We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #277 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in Rome. Very good staff, Helpful in finding transportation, food and sites. They were never too busy to help. The room was extra large, for Europe, and nicely finished. The grounds were well maintained and very relaxing. The area of Trasteverse is great for small good places to eat and great coffee stops.
The walk to a taxi stand was less than 3 minutes.
An overall very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianascutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having stayed elsewhere in Rome at the beginning of trip to Amalfi,we were looking for a charming place in Trastevere for the last night in Rome before our flight home. This hotel totally fit the bill, wishing we could stay longer, we would certainly stay again!

The service was terrific and helpful. Arriving a bit early for check-in, they gladly stored our luggage and brought it to the room - so all in order when we returned from lunch.

The room ( we face the street) was clean, comfortable and although smallish was larger than previous hotel in Campo di Fiori area. Bathroom was spacious and with a bright window- the shower was larger than most I have found in big European cities, the hot water plentiful. Some street noise required closing of the window ( and the fresh breeze) - my sister had a room facing the courtyard, much quieter and could have the window open. So if possible, choose an inside room.

We stayed June 1, 2013 and the rooftop terrace bar was not open, but the terrace itself was and we are able to bring our own bottle(s) :) of wine up to enjoy. We had the place to ourselves with wonderful views of the Rome skyline- one of the many things I love to do in the city- wine on a roof top!
Hotel is an a great location, easy walking to charming shops, restaurants etc. in Trastevere. We had done our main touring of the Rome sites at the beginning of trip so didn't venture across the Tiber with the one night stay but certainly could. Public transport is close also.

Continental breakfast was very good, and served in a pretty room that looked into the garden courtyard. Front desk staff arranged a car for the airport, that arrived promptly at the appointed time out front.
Pleasant and helpful service, charming hotel, highly recommend!

If looking for an evening dinner restaurant close by, I highly recommend: Osteria Le mani in pasta, Via dei Genovesi, 37. A more authentic experience, many locals eating here- great pasta and fish. Reservations recommended, very busy- we arrived without one and got in but we were there early. When we left at 9:30 the "real" dining time it was packed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank no3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Tucked away in Trastevere is the Hotel San Francesco. This place gets great points for its location and overall quality, service & attention to detail. From the simple request to leave luggage before the room was available, to the packed breakfast for our 430 am departure, the staff & management made everything easy, uncomplicated & nothing was too difficult for them.
Definitely worth staying here & definitely on our list for the next trip to Rome

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuddyOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

In a period of 10 years this was my third stay at this hotel, that is the best recommendation possible. I first stayed here a few months after the opening and I must admit that furniture, carpets, wallpaper etc. has had its time. But bathrooms still are very nice and bright. Room vary in size, but are rather small. Important plus is the roof terrace with furniture with a great view over the city. Only issue is the isolation of the rooms, certainly is you have a room at the front, although the location is quiet, the traffic over the paves can be annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Small and quiet hotel next to a convent in the middle of Trastevere. The receptionists were all friendly and kind, breakfast very good and the hotel had fulfilled our wishes for floor and quietness. Rooms were of ok size and the bathrooms particularly were light and spacious.
Excellent value for money! However, some spick and span would most certainly do no harm. Wall to wall carpets were pretty dirty and all furniture was covered by light dust. But what bugs me is that the roof terrace was closed and it was not even cleaned. The sun was shining from a bright blue sky but it was not even tempting to sit down on the dirty lounge chairs. We were told that the terrace and the bar open some time in June! The terrace was one of the reason we had chosen the hotel. Shame on you advertising for the terrace and building up expectations you even had no intention to meet. Still, a very good choice when travelling with a family. Lots and lots of restaurants and bars almost next door and most of the sights within walking distance. Trastevere has great atmosphere and all the people we met were really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is In the Trastavere area, one block from the main Trastavere thoroughfare (with trams) and two blocks from the river. The Hotel is a small (24 rooms) 3 star establishment. The rooms are small but clean, functional and comfortable. The reception staff are friendly, courteous and obliging and all had excellent English. Even manning the small bar in the reception area later at night was never a problem. The roof terrace is a good place to chill out but unfortunately it was quite chilly when we were there. The roof bar was not open during our stay in April but you can take a drink up from the reception bar.
Breakfast was a good, if unexceptional, continental spread, plenty to get one started for the day.
We had read about the rooms being noisy but we had rooms at the front and, while there was traffic noise from the cobbled street outside with the window open earlier in the day/evening, we had no problem sleeping at night (probably aided by being tired from all of the walking!).
There are convenience shops and newsagents in the immediate vacinity but not much in the way of serious shopping but there are many excellent shopping precincts throughout Rome. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel and the receptionist will provide useful information on these.
All in all, we found that there is generally a nice, relaxed atmosphere about the hotel, comfortable and without fuss – just right as a base for touring the city. It was also quite good value but, as always, rates can vary significantly between agencies and over time, so it is well worth checking around.
Getting around Rome, you must expect to be doing a lot of walking and there are many cobbled streets, so good walking shoes are essential. Public transport is by metro, tram and bus and it is certainly worthwhile spending some time checking the metro and tram stations and routes that will suit you, as connectivity is not always easy but is workable. We found that the three day public transport ticket (€16 from newsagents) worked well, as it covers metro, tram and bus. We were unfortunate that the Tram No 3 was out of operation, as this would have been a convenient link from the hotel.
One can always fall back on the taxi service, which we found quite reasonable at €10 - €13 for Hotel to Vatican and Via Veneto to Hotel, with 4 adults.
Tip – if you are visiting the Vatican Museum, it is certainly worth using a tourguide. It will certainly cost a bit more but you will get so much more out of your visit in terms of seeing and understanding the exhibits. It is worth the expense, especially after travelling so far to see the place.

Room Tip: We had no problem with rooms at the front, overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dermot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is an excellent location. Trastevere is a very nice area in Rome, with lots and lots of excellent and with Rome standards fairly cheap restaurants. We had dinner each evening in a new restaurant in the area and enjoyed all meals. And many of those meals were much cheaper than the lunches we had in some other areas (closer to Piazza Navona for example). I'd gladly stay in this hotel again, for this specific reason alone.

The hotel had friendly staff who were very helpful with directions, booking cabs and all other needs we had.

Room was of a decent size for one person like me so I'm content with it and would also be suitable for a couple. However, perhaps a bit on the small side if you are two friends who want to share a room. But small rooms is to be expected in Rome with all its historical buildings, pretty much like it is in London and New York as well.

Breakfast was much more plentiful than at a previous hotel I've stayed in in Rome and it was topped up often enough. Sure, if you're there for a longer stay you'll get fed up with the selection but if you're there for a long weekend you won't have time to get bored of the items.

Room was clean but the drains in the shower were probably a bit clogged so the room got a bit damp and smelly after one had had a shower. Good thing you can open the windows!

You have easy access to transportation links such as buses (which we didn't use) and trams (number 8 to Largo di Torre Argentina which we used a lot) which means getting around is very easy from this hotel. The Sunday flea market in Trastevere is close to the hotel as well.

I'd stay here again and would recommend it to others as well. We got a great price value for our stay - four of us had three rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxisweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#167 of 1,272 in Rome
430 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#488 of 1,272 in Rome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#474 of 1,272 in Rome
273 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#538 of 1,272 in Rome
180 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Address: Via Jacopa De' Settesoli 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#242 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Francesco is a small & charming 3 star hotel located in Trastevere the hippest and most lively area in the center of Rome. 24 rooms all set with Private Bathroom, Free WiFi, Minibar, Flat TV, Hairdryer, Telephone, Safe Box and Air Conditioning. The Continental Buffet Breakfast is always included and the reception is open 24h. An amazing 360° view overlooking the Aventino hill and Trastevere is waiting for you at the top of the hotel. Our Rooftop bar La Terrazza will be open on warm seasons from 6 PM to 11:30 PM. An oasis of peace and relaxation where you can have a refreshing drink and chill out after a day sightseeing. All major tourist sights such as the Colosseum, the Vatican and Trevi Fountain can be easily reached by public transports but our suggestion is to wear comfortable shoes and enjoy the city by walking through the ancient narrow streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Rome
San Francesco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing