We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Jewel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fontanella Borghese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Ranked #390 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed this boutique hotel, especially the location! The staff at Hotel Fontanella Borghese was very accomodating, even sending a driver to the airport to meet us. Very centrally located to the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Vatican City and the Colleseo. The triple room was a good size with a spacious bathroom, complete with all the amenities. Breakfast was fairly standard and served in a delightful side room of the hotel. October is the perfect time to visit Rome to avoid the crowds! I highly recommend Hotel Fontanella Borghese as a quiet retreat in centro Roma.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderllust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Direttore at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sis,

We really wish to thank yo so much for the very nice message you wrote about our hotel and our staff.
We hope to meet you agian in teh near future and till then we send your warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    101
    36
    6
    9
See reviews for
72
101
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

HFB is a nice boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful staff (they speak English, as well). My room, was a bit small, was clean enough, but not terribly comfortable. However, with warm sunny weather, I spent very little time in my room. The hotel is just a 3 minute walk to the Via Corso, 10 minutes to the Piazza Popollo, 8 minutes to the Spanish steps and 8 minutes to the Pantheon. Plenty of restaurant choices in the area, one of my favorite areas to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmalan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 3 wonderful nights @ the Fontanella Borghese, and Frommer's was right: the friendliest, most helpful staff I have ever met.
Great location, clean rooms, more than adequate breakfast; definitely value for your money. Very useful tips from Claudia and Andrea for restaurants, reservations, travel. They made our stay in Rome special, and the hotel will always have a special place in our memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband, my son, and I spent four days in Rome last week and were so glad to have found this hotel on Trip Advisor! The Fontanella Borghese is truly a gem because of its location, price, and the charm of the property and the people who work there! The desk staff were very friendly and were fluent in English-a helpful plus. They suggested terrific restaurants, reserved taxis for us, and helped us book train tickets. When we return to Rome, we won't look for different accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senorita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a fantastic little boutique hotel which truly became our home away from home during our recent 5-day stay in Rome. The location was perfect, being only a few minutes walk from the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. Despite being only a few steps from the bustle of the v. Condotti v. del Corso, it opens off a relatively quiet little piazza which always felt pleasantly removed from the tourist crowds. It is also right beside Piazza s. Lorenzo which features one of Rome's best pasticherrias, quickly to become our favourite! The hotel is located on an upper floor and accessed via a charming private courtyard and marble staircase (or small lift). The decor is homely and inviting, the rooms simple but spotlessly clean and well serviced. The staff were wonderful : the owner (Cinzia) personally arranged bookings for the Villa Borghese when we arrived and went out of her way to make our stay special. The reception staff were friendly, always helpful (even with unusual requests) and spoke perfect English. The staff recommendations for places to eat and drink were right on the mark. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts provided each morning where the food was plentiful, fresh and delicious - and staff always eager to offer another coffee or hot cup of tea. As a base from which to explore the old city of Rome, this has to be the perfect choice of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our fourth stay in the hotel and we weren't dissapointed. The location and the staff are fabulous. Yes the accommodation may be modest and the lift is small, but the rooms facing the courtyard are quiet and more than functional. This is Rome after all if you want classic five star in a big global chain this isn't it. But if you are in pursuit of a boutique hotel managed hands on by the owner and supported by charming, helpful and cheerful front desk staff who are competent at speaking English, then consider this hotel. The breakfast which is served in a delightful room is excellent and more than adequate to provide the fuel you need for your daily Roman activities. The location is in our view one of the best in Rome with easy access to major attractions, great shopping and food. Yet it is tucked away in a relatively quiet spot alongside some of the most beautiful piazzas in the city. Free access to wi fi is available in the rooms and the front desk staff will enthusiastically help you plan a day of sightseeing that takes you off the standard tourist tracks. I have read in other reviews that the the staff were rude - I have never encounter bad attitude in this hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is located several blocks from the Spanish Steps. It is very clean, comfortable and friendly. I would agree with those who have said elegant. I think the lobby is elegant. We enjoyed our stay there. We would return. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You access the hotel lobby from an elevator in the courtyard. The lift is small but adequate. Our room was on the lobby floor and faced onto the courtyard. Noise was not an issue. When we got into the room the air conditioning was not on. The staff got it working. I think we had a queen bed. The room was not large, but I did not feel that it was small. The shower was clean. The shower had you slide the door around you. The opening, at its widest is not very wide. A large person (50 inch waist or more) may find this difficult if not impossible. If one could not get in the shower the hotel had two handicap restrooms on the lobby floor with a big shower. The room had adequate outlets and they were placed well. I could use what I was later told was a “German” adapter for my U.S. plugs. [A “German” adapter refers to the plug an Italian in Venice told me the German’s use. The “German” 3 across plug” had wider pins. A “German” plug would not fit into an “Italian” plug. The only place I had this problem was Florence and Venice. The “German” plug worked in Assisi, Naples and Rome (and Munich.] The front desk had good suggestions on dinning, laundry and bus routes. They were always willing to call a cab. The wi-fi in our room worked but it did not have a strong signal. There was a computer in the lobby and you could use it. There is a nice grocery across the small plaza in front of the hotel, to the right, on the corner. The deli butcher was helpful in getting our lunch together, once he understood we were going on a picnic. The breakfast was typical hotel fare. For some reason, which I cannot put my finger on, I thought it was a little special. I really felt comfortable at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#345 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#242 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#543 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#294 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#254 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Campo Marzio
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontanella Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontanella Borghese

Property: Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Address: Largo della Fontanella di Borghese 84, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#285 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontanella Borghese 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fontanella Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontanella Borghese Hotel
Fontanella Borghese Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing