We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend in Rome”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great weekend in Rome”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed at this hotel for 3 nights 9th-12th May 2013. I had checked it out on trip advisor before booking and the reviews were spot on for the friendly service.
Rooms were fine, beds comfy and a lovely shower and rooms cleaned and towels changed daily. I had seen reviews about the thin towels however I loved them and am trying to find similar ones back in England, much more absorbent than fluffy ones.
A slight downside is the early morning street noise but you are in a really central location.. step out of the door and the colosseum is facing you along the street! Just take some ear plugs.
Breakfast was fine, the usual continental stuff but always with a lovely cake as well as a variety of fruit, cereals, nice coffee and a good toaster which wasn't too slow. What made it special were the two waitresses who couldn't do enough to make us happy, this is a family run hotel and it shows in the atmosphere, very cheerful all the time.
As we had a late evening flight they looked after our luggage after we had checked out and gave us facilities to freshen up when we returned from our day out before flying home, had an altogether great time in Rome made even better by staying at this hotel. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I return.
The whole area around the hotel is full of bars and restaurants all reasonably priced, we ate at a different one each night and had some excellent food, thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are noisy in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    312
    80
    16
    16
See reviews for
254
246
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Rome is a magical place. Had the pleasure of staying at this perfect little boutique hotel in May of last year. Althought it is not a huge five star hotel. It is perfectly located and very charming.

Walking distance within so many of the historical sites in Rome. The staff is so very friendly and try to accomodate you as much as they can. The rooms are tiny.. like Paris tiny but still comfortable. Our window faced out onto a courtyard and was very quiet with no street noise.
The towels are a strange sheetlike material not like the fluffy terry towels you are used to but they do the job. Bathroom is tiny but water pressure is really good. Safe in room.

My sweetheart and I loved having breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Their espresso and cappucino's are out of this world. Overall great value and service. Would definately stay here again.

Rome is a magical place. Once you experience it you will not be the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the couryard if you like less noise. Take advantage of the rooftop terrace fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaSignora335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a really nice 2 bedroom apartment within walkin distance of the Colosseum.The apartment was modern and clean. The only downside was limited cooking facilities. It could have done with an oven or microwave and we were only able to use 2 of the hob rings at once or we tripped the power circuit. A washing machine would also have been good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Pro
Great service. Great communication considering we only speak a few words of Italian. One of the men, a tad shorter than the rest for especially helpful.
We were provided a kettle when we requested one which was great
Good location. Short walk to grocery, surrounded by lots of food and short distance to colosseum, trevi and many tourist spots.
Breakfast was fine. Very Italian with pastries and meats, cereals, bread, yoghurt, coffee, juice

Cons
Shower was very average
There was also a step up to the bathroom which was easy to trip or stumble on.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taga021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rooms are typical, small European rooms but they are clean, comfortable, and quiet. Just blocks from the Colosseum and an easy walk from Termini. Staff was very friendly, typical EU buffet breakfast was more than adequate. There are many restaurants and bars in the area to pick from..We will definitely stay here again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbdrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What more could you ask for than this hotel! it's clean, location is perfect, staff are so friendly and can't do enough to help you. Although its a 3 star, it's got that roman feel to it so not ultra modern but fits with the culture. We had the roof top terrace in the apartment next door and to the left is the coliseum, free wi if and secure safe. Towels and bedding changed daily as well as room cleaned on a daily basis. Free toiletries and a mini bar. The Monti district is so lively but the hotel is on a side street but has some fabulouse restaurants and bars on its doorstep.
All in all, I would highly recommend the Apollo if your planning a stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Choose the roof top terrace for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitteryrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

From the start (view of the colosseum from the front door) to the finish (breakfast on the roof terrace with fresh coffee and the best prosciutto) this was a great place to stay.

We arrived in the pouring rain, soaked, to be greeted and cheered up by a receptionist whose English was first class and customer service excellent. Within minutes he had got us a reservation at a well known restaurant around the corner (asino d'oro - go there) for that night, and recommended a bar tucked away on a side street which we subsequently used every night (libreria). Brilliant.

The room had everything we needed for a city break - very clean, tv, free safe and free wifi. It was a tad dated but it didn't matter, the bed was huge and as I said, really clean. What more could you want for the price ? A bargain.

Overall we were really pleased with our choice, the area is also great - some lovely restaurants, bars and everywhere was walkable, even the vatican - 30 minutes max. There is an especially lovely wine bar on via serpenti - vino al vino and an ice cream shop to die for - gelatone. Monster cone of ice cream, about 50 choices of flavour all with whipped cream and a wafer on top for 2 euros. We frequently ended our night here !

As I said, can't recommend this place enough. We haven't stayed in a 3 star hotel for a while and this was a cut above the norm. Most of all it wins on location. It took us an hour to get from the airport by train and metro and less than 5 mins walk from the station, all for 9 euros per person compared to being stuck in traffic in a taxi at a cost of 48 euros. The final added bonus is having great places for dinner on your doorstep, and the hotels position on a happening but not too manic side street in the up and coming area of Monti.

When we come to rome next time we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,258 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#232 of 1,258 in Rome
533 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,258 in Rome
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
277 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#262 of 1,258 in Rome
1,163 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#282 of 1,258 in Rome
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#309 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing