We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”
Review of Hotel Pomezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pomezia
Ranked #1,009 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you want a budget hotel in the heart of Rome, this is your place. You can walk to all the major destinations if you are fit. The hotel itself is nothing special, but it is in a charming, little street, close to Campo dei Fiori, the rooms are decent, the staff friendly if you behave in a friendly way and you got free Wi-Fi that unfortunately does not reach most of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kornelia942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pomezia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked hotel pomezia for 7 nights having never been to Rome before, but wanting somewhere central and affordable. The hotel is in a great location, we were able to walk everywhere (colosseum, Vatican, borghese, trevi fountain, piazza navona etc) in under 40 minutes and the air conditioning was incredibly welcome after the June sun! Breakfasts were fairly basic (bread, croissant, cereal and a variety of spreads, with coffee and juice) but there are bakeries and supermarkets very close if you want something different. The piazza fiore is a few minutes walk away with lots of different restaurants to choose from in the evenings, and a great local market during the day. There are also local bars and gelatarias within a couple minutes walk, although we preferred to go further out for meals and drinks.
We stayed on the first floor, at the back of the hotel and were not bothered by noise at all. The room was cleaned every day and the bed was comfortable. The shower was decent and there are some basic complimentary toiletries, which was a nice touch.
The owners were friendly and we were able to store our bags all day after checking out at 11am on our last day with no problems, and they booked transport to the airport for us.
The hotel stays open until 12-1am, after this time you have to buzz to be let in, but this always happened quickly.
The only down points were not having a safe and no fridge in the room, even though the booking confirmation said there would be, but these were very minor problems!
Overall, a great hotel if you want a base for exploring Rome, reasonably priced and within walking distance of all the main sights and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Dirty. Dirty and definitely not refurbished. We were unfortunate enough to book a double room but were presented with room 27. Having stayed in various 2* hotels Italy I didn't expect the Ritz. I did expect something bordering on acceptable. On arrival it was clear the website pictures were a generation old, despite claims to renovation. The room was as tiny as expected but was filthy. Walls were covered in marks and stains. The double was of course two single beds. The shower cubicle door was missing and replaced by a mouldy shower curtain and black tape. The balcony was covered in cigarette ash. And of course the floor had various human hairs scattered around. Despite advertising air conditioning (necessary given the 29 degree heat and window onto enclosed courtyard) we were informed it only worked from June onwards. Fair enough, but a helpful attitude rather than dismissive annoyance would help. The tv had poor reception for 3 channels and no reception for many more. When we ventured back in after a wander to try and escape the bad mood brought about by the room, we made the mistake of walking bare foot on the floor, only to notice our feet turn black. Having been told it was too late for the room to be cleaned I went on hands and knees with a pack of wet wipes and was disgusted....there was no doubt the place hadn't been vacuumed or mopped for weeks. Breakfast was below average. Machine coffee and juice, with an assortment of stale odds and ends. We didn't get an apology and couldn't get another room in the hotel or even go elsewhere (we'd have charged for the dump). Oh and the wifi only works at reception....so another lie. So....there may indeed be average rooms here but there are certainly awful ones and non existent cleaning standards. Save yourself the lottery and go elsewhere....every time.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Doddsy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPomezia, Proprietario at Hotel Pomezia, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Utente di Tripadvisor,

grazie per aver perso tempo a recensire la struttura che gestisco. Anche le critiche peggiori ci servono per migliorare i servizi che offriamo. Mi dispiace che la condizione e la pulizia delle camera non siano state affatto di suo gradimento. Non mentiamo in quanto alla prima, le camere rispecchiano le foto del sito internet. In quanto alla seconda, invece, è uno degli aspetti a cui teniamo di più e la situazione che descrive mi sembra esagerata. Purtroppo, essendo un due stelle, abbiamo le cameriere a disposizione solo la mattina e non abbiamo potuta accontentarla per un'ulteriore pulizia. Allo stesso modo, le altre camere erano occupate e non abbiamo potuto spostarla. Ci mettiamo sempre molto impegno nel lavoro che facciamo e anche in questo caso abbiamo dato il massimo. Perciò mi dispiace e trovo fuori luogo sentire che è stato trattato come spazzatura e non è potuto andare da nessun altra parte pur volendolo. Sono convinto che gli altri utenti di Tripadvisor sapranno capire con assoluta certezza che la sua è una frase fuori luogo e contraddittoria in termini e sapranno trarre i giusti consigli. Solo così Tripadvisor avrà reso la sua utilità agli utenti della rete.

Distinti Saluti,

Maurizio Mariani
Hotel Pomezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Pomezia as part of a history trip with my college at the end of February. The location is excellent! Many of the major sites, such as the Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum were within ten minutes walking distance. The hotel is down a traditional Italian street which was simply beautiful. It also was just down the alley from the Campo di'Fiora, another beautiful site. Our room itself was relevantly clean with the maids making the beds and cleaning every day. The room, however, was quite small for four of us sharing the room and there was not a huge amount of space for your clothing. The bathroom was on the small side but we managed. The hotel staff were very friendly, always saying 'hello' when we passed by. The breakfast was good with a variety of things to choose from.
Overall, it was a pretty good room in an excellent location. Very friendly staff and a great place for people who want to be in the centre of historic Rome and don't want to spend too much.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room looking out onto the street outside the hotel. The view we had of the s...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloverjess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Location is the best you can get:-)Everything is nearby and you don't have to use the public transport if you are in Rome for a couple of days. We had a really nice time in this hotel, personal was friendly and helped us with whatever we needed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank EkaterinaEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a nice hotel, in a good location when you are not trying to break the bank.

Pro's:
1. Location - Personally walked everywhere from here with no problems.
2. Staff - Friendly
3. Breakfast - Great spread and plenty.

Con's:
1. No elevator and stairs are long.
2. No safe's in room.
3. Bed's are not the most comfortable.
4. Handing key over to front desk every time you head out.

Little advice that I was not told going to the hotel for your air conditioner. Your key will have a card on it. Insert the card into a slot next to the door to your room to turn on most of your electricity within the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallWorld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place is ideal for people who need to stay somewhere very close to the center for reasonable price. The owners do not speak perfect english but they do maximum to help and understand you. They serve typical italian breakfast.
The rooms are a bit small and there is no elevator but the view from the room is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraandKuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Arenula
Hotel Arenula
#701 of 1,267 in Rome
441 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#652 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Domus Ester
Domus Ester
#899 of 1,267 in Rome
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#426 of 1,267 in Rome
257 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#513 of 1,267 in Rome
257 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#161 of 1,267 in Rome
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pomezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pomezia

Address: Via Dei Chiavari 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,009 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $71 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pomezia 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to find an affordable Rome hotel, look no further because the Hotel Pomezia is located right in the heart of Rome's historic center within walking distance of almost all the landmarks that attract most people to this ancient city.Make Piazza Venezia Square your starting point and enjoy an afternoon open-air history lesson by visiting sites such as the Colosseum, the (motion) picture-perfect Piazza Navona, the fresh fruit and vegetable market at Campo de' Fiori, the mysterious aura of the Pantheon and of course guests won't to miss out on the magnificent art work located in Vatican City.The most important sites as Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Piazza Venezia, Colosseum, are just at ten minutes walk distance and you may enjoy your favourite Italian dishes in the most popular restaurants around.The Hotel Pomezia of Eredi Mariani Sergio was founded in the year 1925 and nowdays is run by the Marianis (a family of twins).Between Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Navona, this roman traditional structure is composed of three floors with all the rooms completely refurbished, decorated in an elegant style, with wide old style windows. Hotel Pomezia is surrounded by a very quiet and warm atmosphere, and it would be an ideal, convenient and very exciting place to stay.All the rooms have private toilet, shower, telephone, TV, air conditioning, capboard, table, chair, window, heater, and free wifi in common spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pomezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomezia Hotel Rome
Pomezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing