We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Place to Stay in Rome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #9 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stay in Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Wonderful small hotel in great neighborhood. So close to many attractions and great restaurants. The staff could not have been more helpful! Helped us arrange both drivers and museum guides on short notice, both of which were second to none! Happy hour at 5:30pm (provided by the hotel) in the beautiful relaxing courtyard was so enjoyable, a nice time to visit with other hotel guests. Breakfast was also wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 21 is so great for 4+ people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkwelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    504
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
626
1,051
73
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Hidden away in the narrow streets of Trastavere this hotel offers security tranquility and an outstanding location to enjoy the true delights of Rome. Close to the main piazza where restaurants abound there's a huge choice for dining. The rooms are compact but comfortable. The service staff are extremely attentive and nothing is a problem. Breakfast is a highlight, enjoyed in the outside courtyard with orange trees overhead, there's plenty to choose from with an emphasis on the traditional.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

The only negative comment I have is that with two separate courtyards the actual dining area should be SMOKEFREE, the stench of second hand smoke is such a downer, yup you guessed it I'm one of those highly opinionated ex smokers. The hotel could fix this in a heartbeat to everyone's satisfaction.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JayellNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was my second visit. First one with my father and cousin. Second one with my husband and two children (6 and 8) and I couldn't wait to share with them the historic beauty of Rome and the quaint welcoming comfort of hotel Santa Maria. Valentina, I can't thank you enough for your kindness and excellent restaurant recommendations. The courtyard is perfect for breakfast and afternoon snacks. It's quiet and peaceful part of the city and a great place to come back to after sightseeing. You are the BEST! Hope to be back soon. Very grateful tourist, gina

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

... because you want to come back one time ...

We have found our hotel for any future visits to Rome...

We stayed in the Hotel Santa Maria for four days with our two kids. Nice, comfortable room with a bunk bed for the kids. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast.. And the afternoon happy hour gives you all the time to rest from a day walking to the city, before moving to one of the many restaurants in Travestere.
Good to have the "oasis" with the orange trees, to which most rooms connect. That gives you the opportunity to relax, drink a good glass of wine, while sitting in the middle of Rome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel_Breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Rome and especially Trastevere is an extremely busy city. 50 metes from the Piazza Santa Maria and its crowds sits the Hotel Santa Maria and you might as well be in the heart of rural Italy - no crowds, no noise, except the pealing of the church bells, sheltering under the orange trees and enjoying a cool drink and free snacks served in the generous and appetising late afternoon happy hour.

This was our third visit to this hotel in the last 10 years and it won't be the last. It is very close to the attractions and superb culinary amenities of Trastevere and a twenty minute walk to Rome's main archeological sites (a little further to Vatican along the Via Guillia) and offers the perfect base for exploring the city and enjoying the delights of this most beautiful of capital cities. We must try the bicycles one year!

The Santa Maria may miss some of the luxuries of its grander modern contemporaries. But it has no equal, in my experience in any of Europe's large cities. It is a small family run hotel, with attentive and caring staff, an excellent (by European city standards) cold buffet breakfast and comfortable villa style bedrooms on a single floor round shady courtyards.

Thank you all at the Santa Maria for remaining constant over the years. We shall return and soon, I hope

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and I like them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Loved, loved, loved the Hotel Santa Maria! Everything about it was gorgeous, and all the TA reviews were accurate. It is an oasis from the madness of Rome but Trastavere is an experience all its own and so delightful. It's no surprise this hotel is in the Rome top ten. Would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in a twin room for 2 nights and then the Mansarda Suite for 4. Both were excellent. Breakfast and Happy Hour food were great. Staff wonderful. Etc etc. Just go there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyoglians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

An absolutely charming hotel set in a lovely mini-grove of citrus trees. Centered in the best part of Trastevere and yet hidden from view. A lovely retreat with afternoon happy hours and a generous breakfast buffet. Beds are comfy and the shower was the best we had in all our travels throughout Italy. You'll be happy if you like little boutique hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlyStudioCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,033 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#24 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing