We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #365 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had 4 nights in Residenza di Ripetta from 17 Nov and it suited us perfectly. The room was very quiet and loads of space. Bathroom: tiles and marble and lovely and clean, with a good shower and lots of hot water. . . . and those enormous fluffy towels. I found the bed comfortable and slept very well. If you wanted to be really picky about the decorating you could find some exmples, but you would have to extremely fussy and go looking for problem. The breakfast was excellent with enough choice for everyone, early and late, and these staff always helpful. All the staff in the hotel (reception, bar etc) provided excellent service, and the concierge could not have been more helpful, always responsive and provided a great restaurant. We liked the location being at the top end of the central city with most of the sights south, but all walkable. Next street over has loads of designer shops and the main north/south navigation street so always easy to find your way back. Had an hour to kill on our last morning, so short stroll to Piazza del Popolo, sat in cafe in the sun, sipping cappuccino, watching the world pass by in the piazza.
Hotel in short: Recommend it as all the important things are right, bedroom, bathroom, breakfasts, and topped off by excellent staff. Well done to the whole team.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwithcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear guest,

we wish to express our deep appreciation for your kindness and for the nice words spent for our hotel and staff.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again so, please, do not hesitate to contact us to assist you with your next reservation.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Residenza di Ripetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 640 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent five nights at the Residenza di Ripetta in October 2012. We had a suite that allowed us to have room to spread out. The suite was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was included in our room night costs, and was very consistent, had many choices (yogurt, cereal, eggs, cooked and cold meats, cheeses, fruits and sweet rolls) and delicious. The concierge recommended two restaurants during our stay that were both delicious and within walking distance of the hotel. The service staff was very accommodating. Even though the street in front of the hotel was closed for repair of the cobblestones, we had very easy access with our luggage coming in and going out. The proximity to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and other historical sites in Rome was great - we walked a lot!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your kind comment. It is very good to read you had a great experience at Residenza di Ripetta, that you liked the Suite and appreciated our service and our staff kindness. We invite you to come back soon to have a second beautiful experience in our hotel, we will be glad to welcome you in the Eternal City!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October 2012 and were blown away. I had read some reviews on Tripadvisor that the rooms were rundown and needed updating, etc. Since it was our honeymoon, I emailed the hotel and casually mentioned that fact, and also asked for some nearby restaurants that would be romantic and not too crowded. We had booked our trip through a travel planning site, and upon check-in, were surprised to learn we were upgraded at no additional cost to a two-story, two bathroom, full kitchen suite! The room was spotless and surprisingly quiet considering the hotel's prime location, and the staff was incredibly helpful. We also had a bottle of champagne waiting for us, and the concierge recommended a wonderful restaurant that capped off our trip perfectly. Maybe there are some rooms that aren't up to date, but we certainly had a great experience! Grazie, Residenza!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest,



thank you for stopping by Trip Advsor leaving such a nice comment. We are glad you liked the room we were able to upgrade you to and appreciated our little cadeau for your special occasion.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved this hotel! We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great! The location is amazing the centre of everything and we walked everywhere! Our room was clean, big and comfy and cleaned every day. We had breakfast too which was great lots of choice including cooked breakfast, cereal, yoghurts, toast, bread, meat the lot! The staff were amazing and so friendly. When we had an issue with our transfer ticket they let us use their computer to print the document we needed instead of having to find an internet cafe and when we had an issue with our safe they came and sorted it as soon as possible! I would stay at this hotel again no doubt about it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest,


it is a pleasure to be informed about your positive experience at Residenza di Ripetta. All our staff thank you for the kind compliments you wrote and invite you to come back soon.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything about this hotel was wonderful: the entire staff, the breakfasts, the hotel lobby, room accommodations, could not have been better. We corresponded with the concierge staff prior to our trip requesting tickets for certain museums, restaurants, etc. All was accomplished and waiting for us upon our arrival. Because we had let them know of the anniversary we were celebrating, the management surprised us with an upgraded room and delicious and beautiful fruit basket! Having stayed at the Hassler many, many times, we found this a wonderful, affordable alternative in one of the best locations in the city. Located a couple of blocks from the Piazza del Popolo, the hotel was situated within reasonable walking distance to most sights a shopping. When in Rome - stay here!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest:

thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read what a pleasant stay you had in our hotel. Our Concierge is always willing to help all guests with their on-site needs and we are glad to be part of guests special occasions

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here in an Executive Suite for 6 nights. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful spoke good english. The suite was clean, tidy and very spacious and we were very pleased with it. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Its location to the shops and centre of Rome were perfect, there were loads of restaurants within the area although the hotel itself had an excellent one and the tourist bus stop is at the end of the street. The Spanish Steps were within a 5 minute walk, and by the steps were many high end fashion shops. The surrounding streets had a good mix of other shops. The hotels air conditioning worked well. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for the kind compliments towards our staff and service. As you could experience the location of Residenza di Ripetta is strategic to easily enjoy the heart of Rome and we are glad it was a good location for your shopping days. We will be waiting to welcome you again.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a disappointment! Our room was dirty, had a stained toilet, mold in the shower stall, shower door that was broken, an ancient shower head that had been repaired several times, a hair dryer from the 80's that doesn't dry anybody's hair and was situated behind the small shower stall in a place where you couldn't reach it or see in the mirror. (Did find a decent dryer in the bureau drawer in the bedroom) Carpet was stained and probably more than 20 years old. Paint was scraped and gouged on the walls in room.
The entrance to our room was dark (like most of the hotel) and I tripped on a step that I couldn't see several times.
Furniture was old and worn, not comfortable to sit in at all.
Chairs in the breakfast room were so stained it was gross to sit on them. Had to put my serviette on the chair. Found leather chairs in the hallway to eat breakfast the next day.
Breakfast food was good, but try getting a second coffee!
We were disappointed in the bar closing so early, so we brought our own wine to drink on the patio. Our glasses and empties were still there 24 hours later, and when we moved them to another table, we were scolded by the staff - said we were putting them on a clean table!
Front desk ignored 6 people waiting who were obviously waiting for the room keys, while both staff members waited on one couple.
We have traveled extensively and this is probably the only hotel that I would put in the 'horrible' category. It needs extensive renovations, and amenities that all other hotels offer. This was the only hotel of the 5 that we stayed at in Italy that did not have free internet in your room.
Also found it rather dodgy that a staff member was in our room, (we returned to our room earlier than planned) supposedly cleaning our two bar glasses? Nothing else was done, and we were checking out in a couple of hours.
FYI - the rooftop patio is not available to general customers. It is for booked functions only.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Karentitanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your time. We wish to express our suprise in reading your description of the room. The room in which you spent your stay is one of our Royal rooms, just recently renewed. It is possible you may have noticed some slightly superficial scratch on the walls, due to the movement of luggages in the room, but we can confirm that all the furnishings are new.

Regarding internet connection, it is hard to believe you had no access, because we offer a wi-fi connection, free of charge, in common areas and ground floor of the building, and your room was situated right on the ground floor.

Regarding our staff behavior towards guests, we wish to confirm that every guest is a Vip for us and the attitude of team members is to provide outstanding service. "Ignore" is an unknown word for us, we can surely affirm that.

Hotel staff members entered your room on your departure day, as in all hotels all around the world, to check minibar consumption before check out.

At last we also wish to state that our Roof terrace is available to all our guests, with the only exception of the moments when private events take place, since it is possible to exclusively book the terrace for special occasions.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#262 of 1,267 in Rome
986 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#296 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#152 of 1,267 in Rome
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#699 of 1,267 in Rome
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $163 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing