closet and didn't have a problem with that. If we didn't, yes it would be a tight fit. We had plenty of hangers (at least 8) and if someone needed more, I'm sure all you would need to do would be to ask. The AC does appear to be an issue (it did not work well when we were there) so if you do close the window and the door to the terrace, then it could get quite warm. Breakfast was fine - nothing terrible, nothing fantastic. Enough to get the day going. We had 2 of the 3 staff people we met speak fluent English (Lucca and Francesco) and everyone there was extremely helpful. Lucca went out of his way to try and help us book a tour. Elena speaks Italian, French and Spanish and was also very warm and helpful, showing me which route to take to walk to the Vatican, despite having difficulty with English (I was able to converse with her mostly in my broken Spanish). Yes, it is wonderful to have English speaking staff, however, I don't think anyone should have to apologize for not speaking my language in their own country. It is also true that the staff is not around much past noon so it is advisable that you have some access to the internet with an iTouch or smartphone as the B&B does have free wi-fi. A phone with an international SIM card would also be helpful, which we didn't have (or need). All in all, I would absolutely recommend this B&B and would stay there again if I ever found myself back in Roma.

Room Tip: Room facing Lungotevere will be noisier than that facing Via Giulia.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LNEBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can only join the chorus of all the other positive reviews. Excellent location, extremely friendly and helpful service and overall good value. We spend 2 nights in the suite and had ample of space, absolutely no problem with the noise from traffic. The road outside is very busy, but it calms down during the night (even weekends) and the double glazing windows take care of all the noise. Most other places with similar standard cost a lot more.
The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is good for Italian standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really don't know where to start on this one as reading the rest of the reviews I feel as if I must have landed in a parallel universe. I'll start with the negatives so other people can get a full and honest view.

Point 1. First off the hotel (if you can call it that) is on possibly the busiest road in Rome. Bear this in mind if you like to be able to sleep at night as the traffic noise is so loud that it was impossible to sleep, it goes on ALL night, relentless. We tried closing the wooden shutters, pulling the curtains across and blocking them against the window. Nothing worked. When all you want at the end of a long day's walk around a busy city is to go back to a quiet, cosy, peaceful hotel room to relax, this isn't the place. Each morning we 'awoke' more tired than when we went to bed. A horrible feeling.

Point 2. Don't be deceived by the pictures on the website, they must have been taken with a panoramic lens and about 5 years ago. The place is tiny and doesn't bear much resemblance to the website. The place was soul-less and the staff didn't speak any English, which although isn't a necessity it'd be nice to be understood. There seemed to be a steady stream of random people passing through, non of whom spoke hardly any English. Beware that as it's just a random house with no reception, there is no-one to speak to if there is an emergency. Some people serve you your food in the morning then that's it. You don't see anyone again, with just three mobile numbers on a piece of paper in your room to phone after 8pm and only then in an emergency.

Point 3. The room we had (double with terrace) was tiny, no place to put your suitcase IF you've emptied it, and IF being the operative word as the wardrobe was tiny with FOUR hangers each for me and my wife. Therefore you're tripping over your bags just to walk around the room, which was small by any standards.
The bed we had one flat pillow each so we had to sneak some cushions in from the main reception room to actually have something to rest our heads on.
The air conditioning didn't work the first night which meant we were sleeping in our own sweat.
Towels didn't get changed daily.
As it's basically a house you can hear it when the other guests in the other two rooms go to the toilet. I'm sure you get the picture by now......

Point 4. Breakfast. When you've got a full days sightseeing ahead of you what you want is to leave the 'hotel' on a full stomach. What we got was a mug of lukewarm coffee, a croissant, a yoghurt and something that resembled watered down juice. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. When you pay the prices they charge you expect not to have to go and pay for some breakfast not long after you've just supposedly had it!

Now for the one positive. Location. If you want to be able to walk to all the main sites in Rome then this does tick that box. That's it. In my opinion if you want to stay in Rome check out the general location of where this is but stay somewhere else in the vicinity, away from that damn road!

All in all we were totally shocked by our experience and if this review sounds harsh, then it isn't. For the prices they charge it's criminal. I've given it one star for the general geographical location of the place, not the actual location.
I'd just like to make sure other people don't make the same mistake we did and ruin their trip to Rome.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here then I suppose ask to stay in the room without the terrace, that may be...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lxxx1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#135 of 1,267 in Rome
1,535 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#181 of 1,267 in Rome
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Maison Giulia
Maison Giulia
#95 of 3,710 in Rome
517 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Piazza Farnese Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#370 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giulia Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giulia Town House

Address: Lungotevere Dei Tebaldi 4, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,391 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $120 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Giulia Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing