We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to home”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to home”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Others's comments describe this little gem, so there's no need here. It's as close to being home as you can get as a tourist in Rome. Using public transport for your sightseeing is easy enough, but be prepared for some walking. If you're sensitive to noise at night, bring some earplugs - but it's not a rowdy environment. Indeed, it's a refuge most of the time. We loved the location as a base for our sightseeing and Trastevere is a great locale itself. The staff were faultless in all respects. We stayed in fancier hotels in our Italian sojourn, but we smiled more here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3shoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,254
    526
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
668
1,152
80
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Trastevere in october 2013. Beautiful place. Quiet and clean. Very nice staff who wanted to help us even if we didn't ask for it. The shower was large enough for a tall husband and the cats were discrete trying not to bother us. (We like cats) The evenings under the orange trees were magic and our room on the upper floor was spacy enough. I was a little bothered with the humming from the air condition fans outside but I never travel without ear plugs. The views from the terrace was very exotic with its balconys and many different windows. We really felt far from home.

Room Tip: Rum 11 var mycket trevligt men har man sömnproblem kan brummande fläktar vara besvärande. Takterrass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comet49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I loved our 4 nights here so much I almost want to keep it a secret so I can get a reservation next time! Rick Steves' recommendation is right on. I appreciated the discount if you pay in cash, and think it's reasonably priced for the gem they have here. Things we loved: very comfortable bed (we like firm) and good foam pillows, beautiful room and bath, safe in room, huge gourmet buffet breakfasts (until 10:30!) with espresso at courtyard tables (or snug dining room), cozy bar and lounge area with games, happy hour foods (free if buying a drink), arranging a reasonably priced car service (driver knows hotel's hidden location) to pick you up at the airport after all night flight, and they will order taxis for you. Staff are exceptional, with recommendations for dinner, and warm personal service by waiters and bartenders and maids. The owner is charming and her dog Chanel a delight. In best neighborhood to visit everything in Rome, it's a short walk across river to all historic sites, easy walk to Vatican. Trastevere is charming, full of restaurants, but it can be touristy and loud at night (the nearby square) so we appreciated the hotel's private, quiet setting down a hidden lane (they buzz you in from a locked gate). One caveat to location---we wanted to keep our window flung open all night to courtyard of cloister for breeze/atmosphere, but you can hear loud revelers and music from square unfortunately--and some hotel guests who do not keep their voices down as they walk to their rooms over stones in courtyard late at night! Fortunately, the AC works very well and its fan is good white noise. A common city hotel situation, however, not unique to Hotel Santa Maria. Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerseyGirl057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been to Rome several times and the Hotel Santa Maria in Trastevere is a well hidden gem in the heart of Trastevere, where you will find the best affordable restaurants in Rome. It is about 15-20 minutes by foot from the Vatican City, walking at a slow pace, and just a few minutes from Rome's Coliseum and other major attractions. It is an ancient convent turned into a hotel and it is very private, with every room having a view on the interior courtyard. The beds are a bit too firm for our taste, but they are good quality beds.The personnel was ever helpful, the place is modern and clean and I wholeheartedly recommend it ! There is no question that we will return to this hotel if we ever visit Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andr_D155029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent hotel for a couple of days in Rome. The rooms were clean and spacious. The location of this hotel is what makes its absolutely fantastic. This is truely the nicest part of Rome. The only minor issue was the breakfast. The bread was not very fresh and they didnt have any brown bread. Additionally I am always very dissapointed when the juices are not freshly squeezed. But overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZappyLula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I, along with our two young children, stayed here last October.
I don’t think you could ask for a better situated hotel in Rome for the price.

We were, at most, ten minutes on foot away from the Spanish Steps as well as many other city highlights, though the hotel was peaceful enough to ensure we all got a good night’s sleep at the end of each day.
Our room couldn’t have been cosier, with warm colours and modern design, while the outdoor dining area was a great setting for our breakfasts and late night glasses of wine.

We had two evening meals here, both consisting of tapas as were delighted with the price and the portions. The staff were friendly and helpful and helped us arrange taxis, plan walks around the city and recommended some great places to eat in the evenings.

The hotel’s real highlight is its location, with the surrounding area filled with shops, bistros and some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions – this is ideal for families travelling with small children and looking to avoid long walks to the nearest form of entertainment!

We stayed for seven nights, though the hotel’s central location would also make it perfect for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned from a stay here and it was just as wonderful as when we stayed here 8 years ago. It is amazing to have such a peaceful, tranquil spot to return to after a busy day exploring Rome. IThe rooftop terrace and garden courtyard are perfect spaces to relax before heading out for the evening. The location in Trastavere is perfect with access to public transportation, shopping and many excellent restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eev2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing