We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well placed for the historic centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #280 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
195 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Well placed for the historic centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

We spent one night here at the end of 8 days cycling from Coast to Coast, and overall thought it was a good option well placed for the historical centre and Trastavere. It is on the edge of the latter, and is well organised with reasonably smart accomodation. we had a helpful welcome, and a good dinner recommendation. The roof terrace is nice, although the drinks are a little pricey. The hotel is not on but is very close to the very busy Via Trastavere, and therefore inevitably there is a lot of traffic noise and will not suit those who dislike noise especially at night. We stayed elsewhere during the
trip at hotels which were primarily geared to those who like an italian imprint on their food and surroundings - we felt that this hotel oriented itself much more strongly to meeting Northern European
and North American needs which will be a positive for some but wasn't
for us (all down to personal choice ). In summary, plusses definitely
outweigh the minusses but its useful to be aware of the latter.

  • Liked — The roof terrace.
  • Disliked — The noise from the main road nearby.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    309
    73
    26
    7
See reviews for
79
298
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

This hotel was recommended to my husband and I by a family member who had just been to Rome. This hotel is in Trastevere, which is on the same side of the river as the Vatican, but across the river from the Roman Forum, Colliseum etc. I would say that you are about a 25-30 minute walk from just about every site that you will want to see. Alternatively there are buses - although we didn't take any.

I got the impression that the area itself is on those neighbourhoods that has historically been a less desirable part of the town but has been on the "up and coming" lists the last few years. Personally I would stay here again as it was the only part of Rome that we went to that didn't seem to be overwhelmed by tourists and felt a little more authentic. Our best restaurant experience was in this area. Unfortunately I can't recall the name.

The hotel is brand new and although the rooms are quite small, the bathroom is quite large and they are both very clean. I was excited just at the site of shower doors!

The breakfast was better than most and in a very cute dining room, where we never had to wait.

Although there is an internet connection available, you will not catch a wi-fi signal in your room. We were on the second floor and we spoke with other guests who had the same experience. In the lobby however we were able to connect without any problems.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank arado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

This hotel is in Trastavere, an area which feels like the real Rome, where real Romans live, as opposed to the touristy parts. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and everyone was incredibly helpful. If you contact them beforehand, they will arrange for a pick-up from the airport. Lovely roof terrace, with a view across the rooftops, greta palce to relax at the end of a busy day.

  • Liked — location of hotel
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaEdinburghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

Returned home yesterday after spending 3 nights at this hotel with 3 other couples on our first visit to Rome. This is a good hotel in a great location, just enough distance from the centre, with lovely cobbled streets, and great places to eat, you actually feel that you are staying in the true Rome and not somewhere just for tourists. The hotel staff are very kind and helpful and speak excellent english. The rooms are small but who needs bigger, they have everything you need and are clean and attended to daily. The bathrooms are a good size . We asked before arrival if we could have rooms at the back of the hotel as they were reported to have the best outlook, we were not dissapointed. Breakfast is excellent, with lots to choose from and plenty of it. The roof bar is great with beautiful views across Rome, we went up there every night for drinks befor going out to dinner, and really loved it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the traditional Rome, and would not hesitate to stay here again on my next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Liked — location,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tulip19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Spent 3 nights here for my first time in Rome and I was very pleased overall. Had room 102 facing the courtyard. The room was quite small but the bathroom very spacious. This one had a tub while some of the other rooms did not. My only complaint is that I found the bed much too hard for my liking but after the first couple of nights, I got used to it. The staff was excellent in giving suggestions and directions. The breakfasts were wonderful - best cappucinos I've had than anywhere else in Italy! Location is good if you use tram and bus or you can walk if you like. Trastevere is quaint and wonderful to come home to after a busy day of sightseeing in Rome. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Liked — loved the rooftop bar in the evenings for a glass of wine
  • Disliked — the hard bed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ghisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

We did extensive research for our trip to Italy and hoped that our efforts would prove successful. This hotel was everything we had read and more. It is a delightful boutique hotel with modest but very clean rooms, large bathrooms, comfortable beds, beautiful rooftop terrace and excellent location. Try to get a room facing the courtyard. The view is lovely and peaceful. We could walk to delicious trattorias or hop on the bus or tram to all of our planned sightseeing excursions. Breakfast was more than substantial to start us off on our exciting days. We couldn't get over the wonderful flavor of the eggs and blood oranges! Special thanks to Max, "concierge extraordinaire". He helped us locate restaurants, best routes to travel and did everything he could to make our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Liked — comfortable and hospitable
  • Disliked — mosquitos at night
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

I chose the Hotel San Francesco for my parents' two-night stay in Rome in April, 2007. We were in Room 101. We specifically wanted a hotel in Trastevere, and this offered both comfort and convenience.

Check-in was easy, and the staff quiet but friendly. The availability of an internet terminal for free in the lobby was useful, and the breakfast selection was large and delicious. The room was comfortable (though the view of a building covered in scaffolding completely uninteresting), and although the room itself was not especially spacious, it was adequate and the bathroom quite posh. There is a lot of street noise at night if you stay in a room on the front of the building (like room 101), so avoid this if you're a light sleeper.

The "seasonal" rooftop bar was not open, but fortunately there was still access to the roof patio, so we bought wine and hors d'oeuvres at a grocery store and made an aperitivo picnic up there both night (the view and the sunset were wonderful).

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vonschwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#512 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#484 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#510 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Property: Hotel San Francesco
Address: Via Jacopa De' Settesoli 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#242 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Francesco is a small & charming 3 star hotel located in Trastevere the hippest and most lively area in the center of Rome. 24 rooms all set with Private Bathroom, Free WiFi, Minibar, Flat TV, Hairdryer, Telephone, Safe Box and Air Conditioning. The Continental Buffet Breakfast is always included and the reception is open 24h. An amazing 360° view overlooking the Aventino hill and Trastevere is waiting for you at the top of the hotel. Our Rooftop bar La Terrazza will be open on warm seasons from 6 PM to 11:30 PM. An oasis of peace and relaxation where you can have a refreshing drink and chill out after a day sightseeing. All major tourist sights such as the Colosseum, the Vatican and Trevi Fountain can be easily reached by public transports but our suggestion is to wear comfortable shoes and enjoy the city by walking through the ancient narrow streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Rome
San Francesco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing