We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay at the Residenza di Ripetta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #365 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Residenza di Ripetta (RdR) for a week in mid august and had a great time. In this review I will discuss a lot of positive notes and a couple of things that could use improvement.

First I would like to state that after reading some of the earlier reviews about outdated rooms, I decided to upgrade my original booking from an executive room to a royal room because the royals are refurbished. I've never regretted my decision to upgrade.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told we would be getting another upgrade for free. This meant a royal junior suite, which of course was a very pleasant and nice surprise upon arrival. Reception staff was very helpful by giving us a map and directly pointing out the most important sights in Rome. We also received some flyers for tours, which we appreciated. Compliments to the reception staff for their good cares. Staff was always willing to look up adresses and sometimes even called ahead to (for example) a restaurant and a pool we wanted to visit to double check if it was open (in august some restaurants are closed because of the Roman holiday). One of the lady's at the reception looked up a particular shop we wanted to visit in Rome, but we didn't have the adress for. A couple of days later she asked if we found the shop we were looking for, now that's customer care!

Our room was really nice, clean and you could tell this hotel pays a lot of attention to detail. Absolutely no complaints about the state our room was in. The attention to detail can be seen in the entire hotel, in for example the beautiful garden and the art pieces dotted around the hotel. Also I've read some complaints about the AC not coping with the hot weather. We have no complaints about the AC because ours functioned properly keeping the room a comfortable temperature even in the august heat.

Breakfast was served in the garden I've mentioned before. Our breakfast was included in our stay. It was a continental breakfast and met our wishes just fine. Don't expect a very large buffet breakfast, but everything that's there is tasty and fresh. My special compliments go out to the gentleman (in the suit) running the breakfast and dinner at RdR for his very attentive and personal service. This man knows how to treat his guests.

Last (but not least) on the positive notes is the location of the hotel. The hotel is located very centrally and all the major sites are within reasonable walking distance of the hotel (max 25 minute walk to the Vatican and Coliseum). The main shopping street is just a street away and there are some nice restaurants in the area. One of the ladys at the reception told us about a very good restaurant called 'Gusto that is nearby the RdR. If you want a trendy place that serves good food, definitely check out 'Gusto. Lastly the neighborhood feels very safe to walk in and isn't too busy. We had no worries walking back to the hotel in the evening.

Now for the two things that I believe could use some improving. The first is housekeeping. The hotel itself pays a lot of attention to detail as I've mentioned before. Housekeeping unfortunately does not. We received a different amount of towels each day. This wasn't a big problem for us and certainly nothing to complain about, but still you'd expect to get the same amount of towels every day of your stay. On one occasion we did not receive a bathmat, leaving the floor of the bathroom wet. The other thing is toiletpaper. Housekeeping didn't stock up the toiletpaper in our room, leaving us with dangerously little on one occasion. After asking housekeeping, we've received a couple of new rolls, so no worries. But still, this is something housekeeping should check for themselves.

The second thing that could use improving is that there is no free WiFi in the hotel. The WiFi that is there, is VERY expensive. I believe that in this day and age, internet should be a free service to guests in hotels. Unfortunately in RdR it isn't and the rate RdR charges for WiFi (5 euro an hour) is really steep. Because of the price, we did not use the WiFi in the hotel. This isn't a major issue, since a whole lot of bars and restaurants around Rome (and in the area of RdR) offer free WiFi, so it is still possible to get your daily dose of internet, but still you'd expect free WiFi from a 4 star place like RdR.

To conclude: We found RdR to be a great place to stay while in Rome with personal and attentive service. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your appreciated effort in describing in detail all the aspects of your stay. We carefully try to pay attention to all details and aspects that can make a guest feel "at home". Thank you for taking to our attention a little fault from our housekeeping department, so we can avoid the same problem in the future. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Garden, where breakfast is pleasantly served.
Please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you in planning your next visit.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Residenza di Ripetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 640 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Visiting Rome for the first time with my children, aged 11 and 7, I purposefully chose a hotel which was situated in an area within reasonable walking distance of the key sites of historical interest, and the location of this hotel cannot be faulted. A former convent, the Residenza di Ripetta does have lovely common areas and a tranquil inner garden. The reception we received was not particularly ideal, although the staff were pleasant enough. We arrived an hour before our room was ready to check-in and although our luggage was taken care of we were handed a map of the city and basically invited to wander around the local area until the room was prepared; traveling with two children since the early hours it would have been appreciated had we been shown to an area within the hotel where we could have relaxed, taken refreshments and informed as to when our room would be ready instead of lurking around the local vicinity tired, hot and inappropriately dressed for the beautiful weather!

Having booked a Executive Junior Suite in a hotel which claims 4 stars, I was disappointed with the tired furnishings, the dingy appearance and stained carpets. The room however was clean and the housekeeping staff cannot be faulted. I am aware the rooms are undergoing renovation so I should imagine if you are accommodated in one of the newer rooms, or rooms charging a higher rate, you will not be disappointed with the hotels appearance in itself. On the positive side, the rooms are spacious and the air conditioning meant they were cool and fresh during the night. The room safe was relatively easy to set up and ensured peace of mind, although 30 minutes prior to our return transfer to the airport the safe decided to be unresponsive to my pass number and I was compelled to call reception who dealt with the matter swiftly and efficiently and allayed my concerns.

Breakfast in the hotel was served between 7.30 and 10am and the American style buffet caters for most tastes; offering fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, bread rolls, ham, cheeses, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, jams and pastries. The jam tarts and apple and cinnamon cake were delicious! Although we did not visit the bar or the restaurant they both looked well equipped and the atmosphere in the common areas and dining areas is one of understated class, peace and tranquility. The service was efficient at breakfast but staff rather distant and made no effort to engage or converse and looked, at times, rather bored. Although for guest who would perhaps like to keep themselves to themselves and not exchange pleasantries with the staff, this may be welcome. There were however two members of staff, one male and female who were very pleasant and my daughter was particularly enamored with the man who offered to bring her five bread rolls if she preferred them to the pastries!

In conclusion the positive aspects of this hotel by far outweigh the negative. The location is ideal. A five minute stroll to the Piazza di Popolo, and despite the heat we did not find it necessary to use the metro and bus service during our stay. Every street is a little treasure trove of history, food and culture and regardless of whether we return to this hotel, there is no doubt we will return to Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had the opportunity to appreciate our hotel and its strategic location. We are sorry we haven't been able to let you have an early check in. Whenever it is possible, we allow our guests to go upstairs in their designed room as soon as they arrive. But, as you can understand, when the hotel is full it is not possible to do so. Giving the city maps and all touristic information is something we always do with our guests to let them appreciate our beautiful city and to take the most out of their trip.
We are glad you appreciated the buffet breakfast and we will be more than glad to share your comments with our staff to keep improving the service.
We hope to have you back here soon.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were amazed at the standard this hotel offers for the price we paid. From the outside it doesn't look anything special as it has quite a modest entrance straight off Via Di Ripetta, but it feels like a high-class hotel from the minute you walk in, with its beautiful reception area, incredibly friendly and helpful staff and very professional approach to Customers.
The room we had was very spacious with a huge double bed (actual double and not just 2 singles shoved together!) comfortable sitting area with a big flat screen SMART TV and a big walk in shower. It is in a very old building so the ceilings are high and the corridors very wide, so it feels huge throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was excellent, with a full range of cold meats, fruits, breads and even scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages all to be enjoyed in the courtyard gardens, which provide a delightful al-fresco dining experience.
We didn't have dinner in the hotel as it was mainly a la carte dining and we like our Pizzas and Pastas too much, but the range of food looked nice and not all that pricey, although the drinks were expensive costing around 10e for a Bellini.
Finally, the staff at the reception are amongst the best I have ever come across. Every one we met was pleasant, helpful and spoke excellent English when my Italian wasn't good enough to explain what I wanted. They provided us with timetables for buses, maps, advice on the locality and could not have done any more for us.
The location of the hotel is great, just off the Piazza del Popolo, 5 minutes walk to Flaminio Metro stop and well within walking distance of most of Rome's main tourist attractions. It is surrounded by dozens of bars, cafes and restaurants (even a Vegetarian restaurant) offering a huge variety of food at an equally varied range of prices, so choose carefully to get what you want. There are also a lot of the major shopping chains in the adjoining streets along with some pretty little Boutique shops nearby.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel at the price we paid, so shop around to find a good price and you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gino71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for sharing those beautiful words regarding Residenza di Ripetta and our staff. All our efforts are to make every guest feel taken care of and to make their stay as special as possible. Regarding the coktails served, we assure the prices are just like in the other hotel bars nearby. We hope to have you back here soon to repeat your pleasant experience

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The front desk staff were amazing; room was nice but for 4 stars needs a good cleaning. Not dust type cleaning but carpoets and furniture scrubbed from general age staines. Heart of city, close to Piazza del popollo; price was fair.

Servers; just do their job and show NO emotion or interest that you are there in their hotel or city. SMILE, it's easy... We are helping your economy...

Over all nice stay, helpful front desk, space-ful room.

Go enjoy...

Room Tip: Interior rooms from street are quiet. Use your bolt lock because the cleaning staff does NOT look a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your comment. We are sorry you have not been satified by all the aspects of your experience with us. We will surely take in consideration your suggestions to keep improving.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had our wedding after-drinks here. The drinks were incredibly expensive but the ambience and staff were lovely and the garden was great. The location is also great- near Piazza del Popolo and many shops too. If you can afford it or fancy an expensive one off then I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for spending an evening in our garden bar, Cafè di Ripetta, and for appreciating its warm atmosphere and service Our staff is always dedicated and love to please all our guests. Our menu prices are lower than other hotel bar nearby, even though we offer this stunning location, a green and quiet spot in the heart of Rome.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of historic Rome with easy walking access to most historic sites and many restaurants. The rooms are spacious (not typical in Rome) with large closets and large bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, and the breakfast room is beautifully decorated. The hotel's best feature is the large inner courtyard, again a rarity in Rome. It is furnished with comfortable wicker furniture, pergolas, an outdoor bar, and tables and chairs. It is lovely having breakfast outdoors in nice weather. There is also a rooftop area for lounging and viewing the Roman rooftops. The staff is gracious and helpful. The only negative I found is that there is a charge for internet use. Most hotels nowadays are providing free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have been renovated, and they are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

we are deeply delighted to read your postive comments reguarding our hotel and the dedication of our staff. The wifi connection we provide is a very updated and fast one, this the reason of the small charge. It will be a pleasure to have you back here soon!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We ended our Italian vacation with 4 nights in Rome at the Residenza di Ripetta. The location of the hotel is great, close to transit, shopping, lots of restaurants and attractions. The room itself was spacious and clean – except for the bathroom (shower head, curtain and cleanliness of the shower) and mildew in the A/C units. We brought this to the attention of the front desk staff and they tried their best to fix the problems we had as they arose and they were very attentive. The problems were never fully remedied, but you just can’t fix “old”.

Even though it was clean - the furnishings, carpeting and walls are very dated which made the room seem dingy. The rooms definitely need to be renovated. The common areas were lovely, the breakfasts were great and the garden patio was very nice.

This is the only accommodation during a 3 week trip where we had to pay for Wi-Fi – in this day in age, this should be standard in all hotels –especially a 4 star.

Overall our stay was good, but I don’t know if I would stay here again unless the hotel updated their rooms. It seems a lot of little details were overlooked in the care of the guest rooms and unfortunately it’s the little details that people remember.

For some dining recommendations around this area and other things to do in Rome, contact me through www.salamandertravel.ca

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingSalamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear guest,

we are glad you had a pleasant experience at Residenza di Ripetta and could take advantage of strategic central location of our hotel. Our hotel is continously improving its rooms and common areas, this is the reason why some rooms are at the moment "just renovated" and some are still being taken care of. As for the cost of the internet connection, we have to specify that there is a little cost because we provide a High Speed Broadband tath also aloow the guests to use the connection from flat tv screen in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#262 of 1,267 in Rome
986 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#296 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#152 of 1,267 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#699 of 1,267 in Rome
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $163 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing