We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Santa Maria. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great, a small hotel in a neighborhood. It was enjoyable to wander the narrow alleys looking for shops and places to eat. We had easy access to all the attractions we wanted. Breakfast, well lets just say I am asking for a cappuccino machine for Christmas this year, and I am a tea drinker! I traveled with my husband, our 9 year old daughter and my parents, in their late 60's. WE all loved it ! We could hear the church bells, and other guests. I only noticed when I was awake, it never woke me up or my family. My father had trouble with the WiFi, I didn't have as much trouble. Happy hour was wonderful too. We loved to gather to relax an hour before dinner and talk, play cards etc. My hot chocolate drinking 9 year old looked forward to it as much as we did. Overall, we all loved our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 12 had space for twin beds pushed together= Italian queen/king, and a separate room for our dau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMG819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,256
    526
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
668
1,152
80
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We, my husband and I, spent four nights at the Santa Maria in November. This hotel is a hidden jewel in the Trastevere: charming court yards, quiet rooms and impressive surroundings. The warm attention of everybody we met at the front desk made us forget the bitterly cold weather outside; also, the hotel's very efficient heating system was just excellent. The room (we got a suite because no single rooms were available) was very comfortable: wide shower and all the amenities you would expect to find in a first rate hotel. Decoration was simple but very pleasant. Altogether, I would highly recommend this hotel. Just do not be afraid of getting lost in the Trastevere: you will find your way out and then you will regret not having spent more time wandering around through the maze of the streets. Breakfast was very good and served in a room which is as charming as the rest of the hotel. Also, do not forget to ask the people at the front desk for restaurant recommendations, they know the best in the area!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet since the hotel has only one single floor and all rooms surround two inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Pilar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The setting is peaceful, and serene. The courtyard is very nice. Our room, number 11, upstairs, was quiet, with an outside deck, that almost seemed private. The room size was adequate , The stall shower was excellent. The breakfasts were very good, with a pleasant, helpful staff. These were the pros. We did not find the front staff pleasant at all. Our arrival was cold , almost unfriendly. Like she was having a bad day. Other dealings with that lady were curt. The day before we left, we tried to get our boarding passes, and we were having trouble. We did not realize at the time that the airline site was down. I asked the person at the front desk if she would help. She said we do not do that, after all we are not a five star hotel.. After my plea she agreed to help. thiese were the things that left me with a bad taste, and is what is influencing this review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaMariaRome, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Madame,
We would like to thank you for all the positive things you wrote about your stay at the Hotel Santa Maria.

We are pleased that you liked the Hotel , because we work hard to continue to get better and improve our customer service.

Making our guests feel as if they are at home is one of the things we care about the most, and we hope to do this through the kindness of our Staff.

For this reason , we are very sorry for your experience with one of our staffmembers.

To ensure that this does not happen again , we kindly ask that you give us more information about our employer, so that we may identify who was unkind to you and address it with her. (Do you remember her name, if she was blond or brunette, if she worked in the morning or in the afternoon or on certain days?)

We want to make sure that all of our staff is properly trained to welcome future guests, and make their experience at the Hotel Santa Maria warm and welcoming.

We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously and appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay on tripadvisor.

We thank you in advance for your kind cooperation and we hope that you will respond here, or if you'd prefer, you may reply at our personal email address valegallo66@hotmail.it.

Should you return to the Hotel Santa Maria , we assure you that you will receive the treatment that all our guests deserve.

Cordially

The owners , Paolo Vetere & Valentina Gallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Quiet, comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. This is in a great location, within easy walking distance of all the main sights, and there are lots of good places to eat nearby. Good breakfast, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter1987396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The staff were very helpfull, friendly and assisted with providing a map and advice about the area and the city. We had three full days of walking this historic city. The local area of Trastevere has a great choice of inexpensive but excellent restaurants. Breakfast was five staff with a great choice and excellent staff assisting. Room well cared for plus weather permitting a lovely garden area eat breakfast or start the evening with a glass of wine from the bar. Would recommend and hope to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Super friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is a bit difficult to find at first but once there is a sweet little oasis in the heart of Travestere. The rooms are pretty basic but have everything you would need. Very clean. Breakfast was fantastic and the happy hour at the bar includes some yummy snacks. Within easy walking distance to many attractions as well. Overall its very cute! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel was within easy walking distance of all the top attractions,lots of excellent well priced restaurants .The rooms were comfortable ,very clean and well cared for. Staff were very helpful and cheerful.The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice .Weather permitting you could sit in lovely enclosed shaded gardens perfect for an evening drink and enjoy delicious free snacks at happy hour. In total a first class venue which We can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: As all face courtyard no real difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TattersLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing