We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ludovisi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Ranked #328 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend in Rome and i can't honestly fault this charming hotel. Situated a short distance from the spanish steps this hotel is a great base to explore the wonderful city of Rome.
The staff are always on hand and very friendly. We stocked up on the continental breakfasts before heading out as it can be very expensive in town.
If your looking for a perfect citybreak be sure to checkin to the Ludovisi Palace, you won't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyroo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    276
    101
    23
    16
See reviews for
161
206
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the value and location of Ludovisi Palace Hotel. We chose it for the location, since it was near the Spanish Steps and the Metro, but we didn't realize how good a choice it was. Right around the corner are some very good restaurants, and there is a post office accross the street, as well as an ATM machine. Actually, it was a easy walk to Trevi fountain, and once you are there, you might as well walk to the Pantheon and Piazza Navona as well. For an after-dinner stroll, it is close the Villa Borghese.
The value was the other surprise. We had a comfortable king size bed, and it was very quiet at night - even with the window open. Sure, it was not decorated like a 5-star hotel, but it was not shabby. Breakfast was very good and provided a good start for a day full of exploring. The staff was very helpful - even allowed us to use their office printer to print out our tickets that we booked online for the Vatican Museum. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philatraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our family of 4 (including kids 7 and 9) stayed here after completing a cruise arriving at the Rome port which is about 45 minutes away. Our friends with 4 in their party too also stayed there. All aspects of the hotel are excellent including the family room (remembering that finding a hotel that accomodates 4 in a room is not easy in Europe) that had bath tub, shower, large bathroom, and individually controlled air conditioning. I started the reservation process about 6 months in advance, and always received prompt detailed replies to my queries. Our rate of Euros 199 per nite with breakfast was fair and well worth it. Being from Canada, I was surprised that the staff spoke English so fluently and it is hard to believe that it is not their first language. We had a quiet room that was clean, and great for our kids. What sets this hotel apart from many others is the service, and the knowledgeable and polite staff. Our transfer was properly arranged from the port to the hotel, and confirmed to us via email even when we were still cruising. Upon arrival (2 hours before check in), we were told that our room was not available (as the prior guest had not checked in) and that it would likely be ready within 45 minutes, and it was ready. In the interim, we were offered coffee and brochures to help plan our time in Roma.

We asked many questions about sites, tours, restaurants which were answered with detail and insight. The manager, Andrea Contini, is the epitome of what hopes to expect from a 4 star hotel like this place. Other staff like Barbara followed the high standards set by Andrea, and would ensure that we did not go on wild goose chases for open restaurants and would call to make a reservation and ensure that our kids particular tastes would be met. A detailed map with highlighted directions would also be given as i am geographically challenged.

The breakfast is fresh and has lots of items to choose from including various pastries, meats, scrambled eggs, bacon, meats, fruits, coffee, tea, and juices. I presume (rightly or wrongly) that Europe 4 star hotels are not the same as those in North America, but this hotel deserves its rating. Finally, our return transportation (8 people and luggage) on a Sunday on a day that is a holiday in Italy was again properly arranged ensuring that our whole trip ended positively.

While there is much to do in Roma, staying at this property, in my view, will ensure that your bank is not broken, while enabling you to go to many of the sites (on your own if you wish) as it is centrally located within minutes of the Spanish Steps.

Frankly, I would go back to Roma just to stay at this Hotel!! Trust me - I am also somewhat picky and would be the first one to try to deal with any disputes or problems that might arise, but alas, this hotel and its wonderful staff did not give rise to such things!!! Thanks.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hockeyplayer773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

This was a nice hotel near the Spanish Steps. It was at least a 15 min walk...to get to the Spanish Steps. The rooms were clean, well appointed and nice. No complaints, just be aware that it is not centrally located. However,the metro is near the hotel and it is in a nice area. If this hotel is in your price range---book it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed for a 3 day sightseeing visit to Rome. The breakfasts were buffet style and included pastries, scrambled egg, bacon (a bit oily but edible), cereals, cold meats and yoghurts. The open top bus tours had a stop on the Via Veneto at the end of our road, which was very convenient. We also found the stroll to the Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps in the evenings great for choosing places to eat. One night there was free open air opera singing at the steps - magical. Our room was of a decent size for the three of us and clean. The shower was a bit quirky but functional and the bathroom generally was good with ample room and included a bidet. The heat outside was a crushing 37 degrees but the airconditioning just about coped. The laundry service was reasonable for Rome and prompt. It was described as 4 star, which I would not say it was, more like a 3 star, but having said that we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

The first day set the pace. We got there and had an argument with the taxi driver for charging us twice what we had agreed to pay befor entering the taxi. Tha hotel manager came out and did nothing to help us with the situation. When we were checking in we asked about the happy hour and appetizers the claim to have everyday on the travel sites. They stated that they do not know what we are talking about and nothing like that exists there. Big let down. This was in fact the one and only reason we chose this hotel. There are thousands of hotels to choose from and this is the ploy they use to get people in. I had expedia call them and the girl at the front desk from the hotel told the girl from expedia that they do still have that promotion and always have. A blatant LIE. This place is a scam and have nothing to to say about these shiesters, crooks, lies,, theives, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joecan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We booked at the Hotel Ludovisi Palace as part of a package with our airfare to Italy. I don't know exactly how much the rooms would have cost us independently, but it was a pretty good value, considering what we got.
We took a train from Fiumcino Airport to Termini station and then took a taxi to the hotel. Total cost for the 2 of us including "baggage handling fees" (the random amount the taxi driver charges you for having suitcases) was appx $70.
The good: The room was clean and although not huge, had plenty of space for 2 people. There was a small buffet breakfast every morning which never changed in the week we were there, but there was much more provided than at a standard american continental breakfast. The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. When we arrived, the concierge immediately handed us a tour map and circled the closest destinations for us to begin sightseeing right away. In addition to the underground Metro, the bus service in Rome is really good and was extremely convenient to the hotel (and the red City Sightseeing Rome bus has a stop just 3 blocks from the hotel just outside the Villa Borghese!)
The bad: the wireless was out for one of the nights of our stay. The WiFi is not installed, per se - you buy a wireless access card from the reception desk and that card is good on only 1 computer for 24 hours so if you travel with more than 1 laptop, you have to buy multiple cards. The hotel is on a hill which makes for quite an uphill walk home at the end of the day from most tourist sites (and the closest Metro station). My husband was dissatisfied with the lack of breakfast variety. There were too few covers on the bed for coverhogs like us, but the other sleeping problem was that there was construction in the restaurant on the ground floor of the building shared by our hotel and work started promptly at 8am each morning. Don't plan on sleeping in except on weekends. The TV had only a dozen or so channels, mostly in Italian. If you don't understand the language, your choices are a movie channel, Bloomberg, or CNN Int'l.

Overall, this hotel was a fine choice for a weeklong stay in Rome. I would recommend it to friends and family. The location alone makes this hotel an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvnewseditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#282 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Residenza
La Residenza
#329 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#204 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#297 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#116 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludovisi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludovisi Palace

Property: Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Address: Via Ludovisi 43, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Family Hotel in Rome
#174 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ludovisi Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ludovisi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludovisi Palace Hotel
Ludovisi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing