We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in Trastavere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in Trastavere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 delightful nights in this beautiful oasis. We got off to a terrible start in that the airline lost our luggage but the staff at the hotel made every effort to ensure that it was eventually located and delivered to us.
I would strongly recommend staying here and would love to return.The location is excellent and I support the positive comments of previous reviewers.Try it and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,196
    518
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
651
1,116
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a unique, wonderful gem in the middle of Trastevere! It is quiet and very quaint. The rooms are perfect for a respite and the windows open directly to a lovely courtyard. It is a renovated monestary, so you must keep that in mind. If you are looking for a fancy hotel in the middle of Rome, this is not the one. But if you are looking for peace and tranquility in the middle of wonderful Trastevere, I could not recommend this more highly. It is very convenient to all the sights, and walking distance to everything in Rome. Rome is a walking city! I would love to stay here again!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmorty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

An oasis close by the boisterous Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. Clean, quiet, perfect service; breakfast included as is food at tea/cocktail hour. Could not have been more pleased. Medium price, the Hotel Santa Maria is well located for sightseeing in the historic center of Rome, e.g., Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Campidoglio, forum, etc.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MDT4909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au SG, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The first time in Roma - the best hotel we could choose.
A nice and one of a most romatic place for a hotel we could find in a capital city. Coming back from large walks through a facinating town, crowded with tourists, we found a quite, peaceful and authenic place middle in Roma. We felt like in a small sized italian town where eveybody knows and help eachother. So was the staff, helpful and on duty at any time.
We lived in a Junior Suite under the roof. Do not not book it, when you are taller than 6 feet! Relaxing was granted at any time wether on the "terrazza" or in the garden under beautful orange trees. You will only hear the churchbells and the birds in the surroundings - no traffic noise at all. For dinner, you may find many nice bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood.
A perfect place to enjoy and to explore Roma.

Room Tip: Do not not book the Junoir Suite under the roof, when you are taller than 6 feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located right around the corner from the Piazza di Santa Maria in Trastevere with many wonderful restaurants nearby. It is set back from the road with a gated entryway. It has a spacious courtyard with orange trees which makes a lovely setting for breakfast in the morning or relaxing with a glass of wine and complimentary antipasti before dinner. It is a great location for exploring the main attractions of Rome and the Trastevere neighborhood. The hotel offers free bike rentals. They were very helpful in printing our boarding passes for our flight the morning we departed. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This neighborhood is not for your typical USA tourist wanting a surburan experience. This is an old city neighborhood authentic. not a dressed up Rome place. As someone from NYC I found it to be an authentic interesting facaniting historic area. Not an area geared to the hordes of tourists. The neighborhood is not sanatized for the tourists, Rome has homelss people!!!! funky kids and lots of local younger people go to this area. That is want makes it a great area!

However in the middle of all this is Beautiful peaceful hotel an osais of a closed lane in an Orange tree garden. I read some of the reviews and feel like i stayed in a different place then some of the reviews.
Easy hotel to hang out outdoors in the garden and roof top. Comfortable clean quiet rooms. Great air conditioning. It was still very hot in Rome in October. A great place to stay to avoid all the tourists in the streets of Rome. away from the noise but still be in the center of it all. Some of the best foodie bakeries and restaurants are easily accessible in the ghetto , campo di fori, etc.... Great area to walk everywhere. They serve Delicious food for breakfast. Great expresso. generous before dinner nibbles for guests. Loved sitting on roof top Sun deck to relax and read in the late Afternoon after sight seeing.
Workers could not be sweeter, or more friendly and very accommodating with all any requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10000RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Maria for three days at the begining of our Italy tour. I don‘t think we could find a better place to relax after a hard day walking around Rome.
The rooms which are clean and well furnished are all on ground floor surrounding a garden with tables and chairs where breakfast is served.
The only sound we heard were the bells of Santa Maria church. The church is on Santa Maria piatza which has many excellent restaurants.
This place is a must stay for anybody that wants to spend a few days site seeing Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,363 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing