We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Ranked #349 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This 2nd floor collection of rooms is extremely well located for sightseeing the highlights of Rome, yet away from the the really busy streets, so quiet at night. You can walk everywhere from there! The room we stayed in was smallish, simple and sufficient, decorated in soft neutral wall colors and green accents with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was quite pleasant with nice tile trims. The breakfast was adequate, the coffee great. The owner was delightful, very present and welcoming, referring to her establishment as "your home in Rome." The staff was good to us, very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this place for its location.

Room Tip: Away from street would be quieter in the morning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Pellverm

We had the chance to reach your mesage and we wish to thank you so much for your nice words. We are glad to know you anyway found it comfortbale, clean and with an helpfull staff.
We hope to see you again then in the near future. We are always here at any time you might decide and wishing you all the best we send yo our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontanella Borghese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 291 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night and was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness: the welcoming, helpful and easy-going attitude of the staff who gave sound advice on tourist and practical stuff: where to get a decent glass of wine and plate of food in this tourist-heart of Rome. The breakfast was great (including fresh fruit! a dearth in many italian breakfasts) and good coffee — a roast and blend which the hotel proprietor Cinzia herself has perfected over the year.
The hotel is clean and one feels comfortable to linger and read in the common areas. Note though that the single rooms are very much on the small side (like their sister hotel Hotel Due Torre) so if you are inclined to claustrophobia need a little more breathing space it might just be worth it to book yourself a double room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harmanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Harmanna,

We have right now read what you wrote about us and we are so pleased to see you had a pleasant stay although only for one night. Our staff always try to do the best they can and we are happy to see they had success with you too. We are also glad that breakfast was good enough and that you found our hotel nice and clean. So we are hope to see you again in the near future and till then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights. Unlike most of the other favourable reviews, we can't recommend this hotel. It is in need of a spruce up. The room that we stayed in was shabby. Back room staff were excellent. Front room staff specifically older gentleman with grey hair and older woman with short blonde hair and glasses were particularly rude. Perhaps they were having a bad few days. We all do. The breakfast met expectations of the hotel, and the location was wonderful. If you're looking for something a little bit special then don't be seduced by the price of this hotel and its photos which must have been taken a long time ago. Keep searching and you'll find a nicely appointed room with similar price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Mrs Mary,

We had the chance to read your message and we are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us but mostly we are sorry you didn't say anything. Maybe we could solve yoru problems during your stay.
As per our reviews we always try to do our best to let our clients feel at home. As people can read staff is always very friendly and helpfull and we are sorry that you don't agree and had a bad experience. Be sure we will do our best to further improve this point.
Regarding then rooms, we just to point you out that every year we refresh the rooms and renew what needs to be renewed, and we will try to do even more following your suggestion.
At least you had a pleasant breakfast. We hope therefore you wish to give us another chance and come back to stay with us again. Til then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My favorite hotel in Rome is the Fontanella Borghese. I took my mother and daughter with me on a business trip 2 summers ago so it was a combination business and family trip. The rooms aren't fancy - small but very clean and importantly, very quiet. The hotel is located across from the Borghese Palace in a small piazza - just down the street from the Spanish Steps, a few minutes walk to the Trevi, Pantheon, a short cab ride to Trastavere. The staff was consistently cheerful, warm and helpful, internet access was good and the complimentary breakfast perfectly fine. The restaurant was small but excellent for dinner when we were too tired to walk elsewhere. In particular, our dessert was lovely - tiny wild strawberries with gelato. An excellent value too, I recall the room was less than my per diem. I'll stay there again, whether I go for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJLarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Mr Larkin,

We had the chance to read your message and we are so pleased to ready you had another pleasant stay with us along with yoru mother and daughter.
We are also pleased to see you liked our breakfast and staff was helpfull enough; so we can't wait to meet you again and really hope this will be soon.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I obsessed over Tripadvisor reviews before our vacation and finally settled on the Fontanella Borghese for our four days in Rome. We could not have been more pleased. The location was fantastic. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful -- drawing us excellent maps to specific locations and making phone calls on our behalf. And I especially loved the breakfast room, where a lovely woman waited each morning to make our due cappuccini. So much charm in a little hotel

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenMarie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Direttore at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Karen Marie,

We've read the review you wrote and all the staff of the hotel wishes to thank you for all your kind words!
It's nice to read that you've spend a lovely vacation and that part of it it's due to us.
We hope to have you as our guests next time you plan a trip to Rome, till then we send you our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Fontanella Borghese. One of the clerks, Khaled, was a lot of fun and really made our stay even more enjoyable. The location is fabulous, close to so many of the main attractions. The rooms were nice and the service was very good. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Celeste

What a pleasure to read the message you posted on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased you appreciated our effort and expecially thos of Khaled to let you have a pleasant stay with us.
We hope therefore to see you again in the near future and til then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Fontanella Borghese from July 3 - July 7th. It felt like home away from home in a very convenient location to all the major sites. Beautiful floors throughout the hotel and rooms. Breakfast was very good in a beautiful and quaint breakfast room. We occupied three rooms with extended family (family room, double and single) and everyone was happy with their room. What made this hotel even more welcoming was the staff (especially Khalid) who helped with all of your needs in a very competent and friendly manner. Nothing was a problem - calling for taxis, dinner reservations, directions, recommendations, etc. That type of personalized service is so helpful on a first visit to Italy and would be difficult to receive in a large hotel. The previous comment from another poster regarding the seagulls and motor bikes - we agree with the noise and did also use ear plugs, but found the noise level to be similar all over Rome and the issue would be the same. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and would love to return one day! Thanks for a beautiful memory Hotel Fontanella Borghese and its wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanburye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Hanburye,

We got the chance to read your beautiful messagge and we all teh staff wish to thank you for the very nice words you spent. We are really glad you apprecaited our efforts to let people have a pleasant stay with us; therefore we really hope to meet you again in the near future and till then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#231 of 1,267 in Rome
349 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#185 of 1,267 in Rome
1,464 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,267 in Rome
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#330 of 1,267 in Rome
718 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#293 of 1,267 in Rome
279 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#59 of 1,267 in Rome
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontanella Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontanella Borghese

Address: Largo della Fontanella di Borghese 84, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#285 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $152 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontanella Borghese 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fontanella Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontanella Borghese Hotel
Fontanella Borghese Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing