We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Rome”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What a delight! A gem of a place with easy to access to all of Rome, in the midst of the hustle-bustle of Trastvere, but a peaceful respite with helpful staff, tranquil surroundings, comfortable rooms and beautiful courtyards. Stay here. Seriously.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Coyote_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Just have to add that all the great reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor are true :)

This is indeed a wonderful little hotel in a nice area of Trastevere. Apart from the beautiful garden and cozy rooms, what makes a difference is the people working there. From the receptionists to the cleaning ladies, all are very friendly and professional.

Overall - the hotel is a bit pricy for a 3 star, but it's worth more than that definitely!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ekaterina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A perfect hotel, easy walking distance to the main sites, peaceful and relaxing after the bustle of the centre. Having breakfast under the orange trees is lovely. Trastevere itself is an excellent area to stay, quiet in the morning and fully of lively restaurants at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Quiet, Friendly, Staff were very good. Breakfast Excellent, and a nice touch between 17:30 and 19:30is a "Happy Hour" when you get free snacks with a drink.

The hotel is in the heart of the Trastevere close to many restaurants for all tastes.

Room Tip: From our experience all the rooms appear to be in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A wonderful experience! Returning to this peaceful environment after hectic days of sight seeing on the streets of Rome was a joy. The staff could not have been more helpful in providing information about sites to see and transportation. Their arrangements of tours saved hours of standing in lines and provided excellent guides. The breakfast room was beautiful and the quality of the food and coffee were outstanding. The generous offerings at happy hour were most appreciated as was the relaxing atmosphere of the courtyard. My wife's love affair with Rome will guarantee a return to Hotel Santa Maria.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. As many others have said, the location is perfect & the hotel is simply wonderful - we really appreciated the space, the delicious & plentiful breakfast, & the relaxing ambience. All the staff were delightful - friendly & helpful & efficient, always finding time to chat to us & to our 7 year old boy. I thought Hotel Santa Maria would be lovely, but my expectations were exceeded - I want to go back now!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IlkleyLoopylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 5 night at this delicious hotel in the very heart of one of the most characteristic and picturesque quarters of Rome and we really appreciated the calm and tranquillity of the place which contrasted with the busy and joyful life on the streets outside of it. The staff were extremely warm and friendly and made us feel special. The food was excellent and the location made it very easy for us to walk to the main museums and attractions of the city centre. We loved our stay at Santa Maria and we strongly recommend this hotel to those who like a truly diverse and warm experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,108 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,722 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
766 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#10 of 1,272 in Rome
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $106 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing