We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Perfect hotel for a vacation in Rome. quiet and still in walking distance of the most interesting sites in Rome. Very nice and freindly staff. Breakfast is great and there is something for every taste and the afternoon snacks are delicious. Will choose this hotel again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalleDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,229
    523
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
662
1,139
78
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent stay in September 2013. All the staff were friendly, professional and informative staff which made our stay memorable. It's location makes it easy walking to all the main sites and it is in a very interesting old area, the hotel is an oasis in the city. Two tips: on your first visit take a taxi to make it easy to find and book early to avoid disappointment. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the second time we spent in this hotel and we will come back igjen.Vår group consisted of 7 people in ages 44-75 years of age. The locations are great, the staff is very nice and helpful, and the location is the best in Rome. This breakfast under the orange tree is quiet and tapas in the evening is really great. The room is big and clean. We recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann-karin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Whilst holidaying in Umbria we decided to 'do' Rome over two days with an overnight stay. This Hotel was recommended by a family member staying a couple of weeks earlier. It was absolutely great, being very comfortable & tranquil. Given the fact it was a city location it was better than we expected. The 'Happy Hour' idea with complimentary food supplied with any drinks bought was appreciated & set us up for the foray into the Roman night. It was clean, comfortable and a great base from which to explore all that Rome has to offer. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidNptUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed three nights with our two teenagers and loved this hotel. In my son's words, the place felt like a small villa. The intimate orange grove was the setting for our breakfasts and also where my husband and I enjoyed a bottle of wine after a day filled with sightseeing. We flew into Rome on an early flight and were happy that the hotel had arranged for a driver to bring us to the hotel. The family room was perfect for us as it had a double bed in one room and two twin beds in the adjoining room for our kids. The place was clean. I loved going back to the peaceful oasis of the hotel at the end of the day. Definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipperary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews and you should too. Staying in Trastevere is more convenient than you think. Because it is such a great place to hang out and for dinner you will wind up in this neighborhood anyway. Stay was great, breakfast was great and the accommodations for a family of 4 were perfect. As busy and exciting as Trastevere is at night, Santa Maria is a beautiful haven in Rome. Enjoy

Room Tip: The rooms in front can be a little noisy because of the gravel in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location of the hotel is well situted for taking walking trips to all the big attractions in Rome, eg we walked to The Trevi Fountain , Pantheon and up to the Spanish steps . Next day walked to the Colosseum, took the metro to The Vatican City and visited St Peter 's Basilica. Since it was quite hot during our visit, we took a taxi back each day.The hotel has bicycles available for use and we cycled in the vicinity.

There is a happy hour from 6 to 8 where they serve snacks set out on a table, which can be had if you buy a drink. Was lovely.

Also enjoyed the solarium and terrace for drinks and sitting in the sun under umbrellas.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,462 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing