We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very confusing reviews!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #205 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wales UK
Level Contributor
437 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Very confusing reviews!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Booked this place having quickly read some of the reviews on here. Following return to UK found that the 'Apollo Hotel' page is a mixture of reviews of the Hotel itself, the apartments immediately next door and some appartments a few blocks away. So need to interpret the reviews very carefully!

Check in was quick and efficient with little fuss, there is thankfully a small lift as I had visions of lugging a case up to the third floor!! It is a small lift - two people and a case and probably one more person could have rode in it.

Initially felt the room to be dark and dowdy, however on opening the curtains and outside shutters could see the room was quite nice. Surprisingly there is no wall paper but a covering of fabric with some sort of padding underneath, it must have cost a fortune to decorate.

The room was compact but given most time would be spent exploring the city wasn't a problem. There was a wardrobe with sufficient space for a long weekend and 2 bedside cabinets so had about the right amount of storage for us, despite being on a busy street had undisturbed nights! The electrical outlets are hidden behind the bedside cabinets! The room has a well stocked minibar if needed and Sky News was great for keeping up with events in the news.

The bathroom was well equipped (hideous black stain on the ceiling!!) with a good shower which is our preference. As usual for Italy, handtowels are flat cotton and bathtowel waffle like cotton so no fluffy towels but this is the norm! There was no ventilation in the bathroom so it could get quite steamy in there.

Breakfast was taken on the roof terrace which was continental buffet style staffed by very pleasant ladies. It was 'cosy' to say the least and you had to pick your time to go to the buffet and it was almost a u shaped facility and two people in the 'U' filled it! It was eat all you wanted and some families seem to think nothing of making a sandwich or packing a few pasteries in napkins and taking away in their bags. Equally tea/coffee/juices unlimited.

The lift only goes to 4th floor so you must be OK to walk the steep stairs to the 5th floor.

Checkout equally swift including getting a cab to the Hotel (initially for the Termini but was persuaded to go to the Airport!)

There were several downsides - the WiFi only worked on the ground floor in the area of the reception (I use TuGo so the ability to use this in the room would have been ideal). We messed up the programming of the safe somehow and despite 2 requests to get it sorted nothing happened!! The air-con wasn't working that said, didn't report it so only have myself to blame. I didn't feel that it was good value for money given it was just over 600 euro, however it is not the only thing in Rome that seems over -priced!!

On a positive the staff were all very friendly and polite, no issues with customer service whatsoever!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    297
    77
    14
    15
See reviews for
243
231
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lohja, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

There was three of us (me, my wife and our 2,5year old son) in our holiday trip. We arrived a bit early to the hotel but the very nice receptionist said that it was not a problem and we got our room.

Our room had enough space for our stuff and strollers. The room was very clean and so was the toilet and shower also. Tv was a bit small but who comes to watch the tv into Rome anyways. The room was quiet and had an air condition so we had very good sleep.

The breakfast buffee was exellent. Actually it was one of the best in all hotels that we have visited (fresh fruits, cerials, bread, cheese, cold cuts, croisants, youghurt, etc, ect...). With the breakfast you could keep going for the whole morning.

All hotel stuff the we met was very friendly and nice.

The hotel is located only 5-10minute walk from most of the sights in Rome and the metro stop is also very near of the hotel.

The best gelatto that we got was from one shop right next to the hotel. There was also a mini market (for getting the water bottles) in street behind the hotel and lots of snack/bar/restaurants right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel has a lift and it is on the side street so any room is a good option in my mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jani82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived to the hotel one day prior to when our reservations began. Although they did not have a room available in the hotel, they accomodated us in one of theit apartments that are located about one block away. The apartment was incredible. It had all amenities one can need including a washer. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The following day we were given a room in the hotel for the following two days. Location of the hotel was amazing. I like that it was at the center of it all with a view of the colosseum at the end of the street. Hotel was also walking distance to the trevi fountain, the Pantheon (which I must say should be visited at night to sit on stairs nearby accompanied by a bottle of wine), and Trastevere for those who dont mind a little extra walking. It was also near the Spanish stairs. Walking at night was very safe and like Rick Stevens mentions in his travel book, it sure was romantic to walk around Rome and night. There is a restaurant around the corner which gets very busy and food is great. It appeared that locals would frequent this restaturant more so which made it a more exciting experience. All in all I highly recommend your stay at this hotel and I highly recommend no less than three days to explore Rome. Make sure to also enjoy a little "siesta" mid afternoon so that your evening in Rome can be long lasting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wuckums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is very clean well managed, staff are helpful and friendly. Very close to the Colosseum only about 10 minute walk. Decoration very nice which fits in well in Rome will use again from Anne and Vince in Kent UK

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were looking for a hotel with self catering facilities near the Colosseum and Rome's major archaeological park. This hotel was ideally located just a few hundred yards away, while in the narrow streets surrounding it were various restaurants, bars and a few shops. We felt this was a nice and safe area.

We stayed in the apartment on the fourth floor, which has a nice, large terrace overlooking the street below. Self catering facilities are quite basic (small fridge, the only cooking device were two rings on the top, and there was no microwave) but they suited our purposes. The terrace is a real plus when the weather is good, great to sit out and have breakfast or lunch prepared in the kitchenette.

The apartment floors are stone and in January Rome can get cold, and it took the heating a little while to get going. Otherwise this was a good choice, representing reasonable value, with friendly and helpful staff and two TVs, one in the sitting room, and the other in the bedroom. Mainly iItalian channels, but most of the major languages (and some lesser known ones) were represented with one or more news channel. A supermarket is located just several minutes' walk away from the hotel, allowing you to take advantage of the self catering facilities and the money this can save. The apartment was quaint, with fabric covered walls, terracotta floor and decent furnishings. There is a safe in the bedroom, but it was very small, suitable only for documents, money, cards etc.

As you come out of the hotel you can see the Coliseum in the distance. A Metro Station is just five or six minutes' walk away, and within 100 or so yards is a large main road with plenty of large shops.

Room Tip: We went for the apartment overlooking the street, accessed via the door next to the hotel (it has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We found this hotel while searching for a better location in Rome, so after asking on every reception on Via Nazionale and side streets we were almost disappointed to find cozy hotel for reasonable price but then we found ourselves in the net of wonderful tiny streets between Via Nazionale and Via Cavour and noticed the flags and sign of a hotel which turned out to be the best and the most beautiful option for us.
The receptionist was more than friendly and right away he showed us an available room. We were offered to stay for a couple of nights in the apartment with kitchenette on the 4th floor. Absolute advantage was separate bedroom and own terrace with a view on the tiny street (the Colosseum loomed somewhere at the end of the street). For the kid there was a convertible armchair in the living room (actually, there are two of them) so we had enough privacy and both comfort for all of us. FYI, there is one bathroom in the apartment, entrance through the main bedroom.
Breakfast is served in the main building on the 5th floor terrace, right up and next to our terrace, and every morning I wished we could just climb the stepladder instead of going down to the street and then upstairs again :-) Traditional Italian breakfast (espresso or cappuccino and juices, fruits, yoghurt, flakes, cheese/ham, toasts, bans and rolls)
So the apartment is perfectly spacious and airy, has underfloor heating throughout the area and some kitchenware for your perusal (though we didn't notice the kettle but it wasn't a problem to boil water for tea in a small saucepan) and of course everyday cleaning.
Another room we moved to later on for another 3 nights was a standard triple room in the main building and has one single and one double bed and a bathroom with a shower cabin and enough space for all your belongings and beauty stuff :-) Small still cozy and comfortable room with inner yard view.
Another notice, wi-fi is working perfectly in every room and terrace (separate networks for each floor).
There’re lots of wine bars, trattorias and restaurants nearby, alimentari (food) shops and designer stores and of course souvenirs. Bus stop is 2 min away on Via Nazionale. Receptionists are very helpful and would gladly advice on good place to eat or to see. Not sure about parking, but I’m afraid it can be difficult as streets are narrow and occupied by locals’ cars.
In general, location is very good; the area is beautiful and not crowded and is very close to the main sightseeing points. I would definitely recommend the hotel for tourists with children and couples and those who prefer comfort and good service for reasonable price together with good access and romantic beauty of the old buildings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matylda_Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

There were 5 of us who stayed in one of their apartments. We checked in at the hotel which was well known by the taxi drivers so it was simple to get there. We decided to take a taxi from the airport since taking the train to Termini and a taxi to the hotel would have cost more. The hotel receptionist was friendly and quite efficient. The apartment was a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The area was clean and safe. The building was well maintained. The only negative was the floor plan. There were 2 bedrooms, exactly as advertised, but in order to get to one bedroom, the couple would have to go through the "other" bedroom. I slept on a comfortable sofa bed in the living room. In order for me to use the bathroom/toilet, I had to enter the "other" bedroom. This floor-plan doesn't give any privacy to the couple staying in this other bedroom. This apartment would be good for a couple with children, but not for friends. Ending on a positive note, the apartment is a 10 minute walk to Termini and a 5 minute walk to the Coliseum. The internet connection was ok but not great. The apartment also has a washer/dryer combo in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaredxtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#199 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#213 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#169 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#309 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing