We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santa Maria
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$649
$374
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grifo(Rome)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$138
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
$283
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
$117
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$321
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,088)
Filter reviews
3,088 results
Traveler rating
2,454
551
56
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,454
551
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citywithin walking distanceeach eveningthe hotel staffrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornersmall hoteltrip to romeloved this hotelpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,244 - 1,249 of 3,088 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was fantastic! We read tons of reviews before deciding on Hotel Santa Maria and we weren't disappointed. Malina, the receptionist, was superb. She helped us with just about everything we had a question on from what to visit and see to where to eat. The hotel has an amazing staff who were all very helpful. They also possibly have the best cappuccinos in Rome! Breakfast was always fresh and delicious, and happy hour was a pleasant respite from a day of touring. This hotel is also perfectly situated to where you can walk to all of the major tourists sites. Even though we didn't take advantage of it they will send a car to get you from the airport or train station, and had free bicycles to take around town. If we make it back to Rome this is where we will be staying again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank TrvlgrlNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Service worthy of 5 star. Really great friendly and nice staff.

Located on a quiet pedestrian residential street but right off the Santa maria piazza. So it is peaceful but very close to restaurants, the river and bridges.

The hotel is in Trastevere which is a charming and quaint neighborhood of cobblestone pedestrian streets, churches, pubs, cafes and great restaurants.
It is a quick walk over the bridge to the tourist sites but much nicer place to stay !
(We "discovered" it on our last when we stayed in central rome and came to Trastevere for lunch)

You enter the hotel grounds through a gate and walk up a path of orange trees. The rooms surround two garden courtyards and a couple of rooms are off a terrace.

There are tables and chairs in the garden courtyards under the orange trees.

Nice breakfast room, bar with free appetizer happy hour.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Santa Maria in December and really enjoyed our stay. This is not a typical hotel block, but a beautifully converted 16th-century convent, boasting a lovely orange tree courtyard. Truly enchanting.

The hotel couldn't be better located - in the middle of vibrant Trastevere, yet tucked away in a quiet historical street. Stepping outside in the beautiful narrow streets is like walking into a movie set filled with archeological beauties, bars, shops and restaurants.

The stuff is very pleasant and attentive. The rooms are quite small but cozy, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is also great, with a wide choice of pastries, cold and hot food and fresh fruit and juices.

What a lovely place, this truly is a hidden gem. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great impressions start with check in.. And ours was great! Our front desk worker..sorry, forgot his name, middle aged gent..was very helpful with parking and maps. Then, we were so happy to have parking! We left the car in the courtyard for our stay. Easy walking distance to great restaurants, also to most attractions..and if you get tired, a cheap taxi ride back. Great afternoon happy hour snacks,bar service in the afternoon for a drink in the shaded courtyard, an amazing oasis in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angewaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Absolutely wonderful property located in the midst of Trastevere. Staff was pleasant and very accommodating. Short walk to tons of restaurants and piazzas. Food was outstanding. Would recommend this property to anyone. Great breakfasts and really nice "happy 2 hrs" in lounge in courtyard of hotel.....protected by large wrought iron gates with buzzer entry and exit each time you left or entered property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews