We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Retreat in Cloisters and Oranges Groves” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Retreat in Cloisters and Oranges Groves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

There are three factors that I look for when making reservation with a hotel: location, an outdoor area (preferably a terrace or balcony) and cleanliness. This hotel met all three of these! The room was clean and quiet and the courtyards were beautifully maintained. A 17th century cloister, the rooms all surround a small court yard that is shaded by orange trees. And on the second floor is a garden terrance/solarium. Located in the Trastevere neighborhood of Rome, this is a wonderful neighborhood with great restaurants and a relatively short walk to the major sights of Rome. We managed to see most of them on foot and I am in my mid 60s (and with fake knees). The only time we took a cab was arriving from the train station, departing to the airport and to and from the Baths of Caracalla. The staff was helpful and friendly. Starting the day with fresh fruit, a croissant and a cappuccino under orange trees in the middle of a cloister is a great way to prepare for daily Roman adventures!

Room Tip: This is a small hotel but for more privacy ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjdoliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,198
    518
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
653
1,116
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is an excellent small hotel, with spectacular garden setting with lemon and oranges trees.

Extremely clean, excellent service and fantastic location to walk along the river and enjoy the restaurants and atmosphere.

Easy walking distance to the major tourist sights.

If you want to sit and enjoy the atmosphere this is the place to be, the numerous cafés in alley ways and stores at night is wonderful to just wander around.

Room Tip: The rooms are small, we had 2 adults and 1 child. However, you can escape to the numerous shaded sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormaH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallentuna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Santa Maria is an oasis in the heart of Trastevere.
With its romantic ambiance and service mined staff it makes a stay in Rome most enjoyable.
Just a few meters way from the night life it still provides a relaxing and calm environment with its small orange tree garden and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMEZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was gorgeous. The Trastevere area is a beautiful and bustling warren of medieval lanes with a central Piazza. The hotel Santa Maria is just around the corner from the Piazza so is perfectly positioned. There are dozens of restaurants and cafes literally just around the corner. The hotel has a locked gate which leads to a courtyard which is a relaxing haven away from the business of the Trastevere. From 5.30pm there is a happy hour, where if you order drinks there are free snacks (e.g. bruschetta). The delicious breakfast buffet is also served there. The rooms are small but well fitted out and are air-conditioned - essential given we were there in July. We had 2 rooms - 1 with a double bed and an ajoining one with 3 beds for our kids. The only downer is that there is no door separating the 2 rooms.The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a reasonable walk from many of the main attractions, but it would often take a bit longer than google maps suggested because of multiple traffic lights and Rome's crazy drivers. There is no easy public transport to the area so we ended up getting some taxis. After a day seeing the sights we found the hotel and the area wonderful to come back to, especially for families - lots of eating options and the ability to spend the evening after dinner wandering the lanes and Piazza, watching street theatre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed three nights at the hotel Santa Maria. We were extremely pleased with the service & staff. The hotel is a quiet oasis in the middle of a wonderful neighborhood Trastevere. Beautiful courtyard with orange trees to have breakfast & evening cocktail. Rooms are clean & comfortable. The hotel is steps from Piazza Santa Maria, many restaurants, bars, and shopping. Good location for exploring& site seeing. When we return to Roma- we will be back to this lovely gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Oasis is a dumb title because Trastevere is a wonderful neighborhood, no desert. But this hotel is wonderful, serene, quiet, pretty, low key. And free bikes you can ride along the Tiber to the Vatican, or across the bridges to the forum. The nearby streetcar takes you to the train, and the train to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved staying at this hotel. We didn't spend a ton of time there, because we were too busy exploring the idyllic streets surrounding it. Breakfast and coffee were decent. Staff was helpful. Room was ok, nothing extraordinary. However, this location is amazing. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Rome. We ate, drank, shopped and strolled all around this neighborhood. Great experience. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raybola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, ACCOR and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing