We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santa Maria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa della Fonte(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanzio(Rome)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,086)
Filter reviews
3,086 results
Traveler rating
2,453
550
56
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,453
550
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citywithin walking distanceeach eveningthe hotel staffrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornersmall hoteltrip to romeloved this hotelpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 3,086 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and we will be staying again on our next visit. The hotel is in the Trastevere District close to one of the oldest churches in Rome, Santa Maria, and numerous restaurants. It is also about 20 minute walk to the Vatican, the Forum, The Pantheon and other attractions so very convenient. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there are now tea making facilities in the room. It is situated in the old part of Trastevere and the streets are very narrow so we always book a taxi from the airport through the Hotel. We also agree with all the other comments.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Councillor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Myself and my husband were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and chose Rome as the place to go, Hotel Santa Marie was just perfect the staff were very attentive and professional, attending to our every need, nothing was a problem. We were presented with a beautiful bottle of bubbly on our anniversary and were truly overwhelmed by their kindness.
Our room was beautiful, spotless and so quiet it led onto a terrace and sun-lounge area which we had all to ourselves the majority of the week. We thoroughly enjoyed the very bountiful breakfast and free snacks in the evenings.
The hotel is located in the very heart of the Trastevere area and is perfect for visiting all the major sites that Rome has to offer.
We could not have asked for a more perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We hope to return again and will certainly stay at Hotel Santa Maria.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionnuala F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Santa Maria on the recommendation of a friend, and we were delighted with our stay. The hotel's location in Trastevere, across the Tiber from most of the major tourist attractions, was perfect. The hotel is a short walk from both Ponte Sisto and Ponte Garibaldi, from which it is an easy walk to Capitoline Hill, the Forum, the Colliseum, Piazza Navona, etc. The Vatican is also in easy walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants within a block or two of the hotel and there is lots of night life. The hotel itself is a refuge. All the rooms are at ground level and face a lovely, peaceful courtyard. Access to the hotel is through a gate which is kept locked most of the time so as to limit entry. Getting buzzed through the gate was never a problem, day or night. The breakfasts were ample. Because of the hotel's small size, breakfast was peaceful and unhurried. The service was excellent. We would not hesitate to stay again at Santa Maria or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is a quiet, beautiful, secluded spot in the middle of lively Trastevere. The staff were the nicest people we met in our entire trip. The courtyard setting was charming. The breakfasts and happy hour feasts were delicious and amazing. The wine was great. We got lots of good advice about places to eat and how to reach various destinations. We loved staying there and hope we can return some day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky-Seibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First: the rooms are basic. Minimal amenities, tiny bathrooms with horrid tube hairdryers. OK but not great bed. Air-conditioning needs to be on so one can close the window and still breathe. Not an option to sleep with the open window due to external noise including other guests walking by.
But: lots of positives. The courtyard is lovely. the staff were so helpful. The breakfast was very good - although fresh orange juice would be nice: perhaps from those overloaded orange trees. Evening happy hour was a delight. The local area is fine and interesting. All in all I'd recommend strongly, especially if you can get a good rate.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank atgkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews