We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quiet but Convenient"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberdeen Hotel
Ranked #252 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Quiet but Convenient"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had numerous communications via e-mail prior to our trip and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and reassuring. Once we arrived they continued to answer our unending questions and provided us with directions and a wonderful restaurant recommendation. Rooms were adequate and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were large although there was a big step into the tub/shower. Breakfast was provided and was more that adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    382
    93
    23
    6
See reviews for
202
376
79
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a loyal Rick Steve's guidebook reader, my wife and I stayed at the Aberdeen Hotel during our initial visit to Rome twelve years ago. At that time, we found this hotel to be a hidden gem offering a good location near the train terminal. Given our past experience, we booked a night there recently at the beginning of our three week trip to Tuscany. Unfortunately, the hotel was not quite up the the standards we previously remembered. The mattress, for one, was extremely soft and offered no back support whatsoever. As a result, my wife and I both woke up with back pain from sleeping on the apparently very worn mattresses. My wife also suffered minor burns from trying to hold the duct taped hairdryer hose in place while blow drying her hair. When she informed the staff about this, they just laughed it off. While I normally place very high value on Rick Steve's recommendations, this is one case where I would definitely disagree with him. There are many other options in Rome for the same price that are much better (see my A View of Rome Review where we stayed on our return from Tuscany at the end of our trip).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Aberdeen for two weeks in May and June of 2013 and loved it as usual. Anna Maria, Mariano, Costel, Matteo, Alberto Livio and Cinzia were all very helpful and I now consider them good friends. I like the location as it is right near the train station and very central to everything else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomS0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

On a quiet side street, entered through a common courtyard. Front desk staff very helpful and room was small but typical and bedwas comfortable . Breakfast was very adequate, but breakfast room is pretty crowded. Wifi was not very reliable, Fine little restaurant right across the street/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I don't really understand why this place has rather high reviews. I was looking for something reasonably priced near termini for a quick last night before our flight home and I guess it mostly met that - although I'd say it's rather pricey for what you get. Pretty sure we paid for an actual double bed and got two awkward twins pushed together-common in Europe I know, but ugh. It was about what I'd feared - a little difficult to find, kind of grubby, and dated. The room was small and stuffy, even with air on and I didn't feel comfortable leaving the window open on a ground floor facing the street. Bed very thin with prominent springs; a fair bit of street noise. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. We left too early to try breakfast. A disappointing end to our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'd like to give a better review of the Aberdeen, as we had high hopes for it when planning our trip. But, there are just enough negatives to say that the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. While it certainly wasn't horrible, we wouldn't stay here again next time we're in Rome. We chose the hotel based on the reviews here and because it is a longstanding recommendation of Rick Steves (with special rates for his readers).

The location is great, near the Termini train station and even nearer to the Metro stop and taxi stand at Piazza Repubblica. Plus, most attractions are within easy walking distance, with fascinating things to look at in every direction. Right across the street is a great restaurant called simply Snack Bar, which I thought was incredible (in fact, I would have eaten every meal there if I had my way). Lots of other "bars" and restaurants are also nearby.

The staff here was great - very friendly and talkative, and even the maids greeted us when they saw us. The included breakfast was pretty good - cold cuts, cheese, various pastries, yogurt, and some questionable-tasting juices.

Our room - 49 - was near the breakfast room, and there is a lot of noise in the mornings. We were getting up at 7:00 AM, but the noise started around 5:00 AM, and was amplified by the tile floors and hard surfaces in the hallways. Our room was good-sized, and had a little balcony overlooking a tiny little courtyard (very nice). It had high ceilings, and a lot of potential. But, it had a marble tile floor and one little picture on the wall. Other than that, the walls were bare, and every little noise was amplified many times. It was like living in a big empty room, and made it difficult even to have a conversation. There were apartments above us, and there were young kids up there running around and screaming until midnight each night.

The bathroom had a heated towel rack that didn't work, and it had a horrible humidity problem. The shower was very powerful, but there was no curtain (it was a tub/shower combination with a single pivoting glass panel to block the water - apparently typical in Rome), and we could never figure out how to take a shower without drenching the whole bathroom. Also, there was no mirror except in the bathroom, which made it difficult for two people to get ready in the morning.

There's a computer and printer available for guests to use, but both are slow. When I tried to check us in for our return flights, the computer took forever. But, the printer (an older inkjet) was just ridiculously slow. As my boarding pass was printing, I noticed that one of the cartridges must have been empty, because, after waiting all that time, my pass printed out in an unusable faded manner, and I just had to throw it away (along with the time I spent checking in).

So, location gets five stars, staff gets five stars, but room gets three stars. Maybe we just got unlucky with the worst room in the hotel, but I would rate this hotel around three-and-a-half stars. It's a good bargain, but I'm sure there are better choices in Rome.

Room Tip: Do not be anywhere near the breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoOnTarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

It is one of Rick Steve's recommended hotels in Rome. I love the hotels proximity to Republicca, coffee shops and shops. The breakfast is so and so, cheese meat, yogurts, juice, coffee and stale bread. But other than this I will stay in this hotel again when I get back to Rome.

Room Tip: The reception is one flight of stairs, keep this in mind if you travel with heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobleydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#115 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#235 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#177 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#62 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#265 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Hotel

Property: Aberdeen Hotel
Address: Via Firenze 48, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Rome
#299 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen hotel has been completely refurbished and is located in a convenient position on walking distance to the main important sites. The rooms are carefully furnished down to the smallest detail and offer all the comforts. It's the ideal place to begin a visit to the Capital or start off on a shopping trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aberdeen Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing