We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant, great location”
Review of Hotel Gregoriana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gregoriana
Ranked #391 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2010

On a quiet unassuming street, very close to the Spanish steps. Excellent location from which to explore Rome. Rooms are small, but outfitted nicely and exceptionally clean. Staff is very pleasant. Nice little breakfast room for a quick bite in the morning. Internet firewall will not let you download mail to Outlook. Ethernet high-speed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemus_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 153 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

After a first horrible experience at Hotel Navona, we transferred here.
The hotel is perfectly located: extremely central but on a quiet street. You are a block away from the Spanish steps, and by walking down in the opposite direction you are away from the tourist crowds.
The Hotel was entirely redone 4 years ago and the room are comfortable, spacious and elegant.
The staff are beyond kind and attentive, a unique experience.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan33Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel many times on business but this was our honeymoon and I couldnt imagine anywhere else. Aldo is still there and very helpful in all possible ways. The location is perfect..near the Spanish Steps but above the din and quiet. Taxis are available close by but walking is easy as well. We had a fantastic time in Rome and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shozgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Id would deffinitely stay at the Hotel Gregoriana again ! A fantastic ,small ,very personal hotel, with all the comforts I could possibly want. The whole staff at the Gregoriana, esp Aldo and Sandro were incredibly hospitible, and accomodating. The location was absolutely ideal for our daily explorations of the city, with an easy return for a hot shower and then back out for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Hotel is situated near the Spanish Steps, so You can walk to all major sights.
Breakfast was quite modest. Staff is very helpful.
Rooms are not bad but dont expect nothing special. Our room was silent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susivatkain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Very nice hotel, great location, very quiet. About a block away from the top of the Spanish Steps (you can use the elevator in the Spagna metro station and avoid all but a few steps if needed). Nothing better than taking newspaper down to Spanish Steps in the morning and enjoying a great view over old town. Being so close to metro station is also wonderfully convenient.

As mentioned in other reviews the staff is wonderful. Aldo, the manager, in particular was most delightful.

Having stayed in Rome multiple times I would happily stat at the Gregoriana again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank windsurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I was looking for a place close to the spanish steps, and this hotel fit the need. One expects to walk a lot in Roma, so staying by some of the attractions is very helpful in this regard. The staff at Gregoriana was very attentive, gathering our bags from the taxi before we had even left the curb. We never made it up for the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

The room itself was on the small side. This is at least my sixth trip to Rome and by far the smallest room I have found. It was OK for 2 persons 2 night, but any more than that I would have gone a bit claustrophobic. I did like how there were so few other guests (at least it seemed.)

I didn't have a car this time, but if you are planning to stay, it would be worth your while to ask them how they handle parking. What we intentionally did this time was to fly into Roma, take a taxi to the hotel, then taxi back to the airport and pick up the car at Roma airport. Most people really won't want to bother with a car in Roma anyhow! It's doable by subway and two feet! (Bring good shoes!) :)

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#59 of 1,272 in Rome
451 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna View
Piazza di Spagna View
#575 of 1,272 in Rome
162 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#310 of 1,272 in Rome
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,272 in Rome
882 reviews
Campo Marzio
Il Palazzetto
Il Palazzetto
#589 of 1,272 in Rome
117 reviews
Campo Marzio
Daniel's Hotel
Daniel's Hotel
#445 of 1,272 in Rome
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gregoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gregoriana

Address: Via Gregoriana 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $181 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gregoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gregoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregoriana Hotel Rome
Hotel Gregoriana Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing