We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #318 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at a junior suite and were surprised at the size of the hotel room. It had a separate area from the bedroom and the extra space was appreciated. The service staff at the front desk ( who also double up as concierge ) were friendly and helpful. The location was also a plus point, just across the road from via del corso and a 10 min walk to Spanish steps, Piazza Navona and there is a bus to Colosseum. Breakfast was decent with hot items like scrambled eggs, bacon , sausages and continental breakfast. The hotel itself is a old building hence furniture and decor in the room is old and old style. It feels like a 3 star hotel ( although I think the rating may be 4 star)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the preference you have given to our Residenza di Ripetta for your holiday in Rome.
We are very pleased to learn that you have so much appreciated the size and the features offered by our suites, as well as our central location.
Also the nice words you have written about our staff, encourages us to improve our skills.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rome and with the occasion we wish you a very happy Christmas.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    225
    80
    34
    26
See reviews for
179
242
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights this past June while on a Tauck Culturious tour. I was a little apprehensive as I had heard that 4 and 5 star hotels are different in Europe than in the US.
I have stayed at very nice hotels in my travels in the US and overseas and this hotel did not disappoint! The staff was lovely, friendly and very helpful. The location was outstanding, we walked to many different sights and terrific dining every day. The rooms are quite large as the hotel had been apartments in a former life. We had a sitting room, small kitchen area and two queen size beds.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are 2 story lofts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianMarucaSang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for the time you have spent writing your comments on the tripadvisor website. We are glad and proud to read that you had such a nice experience and you have appreciated the size and the features of our suites, as well as the skills of our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Residenza di Ripetta, we send you our warmest wishes for a happy Christmas.
Truly yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinchilla, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough good about this hotel and it's staff. We had room 'C'. After all the other hotels that we'd stayed at in Italy, our room here seemed massive. The bathroom was very spacious and to have a sitting area with couch, table and chairs was just a bonus. I did not find anything dated, as in previous reviews, but rather charming. 'Our barman' in the garden each evening was exceptional and remembered our drinks of preference without fail and certainly looked after we weary tourists each night. The reception staff were faultless, even teaching us a weeny bit of Italian, and having a much appreciated sense of humour. Great location. So much choice nearby for dining and shopping. Love it, love it, LOVE IT.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
we wish to thank you for having shared your nice experience at our Residenza di Ripetta. We are so pleased to read that you have appreciated the size and the style of our suites, the cozyness of our internal garden bar and most of all the attention and the skills of our staff. We are very proud to have left such a fun memory of your Roman Holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, it was our first time in Rome and we took a chance by booking this hotel after reading the reviews. The location is awesome, we walked to all the attractions except for Vatican and colosseum. Lots of good restaurants close by. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was large and clean. The only problem was we had to carry our baby stroller up and down the stairs at the entrance as well as to get to the lobby. A ramp would have been really great, but other than that we loved the place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Am S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We have been pleased to read your nice comment about our Residenza di Ripetta. We are glad to learn that you had such a positive experience during your stay in Rome and we look forward to welcoming you back as our Valued Guest.
Yours Sincerely,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This converted monastery has rooms of generous proportions with good size baths and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The feature unique to Rome is that there is a beautiful courtyard with a garden, bar, wicker furniture and tables for outdoor dining. The indoor bar is comfy with lots of cushions. Staff is very helpful and the location is great - in the heart of Rome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comment one the Tripadvisor website. We are very happy to learn that you had such a pleasant experience.
In fact the “secret garden” is one of our highlights, together with our staff, so professional and attentive to all our valued Guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Eternal City.

Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed three nights during our 9 week trip to Europe. Location was good and within easy walk to Spanish steps, Metro also close by. Our room was on two levels, sitting area and kitchen downstairs with bedroom and ensuite upstairs. The steep spiral staircase was a challenge with heavy suitcases. There was no window on the bottom level which meant it was dark, but fortunately we were out most of the day. The view from the bedroom window looked out onto the lovely hotel courtyard. You could only use the kitchen if you purchased a "kit", it would have been nice to have supplies included to make a tea/coffee. Free internet should also be made available throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessatoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the central position of our hotel, which allows our Guest to enjoy the city at its best. By the description of your room, we guess that you stayed in one of our Royal Suites; these are equipped with a small kitchenette corner, that can be used only for making tea and coffee.
We are glad to remind you that internet is free of charge in the lobby and in every common areas.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came upon this hotel quite by accident. When booking a holiday through Transat Holidays in Canada, this hotel was added to the list for the first time in 2013. When reading through the offerings only 4 hotels offered a hot buffet breakfast, something we prefer, over the traditional Italian type breakfast of cold meats and cheeses. Knowing nothing about Rome at all, this hotel seemed to be something different, so we booked it for our weeks stay; and we are glad we did. Its location is superb for walking to see the traditional sites. Also, a short walk to the metro and the electric buses on Corso. The 590 bus is shown to pass in front of the hotel, but in 8 days, I only saw one bus. For some reason, this route isn't running. A pity, as it goes directly to the Vatican.

The hotel itself is certainly unique. We had Room 111, which was actually a small suite. Although a lot of the couches and chairs throughout the hotel, both in public areas and in the suites themselves, need either to be repaired or reupholstered, this did not really bother us at all.

Some comments mention small bathrooms. Ours was of moderate size, about the same size as most hotel bathrooms we have encountered in Italy this past September.

Mention too, of the inner garden appears often here. Unfortunately, for our week in Rome it rained daily. not constant, but daily thunderstorms and downbursts that really made the garden unusable. This was no problem as we prefered eating in the breakfast room, and not in the hallway. Honourable mention has to go to Aurelio, who seems to keep this area on its toes, and looked after us very well.

The front desk was topnotch. My wife, with walking problems, was always helped into and out of the hotel by the doormen and the desk staff. they even a loaned us a wheelchair for the week we were there as well. On our departing morning, the mayor of Rome was arriving imminently, and confusion was reigning with papparazi everywhere. The staff got us out and into a taxi with speed and safety.

Now there have to be negatives of course. We found the charge for WiFi as shown on the inroom TV, not to be of our liking. Instead, we tried for the public access one, which only worked on weekdays. Likely, too many accessing it on weekends. However, we did find out that anyone standing on the street, very close to the front entrance on di Ripetta, can pick it up; and since it has no password, this maybe why it's hard to get on it, at some times.
We ate twice in the restaurant for dinner, and the food is excellent. But there is just not enough choice for a weeks stay to not eat the same food over and over again. Thus we ventured out for pizza a couple of nights. There is plenty of choice in the area.

But, we found this hotel to be great for us. We would recommend it to others, except those who feel it's tired and needs a makeover. We found it classy and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travels1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
We wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. We are really glad to learn about your positive experience. it seems like you had a very fortunate coincidence!
In fact, our location is superb, right in the center of Rome, but away from the noise of the touristic roads, especially into our silent secret garden.
Thank you also for the nice words you spent about our staff; we all are very happy to help and assist our valued Guest for any need and request.
Please allow us to inform you that we are planning an upgrade of the WIFI.
We really hope to have the fortune of welcoming you back to the Eternal City.

Sincerely Yours,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#246 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#295 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#155 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#171 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing