We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Trastevere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
Ranked #278 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very close to the Trastevere train station, which saves time, money and hassle if you arrive through Fiumicino. #8 tram stop right outside to get you to Largo Argentina and the heart of Old Rome. Another reviewer notes that he never saw anyone checking tickets, but the fare is only 1.50 Euros and I hate to leave a bad impression of foreigners over such a small amount. Locals accept that they can do it but resent outsiders doing the same thing. You may not notice it on a short stay, but you become aware of it on longer stays (3 1/2 months.) BTW, you buy the tickets at tobacco shops, not on the tram itself. Getting around Rome is easy, and cheap, but not the topic of this review.
The hotel; New, very clean, reasonable rates, and the room service is very friendly and amenable. Front desk is quite helpful. Very roomy and comfortable; beds with individual lighting and basic clothes storage. Lots of eating options, from pizza and kebab shops to 2 close-by grocery stores (Dem, and Simply). If what you are looking for is a simple and convenient base, this place provides everything you need. I will probably stay here again on my next trip to Rome.
A few minor points;
The bathroom is quite large and spacious, but the shower is a little small (although with an abundant stream of water).
Toilet seat a little wobbly, but this seems to be a pervasive Italian problem.
B&B usually implies, at least to me, that breakfast comes with the room. It does not here, and I would suggest a local pastry shop.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 652 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel was close to train station (400 mtrs). Helpful staff. Room was a good size, bathroom was big. Room was clean and quite with big bed. Free wifi. Bars and cafes next door. Nice neighbourhood.
This was a good spot to do your sightseeing from with Trams right outside door. The breakfast was ok for 6 Euros. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisAllambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Clean, large, quiet rooms close to train and trolley lines. Stayed 2 nights prior to cruise. Train station to port/airport two blocks away. Breakfast is extra and you can get cheaper one at several places within a block or so. Grocery store around the corner. Trolley line right out front will take you to center for less than 2 euros. Hallway wall colors are quit loud but not the rooms. Elevator to go up is down a different elevator or short walk down stairs and around the corner from check-in. Local restaurants within walking distance. Try "New Station" just down the block

Room Tip: Upper floor in back are quiet except when school is in session during the day.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunkirkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

stayed here for two nights in a single room prior to a cruise from Civitavecchia. kinda has a newish hostel feel but all the rooms are private. breakfast is extra, i didn't get it and wasn't tempted otherwise (italians seem to barely eat breakfast). easy to get to from airport as long as you go directly to the "Roma Trastevere" station on the local train and don't connect via Termimi. i made the mistake of going to Termini to catch a fast train to Civitavecchia, but the fast train was sold out and the local train I booked stopped in Termimi anyways... so would have been easier to just walk to Termini station and book a direct train to Civitavecchia (with stops).

the tram #8 runs frequently towards piazza argentina which puts you in the center of rome. it's 1.50 euro and you buy a ticket from the machine, but it's on the honor system and never saw anyone checking tickets. often the tram is so crowded that you can't even make your way to the ticket machine, so i only paid about half the time. the tram is great if you just want to go to a central point and walk from there, but because the hotel and piazza argentina are NOT close to a metro stop it's a little more challenging if you want to quickly get around on the metro. but rome is very walkable -- and walking leads to a lot more discoveries -- so for a few nights it's perfect. if you really wanted to see everything and get around more quickly then stay somewhere else closer to a metro stop.

Room Tip: room facing the street was a little noisy, most rooms face a courtyard i think (but i'm a heavy...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend, and it suited our needs exactly. It was very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the room was spacious and had great Air Con. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a decent hotel, for a cheap price. It was in a decent neighbourhood and the centre or Rome was easil accesible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Handy to the Trastevere train station this 3 star hotel met our needs.Great aircon that was well needed with the days hitting 37c.Rooms were well laid out. We had room 319 overlooking the side street. so noise wasn't. a problem .we had breakfast across the road at trastevere 288.great eggs !!we caught the commuter train in from the airport at only 8 euros each and walked 250m to the hotel.The number 8 tram stops outside along with numerous buses .good location for those wanting to eat at local restaurAnt's .good value and would reccomend to most couples and singles .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

First off, don't confuse this one with the "B&B Resort" ONE BLOCK AWAY. Seems like it happens a lot.

I didn't realize this was a chain when we booked it, but sometimes that's a good thing. This was the last day of a weeklong trip through Italy and I needed a place on the side of town more convenient for the FCO airport. Which it was - I was at the airport in 20 minutes.

PROS: Very clean. Very modern. Big, upscale bathroom. TEMPURPEDIC BEDS! (awesome). Kicking air conditioning. Cool hallway decor. All the necessities: TV, safe, nice touches like outlets in the headboard to keep your phone or laptop plugged in while you sit in bed. Very inexpensive. Great location for public transport or to leave for the airport or on the Autostrada.

CONS: Cold. Desk staff was polite, but quiet and business-like. Lots of groups staying there. Didn't have the breakfast, but it looked cafeteria-like. Location was a neighborhood that closes down early. Felt very alone at night. We had heard Trastevere had a great little cafe area along the river but this place was at least a 15 minute walk from there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelli247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#249 of 1,267 in Rome
596 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#208 of 1,267 in Rome
266 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#218 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
#294 of 1,267 in Rome
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere

Address: Viale di Trastevere 249/D, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $68 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere is located close to the Trastevere railway station and just few steps away from the traditional boot market of Porta Portese: one of the most characteristic places in the heart of Rome. In fact, the area of Trastevere is one of most beautiful and sparkling district in the capital: narrow ancient streets and charming squares. The place you must visit if you love art and culture, if you like to see a lot of people or just if you want to see the famous Roman social life. Our Hotel have a really strategic position to reach in few minutes all what you like to visit in Rome. The hotel is in fact well connected by public transport to get to everything you desire. We offer you the best starting point to be seduced by the sharm of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing