We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Domus Augusta

Domus Augusta
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domus Augusta
Ranked #656 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent Location, minutes away from Termini Station. There is a street market during day outside the hotel but inside is very safe & clean. We were received by Owner & he showed us the room & made sure we were comfortable.Management is very professional & helpful aswell. We wanted to arrange some tours & Fabio helped us a lot by making telephoneenquiries in local language. Room is spacious, toilet & room looks like they are very new. No noise at all inside the room, very quiet. It gets very hot in summer so air con comes in very handy. Room maintenance was very good. Will stay here again & recommend strongly in this price range.

Room Tip: Room number 104 was great, looks totally new. This hotel is almost at the end of street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdeepak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was the last hotel on our two week European excursion and this was by far our favorite hotel. It is very convenient to Termini Station and therefore the metro as well and we were able to tour all the sites with ease. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room as well as the excellent service. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the free WiFi and the excellent air conditioning that we really couldn't have done without while in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel, staying in room 101. Lots of great things about it, but one major downfall...

Pluses:
-good price (we paid 303 Eur for 4 nights in a double room plus city tax, incl. breakfast) for a decent location, far enough from Termini in a "quiet" street (in terms of traffic, see below), but still only 300m from the station
- nicely repointed building front
- interior of hotel in good condition, almost grand wooden-casing of the walls, reception, in the rooms too
- large room, bright, clean, plenty of wardrobe space, real coathangers
- good supply of warm water, strong shower, bathroom equipped with hair-dryer and bidet too
- pleasant staff, while only one (the owner?) spoke really good English, all staff did their utmost to be helpful and pleasant, even early in the morning. Willingness to help and advise was also clear before arriving via email with lots of transport advice being sent over on our request. Simply pleasant people.
- ok, so the breakfast is "Italian", i.e. not very interesting, based on biscuits and jam, but there are fresh pastries every morning and the coffee is good and freshly made to order (cappucino and espresso)
- bed was fine, extra pillows helped. Room was made up daily. Large flat-screen TV placed opposite the bed with almost 100 (Italian) channels.

The downside: there is only one major one, the rest are minor...
- the biggie: the noise insulation.
a) from the window - when sitting on the bed, it almost seems that the (plastic-framed) window is open, the amount of outside "hum" coming through the window. In fact, the window does not quite close perfectly tight. However, the biggest problem is that the rooms are on the ground floor and every weekday morning there is a street market right outside your window! So from about 5am you hear the traders setting up their stalls.... and it sounds like they are right next to you!
b) from the door: the door leads onto the corridor which leads round the corner to the reception desk and front door, a total of about 12 metres away. And the door doesn't catch any of the noise.... so when the night receptionist has gone AWOL and an impatient guest comes back in the middle of the night and, finding that noone is responding to his doorbell ringing, starts ringing both bells in a 2-beat rythm for several minutes, you can be sure that you'll know about it
c) floor insulation: not too significant, but it was possible to hear the bangs and thuds of people running around on the floor above

I'm a heavy sleeper so I wasn't too disturbed by all this. I tended to wake up and then drop off again. My wife is a lighter sleeper and found it uncomfortable, although not deadly. And we were up anyway each morning at 7ish to get out and beat the queues. However, if you're a light sleeper and want to sleep in in the morning, bear this in mind and don't get a room facing onto the street.

Why have I rated this Very Good? Because the overall impression is good. For the price and location, you get a clean, pleasant and tasteful hotel with helpful staff. Avoid a room facing onto the street and you'll be ok.

P.S. This hotel is a "partner" hotel of the Hotel Dama, in the same building (along with a couple of other hotels). I don't know what the link is or what the connection is. The whole Rome hotel thing is incomprehensible to me - you can have as many as 5 different hotels in one building, seemingly one hotel per floor. And it's not clear if they are under the same ownership or what. However, this was not an issue, we booked through the Hotel Domus Augusta website, communicated with the people from there (although sometimes under the HOtel Dama domain name, the receipt was also from Hotel Dama).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on ground floor, facing onto the street (due to the market each weekday)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank czenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Beatrizisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank 8,972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scarlett723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank JAE GEON O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Residenza Praetoria
Residenza Praetoria
#451 of 1,271 in Rome
810 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Augusta

Address: Via Milazzo 42 | Termini Station, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #656 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Augusta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domus Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing