We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine anything better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
Ranked #1 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

From the moment that my 19 year old daughter and arrived, we couldn't stop smiling! We immediatly fell in love with the La Duchessa A Roma and Daniela and Marco. It is a beautiful place and they have put so much of their hearts and hard work into making it such a comfortable retreat. Daniela immediately sat down with us when we arrived and gave us sight seeing and eating tips and circled everything on a map for us. The bus stop is only a couple minutes walk, and then you can get anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes. She was so helpful every day with whatever questions or concerns we had. Breakfasts were absolutely delightful each morning out on the terrace. We loved our time spent here and we were so sad to have to leave. This is a must stay for anyone and everyone!! -- Tonya

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trae2168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 473 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here and they were so kind and good hearted. Daniela and Marco were great. The food was great, their tips were fantastic. I wish we could have stayed longer as this was our favorite part of our trip abroad. I use to live in Italy so this trip was very important to me because I wanted my wife to have a good time as she had never been to Europe before. They are a very sweet couple and you'll have a great time if you stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeysaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was my first time visiting Rome. Daniela had arranged a taxi for us from Fuimicino airport, which dropped us at the door. The street and entrance to the apartment block are unassuming, but don't be concerned as once you have reached the fifth floor, either by stairs or elevator, a wonderful reception awaits. Daniela and Marco were the perfect hosts, their attention to detail is superb. Daniela provided us with loads of local knowledge, which made getting around Rome hassle free, fun and unique. The apartment is very well maintained, spotless, beautifully furnished and air conditioned. The breakfasts are carefully thought out, with a generous spread of fresh fruit, freshly baked pastries, cheeses, cold meats, juices - to mention just a few. The terrace is a serene place to relax whether that be for breakfast or for a drink at sunset. Thank you Daniela and Marco for making this such a memorable three nights in Rome, and we look forward to returning and once again tapping into your extensive knowledge of having fun in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, we knew we were in good hands. Both Daniela and Marco are magnificent hosts. The accommodations were perfect, lots of privacy and great food. Daniela was very helpful in organizing transportation, tips on best local cuisine and tourist attractions. I felt very much at home. Thank you Daniela and Marco!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are as bad as me for searching TripAdvisor for the best places to stay then im pleased to say you need to look no further. As we were visiting Rome for the first time we were careful to compare alot of places. La duchessa roma is situated in a quiet residential area of rome yet only a short tram ride away from all the main attractions. A tram ride will cost you just 1,50euro. Although this is classed as a b&b it is far more than that! During our stay we had full use of the whole apartment which sleeps five guests (two double and one single room)The large roof terrace which is accessed directly from the kitchen/dinning area is a perfect addition to your stay as we enjoyed sitting out and having a glass of wine in the evenings. Danniella and marco who were extremely friendly and welcoming were available every day to ask advice and tips about places to visit and eat. They would come in every morning to bake fresh pastries and provide a tasty selection of meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals and drinks. The entire apartment was spotlessly clean and comfortable with large bedrooms and bathrooms which were serviced daily. I honestly can not recommended this place enough and I certainly hope to return again in the future. Thankyou so much for a lovely relaxing stay. Xx

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

To be honest, it was difficult for me to believe all the superior evaluations of La Duchessa. However, I needed to find a nice place to stay with my mum on a four-day-trip and risked it. And it was one of my best decisions ever . First, the location: from Fuimicino airport, to Trastevere train station is an easy ride on the train for € 8 each, it takes around 3O mins. To find the tram stop at Trastevere is easy. Just cross the little parking place in fromnt of the station and you reach the rails. Then three stops from Trastevere with the tram no 8, and you are almost at home.

Second, the BB: It is in a nice, calm, residential area where you can find many great restaurants. We recommend the MoMo (and its desserts in particular!). The BB is in a beautiful house with an even more beautiful elevator. And the the “best of all” awaits you in the fifth floor. It is Daniela, the owner. Very open and friendly, someone you would like to meet again . Listen to her hints where to go, what to do and, especially, what to taste!

The BB is absolutely clean, elegant, sweet-smelling, your room accompanied with your own big bathroom. And the terrace… WOW!

Transport: I was a bit worried about the transport to the centre, as my mum is not a big walker. However, my worries were needless. To get to the tram station is like 5 mins little walk. And the tram itself gets you to the centre in 2O mins – or less.

What is great about this tram is, that it also gets you to the heart of Trastevere which is a quarter you should not dismiss when in Rome. It really has something…

(Daniela, Marco – thank you for being so nice with us! Alzbeta)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We had the best time here and what's better is we have made new friends in Daniela and Marco. You can't ask for nicer people as hosts for better help in a new place never seen before but Daniela made sure we knew where we were going how to get back and the best local places to eat. Anything we needed they were there. You really couldn't ask for a better place to stay or nicer people to be your hosts. It's home away from home. Can't speak highly enough about everything here. Thanks again Daniela and Marco. We will be back to see you.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jo-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campanella3
#2 of 3,721 in Rome
389 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,721 in Rome
1,151 reviews
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#8 of 3,721 in Rome
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
#11 of 3,721 in Rome
577 reviews
Prati
Rome Armony Suites
Rome Armony Suites
#7 of 3,721 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Duchessa A Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Duchessa A Roma

Address: Via Duchessa di Galliera 14, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $107 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast LA DUCHESSA A ROMA is your penthouse in the Capital, the ideal accommodation to stay in the ‘Citta Eterna’ (The Eternal City). We are located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Rome, Monteverde, very close to the Trastevere Train Station which provides very good connections to Fiumicino Airport, Viterbo, Civitavecchia and the area of the ‘Sabina Romana’. From our Bed & Breakfast – after an excellent and plentiful breakfast – you will easily reach charming and cultural places in Rome. After a day exploring our beautiful city, you will relax on our large and panoramic terrace. To reach the centre of the city, you just need to take the tram number 8, only 200 meters from the flat, which will bring you into Largo Torre Argentina after having crossed Trastevere, the most charming and eventful neighborhood in Rome. Once you get off the tram in Largo Argentina, you can easily walk to the Pantheon, the Navona Square or the Campidoglio. And few steps further, you will find yourself at the Trevi Fountain, the Spagna Square and the Vatican. All rooms are decorated in excellent style and equipped with all comforts: conditioning air, Sky Cinema and Sport TV Channels and Wireless Internet Connection. In addition, you will always get fresh and clean linen. Walls are decorated with the works of art of painter Giuliano Gentile. In few words, LA DUCHESSA A ROMA is the ideal place to stay for those visiting our wonderful city either for work, tourism or to stay closer to your relatives – the B&B is very close to the Hospital San Camillo-Forlanini. We love Rome and for us it is a pleasure to help our guests feel in harmony with our city as well as discover what it can offer. For this reason, we have spent attention to detail in our B&B, with the aim at providing you with a warm and cosy place, where we will exercise the Art of Reception. If you want to stay in a comfortable, friendly and hospitable lodging just a few steps from the historical center of Rome, this is the right place and we are sure you will not forget your holiday with us. You will always be welcome at LA DUCHESSA A ROMA. Marco e Daniela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your B&B La Duchessa A Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing