We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nancy Aiello Private Day Tours
Review Highlights
italy vacation with kids

Thanks again for a great day yesterday. It was a fun educational experience and we will have... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Ruth99911
An amazing journey among the best sights of Rome

We are a family of 6 (4 babies!), we decided to participate to a one-day NancyAiello tour in Rome... read more

Reviewed February 12, 2019
Oixina
via mobile
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
55
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family tour educational experience italy vacation driver knowledge pompeii sights fantastico
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 58 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Italy for the first time as part of a cruise from Rome to Venice. We wanted to make the most of our time in Italy and we hired contacted Nancy Aiello Tours for airport transfers, and customized tours so we could be sure to see what we wanted to see. Since we had a delay between the time our flight arrived in Rome and being able to board the cruise ship, we had arranged for a driving tour of Rome. The driver met us at the exit from customs and took us on a wonderful tour before driving us to Civitavecchia. The next day in Livorno we had arranged for a driver to drive us to San Gimignano and then to Florence. In Florence Nancy Aiello had arranged for a guide for a tour of the Uffizi, and other sights in Florence including the Chapel of the Magi. In Sorrento we had a driver who took us to Pompeii for a guided tour of Pompeii and then a driving tour of the Amalfi coast. The last service we used was a transfer from the Venice Cruise Terminla to Marco Polo Airport. All of the cars were either newer Mercedes or BMWs, the drivers were excellant and the guides were fantastic experts. Due to my wife's asthma we confirmed that the cars, drivers, and guides were all non-smokers. Hightly recommended for personalized high quality service.

Date of experience: October 2013
7  Thank DonH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We toured the Ancient Rome and Coliseum, Catacombs, and Vatican with Vincenzo.and our 3 teenagers. Vincenzo hit a perfect tone with pithy history and contemporary references to keep our brood engaged and having fun. He did an excellent job laying out options and making recommendations about best use of time. He also worked with our driver, Fabio, to maximize the use of the van. Both guys were very accommodating and had great senses of humor which goes a long way for a family trip. Vincenzo's narrative was well informed and we never lost interest. And unlike some of our other tour guides, we never had any trouble hearing him--he is great at walking backwards on uneven surfaces:) Thanks Vincenzo and Fabio!

Date of experience: June 2013
6  Thank mpbodiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I heard back from my American friends of the Chen multigenerational family and they had a WONDERFUL time!
The private bilingual English and Mandarin speaking tour guides, deluxe vans and professional drivers provided by Nancy Aiello Tours for touring Rome, the Vatican and Florence were unbelievably good.
They also said that the Chinese restaurants were all first class.
Thanks again for all your help.

Date of experience: September 2013
7  Thank FrancescoM584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We organized our tour over the Internet. We arrived in Naples from Paris and met our driver at the airport. Andrea helped transfer our luggage to a large, clean, air conditioned van. Andrea was punctual, very professional and a great driver. He spoke English fluently.

We were driven to Pompeii where we met our guide who was very knowledgeable about Roman history and the history of the site. While we were touring the ruins Andrea remained with the vehicle and our valuables.

We were travelling with our children ages five and eight. The guide took us in through an entrance that was not busy which allowed us to tour most of the site without the huge crowds that were there. She engaged the children throughout the tour which made the experience for us terrific. Our boys are very active and they enjoyed the experience in Pompeii and remember so much of what they were told and shown at the site. The guided tour lasted about two hours at the site which was more than adequate to see everything. The site was amazing to see from the colliseum to shops with stone inlay counters and frescoes on the walls, the baths and a magnificent home in the center of the square. We learned how Romans lived, how they did their laundry, how they made their roads, we learned about their day to day life and what they did for entertainment and saw many examples of the amazing architecture of the Romans. We also saw the plaster casts of some of the deceased.

It was very hot the day we toured and our guide was very careful to keep us in the shade and showed us where to replenish our water from the fountains where it was potable. I would advise making sure you had a lot of water with you before going into the Pompeii ruins as there is no water for purchase once you are inside.

After touring the ruins our driver took us to a nice restaurant where we had a lovely Italian lunch. We were then driven to mt Vesuvius where we climbed the 30-40 min walk to the crater. Views from the top were stunning. The path up to the crater was loose gravel. People with mobility issues or cardiac issues would find the hike up too difficult. The path is very dusty and asthmatics or people with respiratory issues aggravated by dust may find it difficult as well. When we returned from the hike to the top our driver was waiting for us to drive us to Rome.

Along the way to Rome Andrea pointed out many interesting places and also told us what the region was noted for. We felt like very pampered tourists with this company and would highly recommend their customized, personalized tours! Andrea even helped us arrange a transfer to the airport three days later when we departed to Nice. Amazing day thanks to the staff at Nancy Aiello Tours !

Date of experience: August 2013
13  Thank 4oceanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was nervous about booking something via the Internet but this worked out great! The driver picked us up at our hotel...on time...in a beatiful, large BMW. He was very personable and very fluent in English. He drove us up to a quaint winery in Tuscany. (sorry, I can't remember the name of it) but it was fantastic. They gave us a tour of the winery and we sampled wine and cheese. The pace was as fast or as slow as you wanted it to be. On the way back, we stopped at a restaurant that was on top of a hill overlooking the vineyards of Tuscany. Lunch was delicious and the view was beautiful. I definitely recommend!

Date of experience: May 2013
15  Thank GOLAURIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews