We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontanella Borghese
Ranked #342 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband, my son, and I spent four days in Rome last week and were so glad to have found this hotel on Trip Advisor! The Fontanella Borghese is truly a gem because of its location, price, and the charm of the property and the people who work there! The desk staff were very friendly and were fluent in English-a helpful plus. They suggested terrific restaurants, reserved taxis for us, and helped us book train tickets. When we return to Rome, we won't look for different accommodation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontanella Borghese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a fantastic little boutique hotel which truly became our home away from home during our recent 5-day stay in Rome. The location was perfect, being only a few minutes walk from the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. Despite being only a few steps from the bustle of the v. Condotti v. del Corso, it opens off a relatively quiet little piazza which always felt pleasantly removed from the tourist crowds. It is also right beside Piazza s. Lorenzo which features one of Rome's best pasticherrias, quickly to become our favourite! The hotel is located on an upper floor and accessed via a charming private courtyard and marble staircase (or small lift). The decor is homely and inviting, the rooms simple but spotlessly clean and well serviced. The staff were wonderful : the owner (Cinzia) personally arranged bookings for the Villa Borghese when we arrived and went out of her way to make our stay special. The reception staff were friendly, always helpful (even with unusual requests) and spoke perfect English. The staff recommendations for places to eat and drink were right on the mark. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts provided each morning where the food was plentiful, fresh and delicious - and staff always eager to offer another coffee or hot cup of tea. As a base from which to explore the old city of Rome, this has to be the perfect choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our fourth stay in the hotel and we weren't dissapointed. The location and the staff are fabulous. Yes the accommodation may be modest and the lift is small, but the rooms facing the courtyard are quiet and more than functional. This is Rome after all if you want classic five star in a big global chain this isn't it. But if you are in pursuit of a boutique hotel managed hands on by the owner and supported by charming, helpful and cheerful front desk staff who are competent at speaking English, then consider this hotel. The breakfast which is served in a delightful room is excellent and more than adequate to provide the fuel you need for your daily Roman activities. The location is in our view one of the best in Rome with easy access to major attractions, great shopping and food. Yet it is tucked away in a relatively quiet spot alongside some of the most beautiful piazzas in the city. Free access to wi fi is available in the rooms and the front desk staff will enthusiastically help you plan a day of sightseeing that takes you off the standard tourist tracks. I have read in other reviews that the the staff were rude - I have never encounter bad attitude in this hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is located several blocks from the Spanish Steps. It is very clean, comfortable and friendly. I would agree with those who have said elegant. I think the lobby is elegant. We enjoyed our stay there. We would return. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You access the hotel lobby from an elevator in the courtyard. The lift is small but adequate. Our room was on the lobby floor and faced onto the courtyard. Noise was not an issue. When we got into the room the air conditioning was not on. The staff got it working. I think we had a queen bed. The room was not large, but I did not feel that it was small. The shower was clean. The shower had you slide the door around you. The opening, at its widest is not very wide. A large person (50 inch waist or more) may find this difficult if not impossible. If one could not get in the shower the hotel had two handicap restrooms on the lobby floor with a big shower. The room had adequate outlets and they were placed well. I could use what I was later told was a “German” adapter for my U.S. plugs. [A “German” adapter refers to the plug an Italian in Venice told me the German’s use. The “German” 3 across plug” had wider pins. A “German” plug would not fit into an “Italian” plug. The only place I had this problem was Florence and Venice. The “German” plug worked in Assisi, Naples and Rome (and Munich.] The front desk had good suggestions on dinning, laundry and bus routes. They were always willing to call a cab. The wi-fi in our room worked but it did not have a strong signal. There was a computer in the lobby and you could use it. There is a nice grocery across the small plaza in front of the hotel, to the right, on the corner. The deli butcher was helpful in getting our lunch together, once he understood we were going on a picnic. The breakfast was typical hotel fare. For some reason, which I cannot put my finger on, I thought it was a little special. I really felt comfortable at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

On a recent trip to Rome, we booked a room for 4 nights prior to our cruise. We were apprehensive because of the negative reviews some had given the hotel. We were delighted with our selection. From our arrival to departure, we were treated in a most friendly, professional manner. The staff was more than patient with our numerous questions and went out of their way to help us. Cinzia (the owner) did the impossible, obtaining tickets for the Galleria Borghese which was sold out ten days ahead. The staff, especially Khaled and Andreea, were great. Their recommendations for dinners were outstanding with a repeat visit to one restaurant in our short time there. The location is central and walkable even for these 70+ visitors. Breakfast was served in a most pleasant room and started our day in fine fashion. Our only negative was the small size of the shower - but it did prepare us for shipboard bathrooms. We've found our home in Rome for subsequent visits. Thanks to all for making it a great 4 days.

Room Tip: We had a room on the courtyard one floor up from the reception level and we slept well.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Direttore at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Rome, 4th June 2012


Dear Sirs,

We have read the kind words that you wrote on our Hotel and we thank you very much.
We hope to have you as our gusts next time you plan a trip to Rome.
Wishing you all the best, we remain.

The Mangaer and Saff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is tough to find at first and the elevator is small (but so was every elevator we had on our trip that included - London, Paris, Rome and Florence). The people were great and the front desk people were awesome. Khaled helped us the most and did a great job, knows perfect English, and even helped us with our Italian. We never took a cab, walking to Ancient Rome, the Vatican, the spanish steps, trevi fountain, Borghese gardens, etc etc. We loved the people and the location. The room was small, but perfect for the two of us. To be honest, a big fancy room is a waste, you are in Rome, go outside! We loved the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Direttore at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Rome, 4th June 2012


Dear Sirs,

We thank you for all your kind words you wrote on our Hotel.
Hopping to have you as our guests next time you plan a trip to Rome.
We wish you all the best and remain.

The Manager and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fontinella Borghese on our last night in Italy. The room was small but well appointed and comfortable. The front desk staff were very patient with our numerous questions. Breakfast was served in a lovely room. It was easy to get around and we walked everywhere. During our nine days in Italy we stayed at four different hotels and each had different and unique attributes. I enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmettetraveler1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMMYMIO, Proprietario at Hotel Fontanella Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again at our hotel! We wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#218 of 1,267 in Rome
350 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#185 of 1,267 in Rome
1,464 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#114 of 1,267 in Rome
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#324 of 1,267 in Rome
718 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#290 of 1,267 in Rome
279 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#58 of 1,267 in Rome
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontanella Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontanella Borghese

Address: Largo della Fontanella di Borghese 84, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#285 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $152 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontanella Borghese 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fontanella Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontanella Borghese Hotel
Fontanella Borghese Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing