We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #373 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This converted monastery has rooms of generous proportions with good size baths and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The feature unique to Rome is that there is a beautiful courtyard with a garden, bar, wicker furniture and tables for outdoor dining. The indoor bar is comfy with lots of cushions. Staff is very helpful and the location is great - in the heart of Rome.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comment one the Tripadvisor website. We are very happy to learn that you had such a pleasant experience.
In fact the “secret garden” is one of our highlights, together with our staff, so professional and attentive to all our valued Guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Eternal City.

Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 650 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed three nights during our 9 week trip to Europe. Location was good and within easy walk to Spanish steps, Metro also close by. Our room was on two levels, sitting area and kitchen downstairs with bedroom and ensuite upstairs. The steep spiral staircase was a challenge with heavy suitcases. There was no window on the bottom level which meant it was dark, but fortunately we were out most of the day. The view from the bedroom window looked out onto the lovely hotel courtyard. You could only use the kitchen if you purchased a "kit", it would have been nice to have supplies included to make a tea/coffee. Free internet should also be made available throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tessatoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the central position of our hotel, which allows our Guest to enjoy the city at its best. By the description of your room, we guess that you stayed in one of our Royal Suites; these are equipped with a small kitchenette corner, that can be used only for making tea and coffee.
We are glad to remind you that internet is free of charge in the lobby and in every common areas.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came upon this hotel quite by accident. When booking a holiday through Transat Holidays in Canada, this hotel was added to the list for the first time in 2013. When reading through the offerings only 4 hotels offered a hot buffet breakfast, something we prefer, over the traditional Italian type breakfast of cold meats and cheeses. Knowing nothing about Rome at all, this hotel seemed to be something different, so we booked it for our weeks stay; and we are glad we did. Its location is superb for walking to see the traditional sites. Also, a short walk to the metro and the electric buses on Corso. The 590 bus is shown to pass in front of the hotel, but in 8 days, I only saw one bus. For some reason, this route isn't running. A pity, as it goes directly to the Vatican.

The hotel itself is certainly unique. We had Room 111, which was actually a small suite. Although a lot of the couches and chairs throughout the hotel, both in public areas and in the suites themselves, need either to be repaired or reupholstered, this did not really bother us at all.

Some comments mention small bathrooms. Ours was of moderate size, about the same size as most hotel bathrooms we have encountered in Italy this past September.

Mention too, of the inner garden appears often here. Unfortunately, for our week in Rome it rained daily. not constant, but daily thunderstorms and downbursts that really made the garden unusable. This was no problem as we prefered eating in the breakfast room, and not in the hallway. Honourable mention has to go to Aurelio, who seems to keep this area on its toes, and looked after us very well.

The front desk was topnotch. My wife, with walking problems, was always helped into and out of the hotel by the doormen and the desk staff. they even a loaned us a wheelchair for the week we were there as well. On our departing morning, the mayor of Rome was arriving imminently, and confusion was reigning with papparazi everywhere. The staff got us out and into a taxi with speed and safety.

Now there have to be negatives of course. We found the charge for WiFi as shown on the inroom TV, not to be of our liking. Instead, we tried for the public access one, which only worked on weekdays. Likely, too many accessing it on weekends. However, we did find out that anyone standing on the street, very close to the front entrance on di Ripetta, can pick it up; and since it has no password, this maybe why it's hard to get on it, at some times.
We ate twice in the restaurant for dinner, and the food is excellent. But there is just not enough choice for a weeks stay to not eat the same food over and over again. Thus we ventured out for pizza a couple of nights. There is plenty of choice in the area.

But, we found this hotel to be great for us. We would recommend it to others, except those who feel it's tired and needs a makeover. We found it classy and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travels1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guests,
We wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. We are really glad to learn about your positive experience. it seems like you had a very fortunate coincidence!
In fact, our location is superb, right in the center of Rome, but away from the noise of the touristic roads, especially into our silent secret garden.
Thank you also for the nice words you spent about our staff; we all are very happy to help and assist our valued Guest for any need and request.
Please allow us to inform you that we are planning an upgrade of the WIFI.
We really hope to have the fortune of welcoming you back to the Eternal City.

Sincerely Yours,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our four days in Rome at Residenza di Ripetta. The location was such that we were able to walk to many attractions and restaurants in the city center. The breakfast in the courtyard provided lots of great options to start our day. The room was spacious, clean, well appointed and quiet. Perhaps the most impressive part of the stay was attention and help provided by the professional staff. Simply first rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
we wish to thank you for the nice comment you have shared with the other Tripadvisor’s users. We are pleased to learn that you have appreciated our location, the features of our Suites, and especially the skills of our Staff.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to the Residenza di Ripetta soon.
Truly Yours,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved it!! We have stayed many times in Residenza di Ripetta's sister hotel in Rome and like this way better. The location is superb, right in the centre of all the action and who goes to Rome and not shop! The Residenza is an oasis of calm in the midst of the frenzy which is Rome. The courtyard was a perfect spot to recharge after shopping and breakfast in the courtyard was a beautiful way to start the day. We had dinner there and found the food excellent, one of our better meals in Italy. The rooms are well appointed and the staff was exceptionally helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
please allow us to thank you for the preference you have given to the Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome.
We are proud to learn that you had such a nice experience; in fact our hidden garden is really an oasis of tranquility in such a busy area.
Thank you also for the nice words you have written about our staff; we do our best to pamper all our valued Guests.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Rome.
Yours sincerely,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Been there a few times for business. Very central, kind and attentive service, lovely internal garden that - in Rome - can be used from April to October if lucky with the weather. If stopping by for a coffee or a quick lunch, the place is great. If stopping overnight, I am not sure this is a great spot. Rooms are pretty old and dated, with poor furniture. Bathrooms are relatively small. Windows overlooking the internal garden are sealed. Doors are not thick enough and you can hear some noise. Breakfast is decent but very average. The hotel is not expensive for its location and this is a plus, but the overall room ambient is just for some liking very traditional places. Not convinced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
we have been sorry to read that your experience at the Residenza di Ripetta did not meet your expectations. Please allow us, though, to remind you that we have just finished an important renovation of all our rooms and suites, as well as common areas. Compared to the average hotels, the size of our bathrooms is pretty big and none of our windows overlooking the garden is sealed. We are pretty sure that if you had immediately warned our receptionists, they would have shown you a different room. Our breakfast buffet is very rich, with cold and hot dishes.
We invite you to return to Rome as our valued Guests.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just returned from three days at the Residenza di Ripetta.We have been to Rome 5 other times and wish that we had found this lovely hotel before. The location is perfect so close to all the major sites in Rome. In addition the staff was so helpful,professional and friendly.
Our rooms were suites with sitting rooms large bedrooms. Everything was immaculate. The courtyard was simply a treat to have to sit and enjoin our family share a drink and stories of the day.The breakfast was yummy each morning and the staff remembered how we liked our coffee after the first day.There is a restaurant right across the street that was one of the best dinner we had in Rome
5 Stars-well earned

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charwenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for having shared your nice experience on the Tripadvisor website. It was a pleasure to learn that you have much appreciated our location, our services and the peace of our internal garden. We are proud to assist our Guests from the beginning of their stay, to the goodbye greetings.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residenza di Ripetta.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#267 of 1,271 in Rome
999 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#157 of 1,271 in Rome
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#339 of 1,271 in Rome
493 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#106 of 1,271 in Rome
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $149 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing