We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard for breakfast and aperitifs = very relaxing”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #13 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Courtyard for breakfast and aperitifs = very relaxing”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Both my wife and I feel that our wonderful stays in Venice and Florence prior to our trip to Rome took away from the perfectly good stay we had at the Hotel Santa Maria.

The hotel is set in the Trastevere area which is perfect for proper Italian food with the locals and at a much cheaper price. And that's if you even want to leave the courtyard. Breakfast in the morning sun was delightful and enjoying an aperitif and a book in the early evening was very relaxing.

The room was standard but nicely decorated. We had an issue with the air conditioning on one night. We tried to reduce the temperature in the room and yet the temperature would snap back to the original temperature and then start to increase. However we fiddled around with it, set it at the low speed and for some reason, it eventually started to work.

As mentioned at the beginning, we would probably have given Hotel Santa Maria a 5-star rating had we not already had such brilliant service in Venice and Florence. The staff at Hotel Santa Maria were always polite and never failed to help, but we just thought that the help was always provided grudgingly. Said help was usually in the shape of assistance in either booking or choosing a restaurant for the evening, the staff were never rude, but we almost felt like we had inconvenienced them by asking. Maybe this was the language barrier or more likely the standard set by the previous hotels was slightly better.

Please don't let this review put you off staying at the Hotel Santa Maria. It was a very good price to stay in Rome and I would still recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    530
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
682
1,172
81
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Santa Maria for 4 nights in August with 2 teenage children, in a family room. The hotel is a lovely small hotel with a good atmosphere, tucked away in Trastevere. It feels like a small oasis of calm away from the busy, hot streets of Rome. Breakfast was good, with really good coffee, served in the pretty courtyard with a canopy of orange trees. We also enjoyde happy hour with really lovely free tapas style snacks - bruschetta, tortilla, flat breads filled with cheese & rocket, nuts, olives etc. (You could really spoil your appetite for dinner!) The room was nice, clean and had everything we needed. It had a small bathroom separating the two sleeping areas with a decent shower and plenty of towels. Our only criticism was that the mattress on one of the bunk beds which was too short and too thin for our children. I would highly recommend this hotel - if we return to Rome it will be top of my list.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Hotel Santa Maria and would highly recommend it for your stay in Rome.
It was easy to find being just a stones throw away from the central 'Santa Maria Square'. It is gated and requires the staff to let you in (via a buzzer) so feels very safe and secure. The bedrooms were light, bright, very clean and well equipped with a fridge, mini bar, plenty of towels and nice sheets. We even received a complimentary bottle of Prosecco on arrival as we were on our honeymoon so that was a lovely touch!
We changed room half way through our stay (we booked it knowing this as that was their availability) but this caused no problems and they were very helpful with helping us move our things. The second room (standard) was much smaller but was still spotlessly clean, cool and welcoming.
The bedrooms are centered around a beautiful courtyard with orange and lime trees and lovely wrought iron furniture (with cushions!) to sit on and relax after a hard days sightseeing. In the evening, you can enjoy a nice glass of wine accompanied with the complimentary light buffet which was an added bonus. Most of the rooms surround the courtyard on just the ground floor (apart from a few towards the back of the hotel but only a few steps to go up) and apart from the noise of a few cups and saucers clattering in the morning (from those having breakfast in the courtyard) it was very peaceful and quiet despite its bustling location.
The hotel also provides complementary bikes to use (with locks but NO helmets) which was a fantastic way of getting around the city; this was our favourite day out as you can get so much further on a bike and it saves your achy feet!
We found the location to be excellent; within metres of plenty of bars, restaurants and shops and we found it easy to navigate our way to the all of the sights Rome has to offer. Melina in reception was particularly helpful in advising us of where to go and buses to catch etc and provided us with plenty of maps and directions.
All in all, a wonderful hotel; great location for eating out and having a drink in some of the more 'local' bars, clean, bright rooms, lovely breakfast in beautiful surroundings and easy access to the sights. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Rome!

Room Tip: Pay the etxra for the superior room; much bigger and right on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalielouise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel was such a peaceful retreat from the noise and activity in Rome. Our family of five stayed in a comfortable room with a loft. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

What a gem! wonderful hotel in a great area in Rome. All the staff were friendly,polite and helpful.This made for a lovely three night stay.Eating breakfast under the Orange trees was a delight. We will certainly not hesitate to recommend Hotel Santa Maria to our friends.

David and Heather McQuillen
Peterborough,England

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxtel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here in summer holiday for 2 nights with our kids (4 and 6). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location of Santa Maria is perfect. In the middle of Trastevere with his restaurants. We did eat close by and all was delicious. Best was the yard when coming back after a busy day in Rome and enjoying a good glass of wine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A nice hotel in one of the oldest areas of Rome! The hotel was very nice with an inner courtyard where they served breakfast. I stayed with my Husband and two children, the room was adequate for our needs with a double and an adjoining room with bunk beds for the kids. The rooms were basic enough but the location was fantastic. Once you walked out of the hotel you were straight into the narrow and charming backstreets full of amazing restaurants. It was also within walking distance of all of the many attractions Rome has to offer and a nice base for our four night trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetoroam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,677 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,258 in Rome
3,523 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing