We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Rome”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

You couldn't ask for a nicer more relaxed hotel in the middle of all that is Rome. It is a short walk to the Centro Storico as well as all the restaurants and action of Trestevere. The courtyard filled with orange trees is a great place to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the morning or a Spritz in the afternoon.
We made use of the free bicycles riding along the banks of the Tiber river, which during the summer turns into a big party of restaurants, bars and shops.
The Hotel Santa Maria is a wonderful hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had rooms 6,7 and 8 which were away from the main courtyard so they were a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last week and it was wonderful. Close to many shops, restaurants and plazas but tucked away so it was very peaceful.
The buffet breakfast included is lovely. Cold meats, cheese, cereals, fresh fruit and Conrad makes a great coffee.
We had a 2 bedroom room. Our 8 & 10 year old boys were in a bunk bed and looked forward to going back to their room after a day of site seeing.
The Tiber river is a short walk away and there are lots if places to eat and drink by there as well.
You can walk to main sites in Rome in 20 mins but it was really hot. A taxi would cost approx €20. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hard to find fault, beautiful oasis in the heart of Trastavere. Orange trees in the courtyard, quiet and well ventilated rooms. Great breakfast. Walking distance to many of the main tourist attractions. Free wifi, ok coverage. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, we got one right at the back of the courtyard. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue-Wayne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Rome is overwhelming in colossal sights and crowds of tour groups, but tucked away in Trastavere, just across the Tiber, hidden among the narrow winding streets and piazzas is the charming Hotel Santa Maria; simply decorated, but spacious and comfortable, with a gracious staff and lovely shaded courtyard for breakfast, relaxing and a late afternoon drink from the bar with complimentary aperitifs. Cafes abound in the neighborhood and tourist sights are within a reasonable distance, but you'll delight at the end of an exhausting day of sightseeing when you enter the cloistered peaceful and inviting courtyard of Hotel Santa Maria.

Room Tip: #20 with a door and 2 windows on the main courtyard features a small salon on a lower level with a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I cannot believe that I ever stayed any where else when in Rome because both Hotel Santa Maria and its location in the Trastevere section of Rome make it ideal. It is easy to walk to major attractions such as the Pantheon, Piazza de Navona, Campo dei Fiori, the Coliseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill. It was almost 100 degrees when we visited and being able to return to the gravel shaded courtyard with orange trees and umbrellas was wonderful. The air conditioning really worked in the rooms and we should know as we live outside of Houston, Texas, where one needs A/C almost the entire year! The room and bathroom were very clean. The bathroom had a tub which is not always easy to find. If I had one complaint, my side of the bed slanted slightly but as I was recovering from jet lag it was hard to know what kept me awake. The breakfast was excellent complete with eggs, cold cuts, cereal, pastries, etc. We will definitely stay here when we next visit Rome.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper, you might want a room a little off of the courtyard as anyone retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToriBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Situated amongst the locals, this bed and breakfast has everything going for it. Within walking distance of some famous sites this little oasis, with its rooms facing into a cute courtyard, is an ideal base to explore Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldtosee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic value for money this hotel is perfectly placed for sightseeing. I found all the major attractions reachable on foot. The staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was of a good quality. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petenpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,665 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#13 of 1,271 in Rome
648 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $108 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing