We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Ranked #268 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

very good concierge service , amazing location , a bit noisy and rooms are small , all the trendy art of rome painting and sculpture is around the hotel , it makes it very special.
breakfast is also very good

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 565 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Art Hotel is in a quiet street that was a traditional haunt of artists, so as you'd expect, it's an arty kinda place with paintings and sculptures on show in the foyer but nothing much in the rooms. The hotel's location, between the Spanish Steps and Pza Popolo with easy access to Villa Borghese, is one reason to stay here. The staff are good and the breakfasts are another reason to stay. The only thing I didn't like was the room, but I booked at short notice and there may not have been much available. The hallways are lit with coloured flourescent floor strips, which can be confronting when you return from a late night out, and my room was small with only one small window that opened onto an enclosed courtyard where the smokers go, so there was a constant smell of smoke if the window was open. The door didn't reach the floor so people's conversations in the corridors sounded as if they were inside the room. The bathroom was small and cramped. The toilet was located half-under the hand basin so a seated position required some awkward manouvres. The shower was likewise small and cramped but in European hotels in the center of ancient capitals that's not unusual. However, when in Rome you should only be in your room for sleep - spend as much time as possible visiting the sights, scenes and scents of this fabled city so that when you get back to the Art Hotel you're ready to overlook the shortcomings and are just glad to have a comfortable bed, with the thought of the great breakfast to look forward to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff was great and the suite we had booked with breakfast for two just made it even more special for the honey moon. The best the best ideal after our 10 day cruise in Europe. We Loved it and would return again and do it all over soon

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our new favorite hotel in Rome. We were there with our 3 young teens and stayed for 6 nights. Triple room featured three single beds.

LOCATION: We LOVED the location - the surrounding streets are filled with small boutiques and antique shops (Via Margutta). The major chains (Pink, MiuMiu,Prada, Fendi, Ferette, Geox) are just outside the door along a pedestrian walking area (Via dei Condontii). The Spanga metro stop is around the corner. You can use the metro tunnel to cut through to the park surrounding the Villa Bourghese.

ROOMS: yes, small like all rooms in the heart of any European city. Enough room to roll out your yoga mat.

Rooms are modern, attractive and well equipped - with hairdryer, safes and Etro toiletries. Bathrooms were really well done. No tea or coffee service. You must go down to the lobby and bring up or order room service. But breakfast is included and you can sit there for hours drinking all the coffee, tea and hot chocolate you want. Breakfast features everything you could want except hot dishes.

Sheets are linen and I found them to be scratchy. Two pillows were included - one large and hard, one soft and tiny - neither worked well for me. Accustomed to extreme air-conditioning, the rooms only cooled to 21 and I imagine could be warm in the summer.

There is no carpeting so you can hear walking in the hallways and talking if someone opens their door. We were next to the elevator on the 4th floor and I did not hear it operating at all. I did not notice any noise in the central courtyard.

SERVICE was well orchestrated and civil - nearly friendly.

Their kitchen is small and is not really equipped for major cooking. One night I took the kids down for a light dinner. We ordered a hamburger, plain pasta and caesar salad (I do not recommend). It was food you whip up on a busy day to fill your stomach. They do set up an appetizer bar in the evenings for a before-dinner drink.

Photos on the internet are accurate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaTheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you want to stay in the hart of the city this is the place!!. Everything is in the walking distance and it is very quiet.Hotel is modern and clean. It has very good breakfast and the staff is good! Thre rooms are not that big but modern and well eqquiped. If you are lucy there might be an art show in lobby area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finn_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Firstly, I have to tell that I like art so this hotel was a perfect choice for me. Secondly, hotel was totally full but I was lucky to get the room. Sad that I was there just for two nights. Hotel Art was so near the Spanish Steps so I almost could feel them. All the staff was very pleasant and professional, I felt like I belong to that house. Hotel is situated in a beautiful tiny street. I recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We loved it, it was clean and very modern. It's a boutique hotel and the staff couldn't do more to make you feel welcome. The decor was lovely, we had a deluxe room on the 4th floor which was really nice, cleaned daily. Lovely hot shower! Each floor as a different colour theme, we were blue. The buffet continental breakfast was lovely each morning, plenty of choice. The location was great, 5 min walk from the Spanish Steps and Spagna Metro station so getting around was easy. The Trevi fountain was about 15 minute walk. There are lots of restaurants close by. Would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank eljay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#296 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#152 of 1,267 in Rome
1,574 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
396 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#262 of 1,267 in Rome
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps

Address: Via Margutta 56 | Centre -Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Rome
#150 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#288 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $207 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the verses of poets that guide the steps of guests of the Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps on Via Margutta in the artistic heart of Rome, few steps from Piazza di Spagna. Do not expect signs: the entrance is a minimalist passageway hidden by the many art galleries on Via Margutta.The Hall was once a chapel now below vaults decorated with a starry sky there are the tables of the bar restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing