We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Ranked #336 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights. Unlike most of the other favourable reviews, we can't recommend this hotel. It is in need of a spruce up. The room that we stayed in was shabby. Back room staff were excellent. Front room staff specifically older gentleman with grey hair and older woman with short blonde hair and glasses were particularly rude. Perhaps they were having a bad few days. We all do. The breakfast met expectations of the hotel, and the location was wonderful. If you're looking for something a little bit special then don't be seduced by the price of this hotel and its photos which must have been taken a long time ago. Keep searching and you'll find a nicely appointed room with similar price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Mrs Mary,

We had the chance to read your message and we are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us but mostly we are sorry you didn't say anything. Maybe we could solve yoru problems during your stay.
As per our reviews we always try to do our best to let our clients feel at home. As people can read staff is always very friendly and helpfull and we are sorry that you don't agree and had a bad experience. Be sure we will do our best to further improve this point.
Regarding then rooms, we just to point you out that every year we refresh the rooms and renew what needs to be renewed, and we will try to do even more following your suggestion.
At least you had a pleasant breakfast. We hope therefore you wish to give us another chance and come back to stay with us again. Til then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My favorite hotel in Rome is the Fontanella Borghese. I took my mother and daughter with me on a business trip 2 summers ago so it was a combination business and family trip. The rooms aren't fancy - small but very clean and importantly, very quiet. The hotel is located across from the Borghese Palace in a small piazza - just down the street from the Spanish Steps, a few minutes walk to the Trevi, Pantheon, a short cab ride to Trastavere. The staff was consistently cheerful, warm and helpful, internet access was good and the complimentary breakfast perfectly fine. The restaurant was small but excellent for dinner when we were too tired to walk elsewhere. In particular, our dessert was lovely - tiny wild strawberries with gelato. An excellent value too, I recall the room was less than my per diem. I'll stay there again, whether I go for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJLarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Mr Larkin,

We had the chance to read your message and we are so pleased to ready you had another pleasant stay with us along with yoru mother and daughter.
We are also pleased to see you liked our breakfast and staff was helpfull enough; so we can't wait to meet you again and really hope this will be soon.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I obsessed over Tripadvisor reviews before our vacation and finally settled on the Fontanella Borghese for our four days in Rome. We could not have been more pleased. The location was fantastic. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful -- drawing us excellent maps to specific locations and making phone calls on our behalf. And I especially loved the breakfast room, where a lovely woman waited each morning to make our due cappuccini. So much charm in a little hotel

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenMarie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Direttore at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Karen Marie,

We've read the review you wrote and all the staff of the hotel wishes to thank you for all your kind words!
It's nice to read that you've spend a lovely vacation and that part of it it's due to us.
We hope to have you as our guests next time you plan a trip to Rome, till then we send you our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Fontanella Borghese. One of the clerks, Khaled, was a lot of fun and really made our stay even more enjoyable. The location is fabulous, close to so many of the main attractions. The rooms were nice and the service was very good. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Celeste

What a pleasure to read the message you posted on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased you appreciated our effort and expecially thos of Khaled to let you have a pleasant stay with us.
We hope therefore to see you again in the near future and til then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Fontanella Borghese from July 3 - July 7th. It felt like home away from home in a very convenient location to all the major sites. Beautiful floors throughout the hotel and rooms. Breakfast was very good in a beautiful and quaint breakfast room. We occupied three rooms with extended family (family room, double and single) and everyone was happy with their room. What made this hotel even more welcoming was the staff (especially Khalid) who helped with all of your needs in a very competent and friendly manner. Nothing was a problem - calling for taxis, dinner reservations, directions, recommendations, etc. That type of personalized service is so helpful on a first visit to Italy and would be difficult to receive in a large hotel. The previous comment from another poster regarding the seagulls and motor bikes - we agree with the noise and did also use ear plugs, but found the noise level to be similar all over Rome and the issue would be the same. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and would love to return one day! Thanks for a beautiful memory Hotel Fontanella Borghese and its wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanburye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Hanburye,

We got the chance to read your beautiful messagge and we all teh staff wish to thank you for the very nice words you spent. We are really glad you apprecaited our efforts to let people have a pleasant stay with us; therefore we really hope to meet you again in the near future and till then please accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This little Hotel is a small jewel in the heart of Rome, very conveniently situated , within walking distance to the 1) Piazza del Popolo,2) fountain of Trevi, 3)Piazza Navona, 4)Piazza Emanuelle.
A mildly longer walk or a short taxi ride is the famous Coliseum. The rooms are comfortable, with great beds and very adequate bathrooms, good air conditioning, as well as very good breakfast selections, either in the hotel itself or if you wish at the downstairs cafe-bar next door. By the way I did not mention that it is also very close to Spanish steps but once you enter the little courtyard you are free from the "crowd"of people and tourists!.The Hosts and the whole staff are incredibly well-informed and helpful with anything and everything one needs and will direct you to all the treasures of Rome in which you may be interested.Very good value for the price and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Sirs,
We had the chance to read the message you posted and we are so happy to see you a had a great stay with us and that the hotel was as you were expecting. We are also glad that the staff was helpful enough wish suggestions and not only and hoping therefore to see you again as soon as you can we send you our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

On the surface it is an amazing bargain in a truly fantastic location in the heart of Rome, so we arrived with some optimism. It almost looks like a 3 or 4 star hotel in many ways, but the reality is that it is closer to a 2 or so star hotel, with all of the problems that come with that in an old European hotel. The hotel is hidden inside a larger building, so if you arrive on a weekend or after 8pm you need to ring a buzzer in an otherwise unmarked door to get in. The front desk staff is friendly and was extremely helpful with everything we asked about. But we ran into simply too many problems. Our room was loud. The noise is caused by a bar nearby, whose voices get amplified by a narrow alley that the rooms face, and by a _very_ loud flock of seagulls (I’m not kidding) that lives on the roof. We slept fine with earplugs in the very clean room and comfortable room, but again, we did need earplugs. The next night the phone in our room didn't work so we were moved to another room by the very helpful staff. Then, the next morning, there was no hot water in the shower. It was apparently fixed quickly and maybe the hotel was just having a bad day—I can’t say after only one stay if this is normal or not. But the noise and water issues were enough to make us frankly hate our stay. We will not be returning. And yes, this means we will need to pay a lot more for another truly 3-4 star hotel next time. Bottom line, the main thing we want to say about this hotel is that you get what you pay for—this hotel is indeed a very affordable option in an amazing location within Rome, with all of the tradeoffs that come with that level of affordability.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaroslav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, segretaria at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We got the chance to read your message and once again we wish to apologise with you as you dind't enjoy your stay as most of our clients do but unfortunatley it was out of our control and because the hotel is just like a house, it can happen to have a big damage that causes other big damages. This is what happen during your stay. As you know we had a damage with a water pipe that caused a short-circuit and consequently a big damage to our switch board and to the boiler. As soon as we realized what happened we immediately call the repair the boiler but, as you know, to have hot water then, it took a while and after a couple of ourss it was workling perfectly. As we told you it was our of our control and we are so sorry about that, but now that everything is working perfectly we would like you to come and stay with us again to check by yourself. We would also say that if the hotel was run this way, it couldn't have all the returning guests it has luckly. We are anyway happy that at least the staff was helpfull enough and again in the hope to meet you again we send you our warmet regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#223 of 1,269 in Rome
355 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#179 of 1,269 in Rome
1,473 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,269 in Rome
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#331 of 1,269 in Rome
721 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#282 of 1,269 in Rome
281 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#316 of 1,269 in Rome
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontanella Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontanella Borghese

Address: Largo della Fontanella di Borghese 84, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#285 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $140 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontanella Borghese 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fontanella Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontanella Borghese Hotel
Fontanella Borghese Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing