We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #356 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The position of the hotel was excellent !!! It's between all the most important places in Rome in a walking distance( the Vatican, Spanish steps, Fontana di trevi,) the rooms were very spacious especially for Rome, we were upgraded from an executive room to a suite (thank you) Everything was perfect!!! The breakfast was very good (could be better no complains tho) the rooms were clean. This hotel was just perfect for us!!! When we visit Rome again we will surely stay in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimitrisGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
we have been very happy to read about your positive experience at our Hotel; we are proud to guarantee that during your next visit, we will welcome you again with the typical warmth of our city, combined with the professionality that sets us apart.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    231
    87
    36
    28
See reviews for
186
253
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not very stylish and new, yet still very nice, well equipped and comfortable hotel, in a super great location.
extra-large rooms, extra-large bathroom, great breakfast and a very friendly and helpful staff - with good English.

one problem we did have:
on one of the nights there was a big live playing band downstairs - and the music was extremely loud (as we were located on the first floor). this party was inside the hotel, and went on until about 1 am.

sleeping was really impossible and our calls to the reception was answered with: "well, there is nothing we can do about it", and the day after we got a short apology with no real offer of compensation. not very professional I'm afraid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bamba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for having chosen the Residenza di Ripetta. We are very pleased to learn that you have appreciated the professionality and the kindness of our staff and we are proud to inform you that we are about to finish an important renovation of all rooms and suites. Regarding the music, the volume is never too loud, and we are pretty sure that the clerk at the reception did not reply that there was nothing he could do, but he informed you about the time the party was going to end. We invite you to come back to Rome and visit our hotel again, so that we will have the chance to give you a renovated suite.

Truly Yours,

Samuele Annibali

General Manager

Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying in Rome? Here is one place where you won't go wrong. We did not expect much because it was reasonably priced for its location. When we walked in we were greeted by happy staff and the foyer was just exquisite! Our room was spacious and comfortable. Very stylishly decorated. The breakfast room and outdoor terrace were just so pretty! it really took our breath away with its old world charm and touches of the contemporart! Location was walking distance to great shopping and other great sites....would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your wonderful words and for choosing Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. It is always good to read our guests appreciate the charm and magic atmosphere of your hotel, and all the art masterpieces we have around the hotel. We invite you to come back soon to repeat the positive experience with us

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This short stay in Rome was a Birthday/Anniversary surprise from my Husband. And what a few days we had.
We arrived at the Residenza di Ripetta on a monday afternoon.
The Lobby was lovely decorated for the Christmas season ahead.
The Staff made us feel welcome and have been very friendly. After all the formalities one of the Porters took us to our room,he offered his help but we told him not to worry.
The room,or should i say the rooms were clean and to a high standard. The accommodation combined of a lounge with sofa, arm chair, dining table and a sideboard,which included the huge TV and fridge. Walking through a hallway there was a kitchenette and opposite there was the bathroom, at the end there was our bedroom. Again with plenty of room,it was light, clean and again up the high standard. . The bed was very comfortable (both of us suffer from orthopaedic problems) and we slept like a baby).
My Husband spoke to the Porter and this lovely person showed my husband all the best sights in Rome (of the beaten track, away from the tourists). He gave my husband a basic map and pointed out which way to travel/walk.
The breakfast was served from 07:00hours. There was something for everybody, from fresh fruit and fruit juice to cereals(from full leaded milk- to Soy milk),bread rolls,small cakes,to bacon with sausages and eggs. And enough coffee to see everybody through a busy morning.
After a busy first day,we eventually returned to the Hotel,tired and hungry.
On asking, the reception staff recommended some lovely eateries. Not to pricey and not FISH and CHIPS. They could have told us to eat in the Hotel,but they did not. One guest told us that the meal in the Hotel was excellent,but we told them that we wanted to eat where every Roman goes for their meal,and we have not been disappointed.

On our last day we booked out of our room after breakfast earlier than expected. We were able to leave our luggage in a room provided, so we were able to to do some more shopping and exploring around the area.
We know that we will be returning to Rome again and we are hoping to stay at the Residenza di Ripetta again.

Room Tip: It is a very busy road during the daytime but it will calm down towards the evening. The bedroom has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helga h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are glad you had the opportunity of celebrating an important occasion here at Residenza di Ripetta, and we hope we contributed to create a good memory. The staff at the reception is always there to help our guest and we are pleased our goal was completely reached with you. Thank you again for all the compliments.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed two nights 12/26-12/28 in this lovely hotel before boarding our cruise ship. The rooms could use a little updating, but for our family of 4, were spacious enough and very clean. The bathrooms were beautifully updated; loved the towel warming rack. Our windows also opened which was splendid. We had the issue of one of our bags not making it from the US to Rome. The hotel staff bent over backwards in helping us locate the bag. They literally were able to find the bag at Alitalia an hour before we needed to leave to go to the cruise ship. We stopped at the airport on the way to pick it up and then on to the port. Again, the staff was fabulous and having nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,



let us thank you for all the compliments for our staff. Our Concierge, and all the staff in general, is always glad to help and assist our guests. We are happy everything was sorted out about the luggage and that we were able to help you find it before leaving for the cruise. Please come back soon!



Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in September 2012 for 3 nights. The road was being ripped up and this was perhaps a bad omen for our stay. Having arrived on a stinking hot day our room was not ready and we spent an hour being ignored in the lobby.Note to staff...if you inconvenience your guests you need to make it up...all it would have taken was an offer of a cool drink. Our room on the first floor faced the street and I get the feeling these are the worst for noise and the ones crying out for renovation as the carpet was worn and marked and general ambience poor. Our luggage was even more miffed as it took 6 hours to be delivered to our room.No one asked how we were managing with the construction noise which started at 6.45am weekend included.Breakfast was average for Europe and the courtyard is just as fabulous as other reviewers have noted. Position is good as well with a lot of attractions and nice trattorias in walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeandwendy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

we are really sorry there were road construction works during your stay, there was nothing we could do about that. In those days we tried to asissist all our guests the best we could in order to deal with the situation. We hope it did not affect the general comfort of your stay. Thank you for sharing your comments, even when they are not completely positive they can help us improve the service.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dear Samuele,

Earlier this month, our family of four stayed at your hotel for four nights. If I am to be truthful, our stay was horrible. When we arrived, there was no doorman to help us with our heavy luggage, so the driver had to help us get it to the front desk. The check in was fine, so we went up to our room - The Royal Suite. We were very excited to be in a Royal Suite, but we were so disappointed. The room was tiny, with not enough room for our family plus all of our luggage. The room looked absolutely nothing like the picture on your website, and we felt cheated. So we ran the front desk and they said they could move us tomorrow.

The next day, we were going out for brunch at about 11 when the lady at the front desk stopped us and requested us to pack our bags to move to the new room. We refused, as we wanted to eat. Besides, the room hadn't even been cleaned yet. The lady seemed upset that we didn't want to move on her time, so we came back two hours later to move, and the room still hadn't been cleaned. We had to wait for the maids to finish until we could get on with our day. When we finally moved in, the heating, if you can call it that, didn't work. It was 5 o'clock, and every heater in the city turns on at that time. There was one in our room that didn't turn on, and the engineer told us that that particular heater turned on at 6:30. We called reception and asked them if that was true, but they said it wasn't. Then of course, the safe didn't work, so we had to keep our valuables in a drawer, and instruct the staff not to enter the room, which of course they didn't obey.

The next morning we had showers. The showers are micro sized. You turn one way, and bang, there goes your elbow. Turn the other way, and bang, there goes your knee. Plus, our shower head didn't work, so the engineer had to replace it. The hotel recommended two restaurants to us, both of which were horrible. The hotel restaurant was absolutely appalling, and McDonald's would've been nicer. The people working at the front desk were sarcastic, as well.

I am not quite sure why the life-size plastic polar bears in the lobby didn't warn us to leave before we checked in.

Samuele, this hotel is a poor reflection on you. I would be embarrassed to manage a hotel like the Residenza di Ripetta.

To my fellow travelers, if you want your trip to Rome to be worthwhile, I suggest NOT staying here, unless you want to waste your money, time, and patience.

And by the way Samuele, keep your smart remarks to yourself, as this is a forum for travelers, not managers who hide behind their answers.

Room Tip: Oh, I found a really good room in ANOTHER HOTEL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank YouShouldBeWorried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#271 of 1,261 in Rome
979 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#153 of 1,261 in Rome
1,557 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#312 of 1,261 in Rome
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#679 of 1,261 in Rome
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#192 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing