We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Habsburg - Xmas 2004”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Habsburg Porta Metronia
Ranked #620 of 1,166 Specialty Lodging in Rome
A TripAdvisor Member
Copenhagen Denmark
123
Reviewed May 17, 2005

A few words about our stay at Villa Habsburg during the Xmas holidays 2004; We loved the place.
Unique in its architecture and location we couldn´t have found a better place or a better deal.
During the initial booking procedure I found Odile to be both articulate and charming.
The weather could have been better, but warm recommendations anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Brighton, England
118
Reviewed September 15, 2004

For our anniversary and our first trip to Rome, we wanted somewhere atmospheric and quirky, a little different from those identikit hotels. This (we stayed in the East Tower) was a unique place which was the perfect backdrop to falling in love all over again. Truly stunning views window, very secluded, very special.

The management couldn't have been more helpful with the arrangements, and the famous twin beds had been pushed together for our arrival and a double sheet put on, which ensured it was effectively a double bed.

Only drawbacks? 1. Taxis seem to pass through the Piazza rarely, so book one by phone rather than hope to hail one on the street - alternatively walk into town, or learn to use the good bus service! 2. The East Tower is not equipped for self-catering (no fridge), but who wants coffee or breakfast at home when there's so many piazza cafes to hang out in!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 15, 2005

The East Tower- and the West Tower incidentally- are specifically advertised, described and above all PRICED as a room and bathroom without cooking facilities. This is because the drains at that level are so narrow, and people block them with the remains of food. Repeat ,its price reflects this.W e do of course have other apartments with fully equipped kitchens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2004

Spacious and nicely furnished apartment. Usual quirky (big tub, hand held shower nozzle, no shower curtain) European bathroom. Very nice kitchen for breakfast and lunch, not really for heavy cooking.
Furnishing is authentic, not IKEA, Roman furniture. Fabulous views, terraces all around. Right on several bus lines and a short walk to the Metro. In a triangle formed by the Baths of Caracalla, St. John Latern and the Coliseum. Nice neighborhood ristoranti.

12  Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2004

you would never find this if you did not know about it- right in the centre of Rome, ten minutes from the Colosseum and and light years away from the traffic snoise ans confusion-a beautiful park- the owners tell us it has been voted the fifthe most beautiful garden in Latium which considering Ninfa La Landria and the Villa d?Este are just round the corner is not bad going. a quirky house, accomodation furnished with family pieces, nice staff. To be recommended

13  Thank Zingaro18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2003

We prepaid for a week in the "Tower" room based on the website pictures. It was so awful, we could not stand to stay for even one day.
We lost all the money. The website presents a completely different place.

15  Thank 20159traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 17, 2003

We have so few complaints that it was easy to track this one down. When the couple arrived they resented not having a double bed. A very clear picture of the room with the two single beds was and is contained in our website advertising. The couple asked us to help find alternative accommodation, which not only we did,but we paid for a car to take them to it. The accomodation they chose was a five star hotel which cost the same for one day as our self catering (not hotel) accomodation costs for a whole week.It was a different deal They had simply changed their minds. We had the driver take them to their new accomodation free of charge, though it was a Sunday Regarding the loss of their money :all our contracts state that rents are payable more than, and not refundable less than, eight weeks before arrival . Beyond that you have to be insured for ANY eventuality which may cause you not to honour your booking. So if guests lose their money it is because they have not taken out insurance, not because they have been refused a refund. Indeed these guests did not even ask for one . We are really shocked at this demonstrable misrepresentation of the facts, and even more shocked that Tripadvisors should have published it without inviting us to respond. We heard nothing of it until a dear and regular guest who was as shocked as we were rangus up to tell us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sunflower45894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
14  Thank Jost K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Habsburg Porta Metronia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Habsburg Porta Metronia

Address: Piazza di Porta Metronia, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #620 of 1,166 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing