We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling at home in Rome”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Jenins, Switzerland
1 review
“feeling at home in Rome”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location is the most valuable asset of Hotel Santa Maria. It is situated in a very lively area and nevertheless absolutely quiet and peaceful. You can sleep in your room with wide open windows right in the center of Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edith_freitag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,309
    533
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
693
1,177
82
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

When we decided to return to Rome for the third time there was no question of looking for anywhere else to stay. I think the main attraction is the absolute peacefulness. Trastevere is lovely - bustling, busy, loads of restaurants, loads of people and a great base to access all parts of the city. Yet when the gate of the hotel closes behind you, you could be miles from anyone and anywhere. Prices had risen quite significantly from last year (21%) and it was disappointing that the bar was not manned on the Sunday so no complimentary afternoon snacks and, for a while, it wasn't possible to buy a bottle of wine from the bar. Apart from that small grumble, our stay was perfect. Rooms clean and comfortable - lovely powerful shower, breakfast offered a wide range of cereals, cold meats and cheese, pastries and scrambled egg. Best of all is the courtyard and the orange trees - the ideal place to relax with a glass of wine after walking round the city or returning from trips. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyMac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just spent 5 days at the Hotel Santa Marie and we were thoroughly delighted with our stay. The room was lovely, the service perfect and the staff enourmously helpful in every way way. if you want to stay in a wonderful neighborhood where you can get lost in a hundred different streets, this is the hotel to stay in. We would definitely go back the next time we are in Rome

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of September. It really is an oasis, it is in a courtyard just off the main square in Trastevere. It is a bit tricky to find, but once you are there it is lovely. a garden of orange trees surrounded by the rooms. There is a sun area. Originally a religious building, then stables, completely renovated recently. No views because of the location, but extremely peaceful in a very busy area. Breakfast was great, no restaurant but they serve aperitivi (with complimentary snacks) at 5.30. Rooms of an excellent standard without being luxurious.
There are plenty of places to eat very near, but it gets very very busy in the evening in this area. It is hard to believe how there can be such a peaceful place right in its heart.
Not sure about travelling here by car, Trastevere streets were not built for them!

Room Tip: All the rooms that I saw seemed to be very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel and almost the perfect location for exploring Rome in Trastevere. Lots of great places to eat nearby, and very quiet in the night. Not too far from all the main tourist attractions if you're happy to walk a little, and well worth it to avoid the crowds in the evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeltzland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A really charming Hotel, in the very heart of this vibrant Trastevere district.
Rooms are fairly basic, but clean and in good repair. The courtyard where breakfast and complimentary afternoon snacks are served is a delightful oasis in the middle of a busy city.
Staff were very helpful and pleasant, and location, location location!!
Everything is in walking distance, there is apparently close by public transportation but we really didn't need anything other than our feet to get us from place to place. There is a delightful atmosphere in this whole area which is felt in the Hotel too.
I would stay there again without hesitation, we really had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask to get a room that is not directly off the main courtyard as the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lannie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A little difficult to get there but really nicely located in the heart of trastevere.
I had a nice mansarda room. All together a very charming small hotel. Nice the breakfast outside in the patio. I would suggest this hotel for anybody visiting Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albufalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,750 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,263 in Rome
3,556 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,263 in Rome
606 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,263 in Rome
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing