We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2004

Great little hotel. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and the service was superb. The staff went out of their way to make my visit to Rome a memorable one. They helped us arrange transportation, book tours and recommended restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiritofPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,949)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2004

What can I say? Hotel Santa Maria was the perfect place to end a hectic 10-day tour of Italy. We had done some last minute re-shuffling of our arrival date due to delays caused by hurricane Frances. Not only was the hotel able to accommodate us (they did not have a room for the last night but found us a decent hotel near-by) but we also actually ended up getting a 3-bedroom suite (Rm 22) for the same price!

Antonio at the front desk was extremely knowledgeable and helped us plan and arrange our tours of the Vatican and some of the other sites. The other staff were very courteous and most seemed to speak a little English.

The room was huge and had 1-1/2 bathrooms. The shower curtain in the bathroom leaked a bit but not a real problem. The courtyard was the epitome of serenity and the perfect setting for breakfast. Although the breakfast was listed as continental we also got eggs, and ham and other cold cuts.

Trastavere is a quaint neighborhood and had a more local feel than some of the other areas we visited. We walked most everywhere but generally took cabs back in the evenings as the walking and the sun tired us out by the end of the day. (A word of advice-cabs don't seem to like to go into Trastavere because of its narrow streets. We found it easier to have the cabs drop you off at Ponte Sisto and its a 5 minute walk to the hotel from there.)

All in all I was quite impressed and satisfied with Hotel Santa Maria and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TT-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2004

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel. Although a little dificult to find is wonderfully located, in a quiet zone just in the middle of Trastevere. Services are excellent and the personnel very helpful and nice.

Thank 146edgardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2004

This small hotel is not for those seeking elegance but it is clean, quiet, and comfortable with staff members who were without exception friendly, helpful and kind. We spent five days there in the spring, would return in a minute, and would recommend its charm to our most discriminating friends.

1  Thank Seawolf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
13
Reviewed September 15, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days in August and it was a wonderful cool oasis from the heat and crowds of Rome. We loved the breakfast, the atmosphere, and the feel of the Trastevere neighborhood. The room was small and a little pricey but very comfortable and a perfect spot for a siesta in the middle of a sweltering August afternoon. We decided it was well worth the extra money. The staff was all very helpful, the pick up from the airport couldn't have been easier and we were able to walk to all the major sights. We can't wait to come back!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
MILWAUKEE, WI
1
Reviewed September 15, 2004

Our recent stay in your hotel was wonderful. The rooms are great and so is the location and the breakfast.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
12
Reviewed September 14, 2004

Hotel Santa Maria is a splendid little find (once you find it at least). It is situated in a bustling, hip area of Rome where you will experience real urban Italian life. The hotel staff are extremely cordial and almost prefer to speak English. The ambience of the inner courtyard is so relaxing especially after a long day of siteseeing. And, you will most definitely have the BEST breakfast you'll ever have in Italy!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,598 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $137 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing