We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close but no cigar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #277 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First and foremost, the location of this small hotel was outstanding. My wife and I were able to walk to and from all areas of Rome, including The Vatican, The Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, etc..
However there were a few things promised on their website that we feel they didn't live up to. Yes it was July and yes it was HOT, but their air conditioning was horrible. Instead of having individual room thermostats, they have an entire Hotel air setting, and let me tell you it NEVER cooled off enough for us to be comfortable. The other issue was the promised "in-room wifi". We immediately noticed it didn't work so we called the front desk. They said it was temporarily down, and would be fixed soon....it worked fine in the lobby, just not in any of the rooms. 48 hours later same story, and the staff was very "put-off" by our complaints. It wan't until the 4th day that the wifi finally worked very poorly and very slowly.
Breakfasts were average at best, but hotel was clean, and we especially like the bar on the top floor for evening drinks and views.
I would suggest staying in the cooler months rather than the height of summer. We will not be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 712 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel San Francesco has convenient, yet quiet location, clean, comfortable rooms, friendly service, rooftop bar and nutritious breakfast. We only had two nights in Roma and t0his was perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Location is excellent in Trastevere. Nice roof top bar with perfect service. Breakfast was very good. Rooms clean and nice beds. The guy in reception was very helpfull and arranged a car rental from AVIS for us. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, the staff was all very helpful for reservations. It is located in Trastevere a little off the beaten path but very walkable to good places. The breakfast was very good, we did miss having tea and coffee available all day. It was very clean, and we liked the roof top bar in the evenings. We liked watching the parakeets in the convent garden in the mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and were pleased with our choice. Although the room was small with little space around the double bed, the bathroom was comparatively large. Very clean and comfortable, the only downside was the décor; very brown and 1990s. Air con was also not that good but we just left the windows wide open - OK in June but probably not in August.

Breakfasts were good and buffet continental style. The dining room was occasionally busy but we didn't need to wait any longer than 10 minutes for a table in the morning (our fault as we couldn't get up before 9.30am!).

The big upside is the location in the heart of Trastevere. Within a 10 minutes walk you are strolling past all the restaurants, bars and market stalls that make this area so attractive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Hotel was an excellent choice.
The location in Trastevere was ideal with good transport available to all sites of interest.
Our room was clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and functional.
Buffet breakfast each morning was very good with a wide selection of choices which were constantly 'topped up'
Above all the staff were professional and friendly and always helpful.
The Rooftop terrace was a bonus for a relaxing area to unwind and saviour the view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in Rome. Very good staff, Helpful in finding transportation, food and sites. They were never too busy to help. The room was extra large, for Europe, and nicely finished. The grounds were well maintained and very relaxing. The area of Trasteverse is great for small good places to eat and great coffee stops.
The walk to a taxi stand was less than 3 minutes.
An overall very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianascutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#167 of 1,272 in Rome
430 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#488 of 1,272 in Rome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#474 of 1,272 in Rome
272 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#559 of 1,272 in Rome
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Address: Via Jacopa De' Settesoli 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#242 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $83 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Francesco is a small & charming 3 star hotel located in Trastevere the hippest and most lively area in the center of Rome. 24 rooms all set with Private Bathroom, Free WiFi, Minibar, Flat TV, Hairdryer, Telephone, Safe Box and Air Conditioning. The Continental Buffet Breakfast is always included and the reception is open 24h. An amazing 360° view overlooking the Aventino hill and Trastevere is waiting for you at the top of the hotel. Our Rooftop bar La Terrazza will be open on warm seasons from 6 PM to 11:30 PM. An oasis of peace and relaxation where you can have a refreshing drink and chill out after a day sightseeing. All major tourist sights such as the Colosseum, the Vatican and Trevi Fountain can be easily reached by public transports but our suggestion is to wear comfortable shoes and enjoy the city by walking through the ancient narrow streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Rome
San Francesco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing