We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and adequate”
Review of Aberdeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberdeen Hotel
Ranked #312 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was OK, not bad, not great. It was clean, staff was friendly and it was near major sites and subway. Our room was on the first floor with a window to the back lot, and it was loud. We heard dumpsters being emptied (at least that's what it sounded like - breaking bottles) late into the night. The breakfast was free, but just OK - although they will make you cappuccino. Wi-Fi did not work well in my room, others did not have a problem though. Not any real public spaces to gather.

Room Tip: Get a room facing main road, not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 984 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The staff here were excellent, and the location is fantastic, easy to get around in Rome from. The room was compact, but neat and clean. I stayed for 3 nights, however after the first breakfast I ate out instead. The breakfast room is tiny and the main offering is pastry and cereal. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We hope that we aren't too late to tell you what a wonderful stay our family had at your hotel from 12/26/12 to 1/01/13. We needed to add a couple of days to our stay and you kept us in mind and found us the rooms. From our arrival at the airport to our departure to the airport, you took care of our transportation needs.We loved the decor of the rooms and the bathrooms, and it was a treat to open our windows up into the courtyard below and see the orange trees with their fruit-some of which were served with breakfast. The beds were firm and king size and we slept well. We enjoyed our breakfast, with a variety of pastries, cereals, fruit, ham, cheese, yogurt, and more. Breakfast was enjoyed at tables with tablecloths, china and silverware. Upon request our hostess would brew us up a cup of cappuccino to enjoy! They also served a variety of bottled waters, coffee, tea and juices.
The eternal city of Rome is an amazing and beautiful ciity to explore, and the central location of the Aberdeen Hotel made it easy to walk or take the subway to many attractions. Our visit will remain in our hearts, and it would be wonderful to visit Rome and stay at the Aberdeen again someday! So happy for Rick Steves recommendation on this hotel, and the special Rick Steves room rates.
Grazie mille,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went here for a long-weekend last month and it was a very pleasent experience. The breakfast was very good and enough in order to satisfy the most gluttonous customer.
The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff very helpful with all our demands.
It was near the train station so it was very easy to reach any atractions in the city of Rome and all the cafes nearby are very nice.
I truly recomend it for a romantic weekend in Rome :).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had numerous communications via e-mail prior to our trip and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and reassuring. Once we arrived they continued to answer our unending questions and provided us with directions and a wonderful restaurant recommendation. Rooms were adequate and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were large although there was a big step into the tub/shower. Breakfast was provided and was more that adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a loyal Rick Steve's guidebook reader, my wife and I stayed at the Aberdeen Hotel during our initial visit to Rome twelve years ago. At that time, we found this hotel to be a hidden gem offering a good location near the train terminal. Given our past experience, we booked a night there recently at the beginning of our three week trip to Tuscany. Unfortunately, the hotel was not quite up the the standards we previously remembered. The mattress, for one, was extremely soft and offered no back support whatsoever. As a result, my wife and I both woke up with back pain from sleeping on the apparently very worn mattresses. My wife also suffered minor burns from trying to hold the duct taped hairdryer hose in place while blow drying her hair. When she informed the staff about this, they just laughed it off. While I normally place very high value on Rick Steve's recommendations, this is one case where I would definitely disagree with him. There are many other options in Rome for the same price that are much better (see my A View of Rome Review where we stayed on our return from Tuscany at the end of our trip).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoCalWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Aberdeen for two weeks in May and June of 2013 and loved it as usual. Anna Maria, Mariano, Costel, Matteo, Alberto Livio and Cinzia were all very helpful and I now consider them good friends. I like the location as it is right near the train station and very central to everything else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomS0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#141 of 1,271 in Rome
634 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#95 of 1,271 in Rome
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#241 of 1,271 in Rome
1,551 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#208 of 1,271 in Rome
992 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dorica
Hotel Dorica
#372 of 1,271 in Rome
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Hotel

Address: Via Firenze 48, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#298 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $79 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen hotel has been completely refurbished and is located in a convenient position on walking distance to the main important sites. The rooms are carefully furnished down to the smallest detail and offer all the comforts. It's the ideal place to begin a visit to the Capital or start off on a shopping trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aberdeen Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing