We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Ranked #358 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very good location - never used any kind of transport to get to all places of interest.
The rooms are clean, not very big.
The stuff is friendly and very helpfull.
I think that this hotel is a good choise to explore Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaterinaCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ludovisi Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this lovely hotel. 2 rooms for the 6 of us (2 adults, 4 young adults/teenagers). Everything was excellent, although rooms felt small as we had to a add a third (roll-in) bed in each room. Still was more than okay. Bathrooms were clean and excellent. Air conditioning working very well. Hotel staff very courteous and helpful (let us use their office computer to print our flight boarding cards). Breakfast was also excellent. Only one suggestion to hotel manager- improve Wifi availability, as was operating only occasionally (requires multiple logins). Hotel is only a few minute walk from subway stations (Barberini and Spagna). Very close to Villa Borghese (remember to book your visit a head of time). It's a 5-10 minute walk from The Spanish Steps. Overall, excellent!

Room Tip: In a regular room can add a third roll-in bed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YNMtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

By 'typical European 3-star', I mean a hotel which calls itself a 4-star but is really 3-star: small rooms, tiny bath rooms, somewhat tired decor. For 4-star, we would expect a proper duvet , a shower where you aren't touching the shower curtain when showering and WiFi that worked (we stayed for 4 nights and the WiFi did not work a single night - we were shut off from the world!). While most of the staff were first rate and very helpful, one female staff (Marina or Maria?) was rather snotty and always seemed reluctant to help and seemed almost annoyed that we would ask questions. The best thing about the hotel is that it is in a very nice neighborhood and reasonably conveniently located.

Room Tip: While Via Ludovisi is not particulary noisy, if you have a front facing room, ask for a higher floor...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is walking distance to much of the important sites. Easy access to Metro. Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are close. Breakfast was nice and best we had on our entire trip (not an important meal clearly in rome :-). Rooms are small and bathrooms are tight. WiFi was down our entire stay with little info or help from staff on solutions. Not an overall bad start to our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddM416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

By far, what I remember most is the fantastic breakfast they offered, free! They have this super coffee machine that makes anything you want; coffee was just unbelievable! Breakfast was hot/cold, included fresh fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, wonderfully soft and yummy pastries, as well as cheeses, parma ham, and prosciutto. With that kind of breakfast I had enough stamina to last the whole day of sightseeing. If you needed anything that you forgot to bring, there was a little market just up the street. Can't forget, too, the Hop-on-Hop-off bus route was just a block away. Soooo convenient!

Room Tip: We had room 608. Big enough for the three of us. Quiet. Looked out into a little courtyard. Elevator...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Rome and found it to be a very pleasant experience. Room was good and an ample breakfast was included in the price, which was good value compared to many other hotels that I looked at before booking. Close to train station(15 minute walk), Villa Borghese grounds, Treve Fountain, etc. Many restaurants close-by and not as busy as many others that we experienced earlier in the week at another location in Rome.

Room Tip: Room overlooking an open courtyard? Space was very quiet even with window open!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkatjarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in May when on our first trip to Rome. The hotel is located near Via Veneto, a lovely affluent area in which to be situated, with nice restaurants nearby. It is in walking distance of the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain and is also well located for the Metro and generally getting around. Given its fabulous location the price makes this hotel a good find. It certainly wasn't the nicest hotel we've stayed in (the decor needs updating and the walls are paper thin!) but the room was functional and there were some nice little touches (i.e. slippers, bathrobes etc). The buffet breakfast was adequate (but not a huge amount of choice) and the staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vodkagirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#269 of 1,267 in Rome
605 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#166 of 1,267 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Residenza
La Residenza
#312 of 1,267 in Rome
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#243 of 1,267 in Rome
989 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#264 of 1,267 in Rome
945 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#123 of 1,267 in Rome
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludovisi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludovisi Palace

Address: Via Ludovisi, 43, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $173 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ludovisi Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ludovisi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludovisi Palace Hotel
Ludovisi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing