We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel, location and hospitality”
Review of Hotel Gregoriana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gregoriana
Ranked #410 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great small hotel, location and hospitality”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel when for the second time in Rome and we knew how important would the excellent location of the hotel be at this time. Rooms and bathroom larger then what you can expect in usual European city center hotel, exceptional cleanliness and amazing service when compared to any other european destination or city we visited so far, make me rank this hotel as excellent.
Elevator for older travelers that had joined us on this trip was also very important feature and bonus in our case.
Let's be clear that noisy street, or small breakfast room is not something you can avoid at this price and location but if those are not within your top 5 priorities that it should not impact overall satisfaction and other exceptional values of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vojislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassili B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

we would really like to thank you very much for having chosen our hotel and for this kind review.
It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have appreciated our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Rome again in the future, in the meantime, please receive our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
45
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very nice small hotel on the Monte at the very top of the Spanish Steps. From this location it is just a good walk to all the favorite tourist sites in Rome. The rooms are large by Europe standards, private bath with all the nicest European fixtures. The bed was a King, something I have never found in all my European hotels. At 120Euros on Expedia, what a bargin!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassili B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have appreciated our hotel and we really look forward to welcoming in Rome again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I and our three children only decided to travel to Europe five weeks before our departure date so booking accommodation was a challenge. I was referred to Hotel Grigoriana by another local hotel that was booked out. From my first contact by email with Aldo, he was welcoming, attentive, responsive and caring. He was able to offer us a rooftop apartment with a terrace with views, it was fantastic and we loved every minute. We were so well looked after not only by Aldo but all the staff. We also had to delay our arrival by a night due to our daughter's luggage being lost in transit and we were disappointed not to be in Rome as scheduled. Aldo and his staff were so understanding and welcomed us like family when we finally arrived. We most definitely would return to this Hotel on another trip to Rome, we can't wait to return to such wonderful Italian hospitality.

Room Tip: We had the roof top apartment with a terrace. It was wonderful for our family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassili B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you very much for this kind review, we really appreciate it.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we do really look forward
to welcoming your wonderful family again in Rome in the future.

In the meantime, please receive our best wishes for Christmas and the coming New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a small hotel that has about 20 rooms. It is by Spagna and Barberini station which is convenient. It's pretty quiet. However, one day I was woken up by an alarm inside the hotel (my first day - i had bad jet lag and needed to sleep...lucky me) and the next time, there was music in the courtyard being played by another building. My "king" bed was two twins pushed together but I actually couldn't tell it was 2 beds for the first two days because they are soft beds and don't have rigid edges. At the St Regis in Florence (where I stayed after this) they did the same thing but it was horrible because of the edges being so rigid. About the bedding...I was cold one day and went to use the extra blanket but it had a very gross stain on it. So I went to use the other one. It was worse. I will upload pics.

The guys at the front desk were helpful (except one but I don't know his name. I asked if he heard of a restaurant and he just said "no" and went back to surfing the Internet. God forbid he could google it for me so I could find it.) You have to leave your key with them which is a little annoying when nobody is at the desk and you have to wait outside because they lock the doors at night (happened twice in 4 days. I waited up to 10 minutes knocking repeatedly). My friend stayed at hotel Cecil which was around the corner, quiet, and half the price. His room was also half the size though. Then again, I didn't need so much space really. The showers are good in terms of water pressure & being height adjustable (and handheld) but they are very small. There's no place to put anything which starts to get annoying. Leaving things outside ends up flooding the floor every time you open the door. I had to keep turning the water off to get my soap and stuff. I couldn't wait to take a normal shower in my next hotel.

They have air conditioning but you do not control the speed or temperature. You can only turn it off and on. And "on" is like extra low speed...and about 70 degree air in one corner.

I gave it 2.5-3 stars because it was average and I would consider my experience here to be average. I would have rather paid much less and not had all of the extra space but supposedly this was the "quietest room" - which I am now skeptical about. I think they just needed to sell this room. Who knows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inverary09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassili B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are sorry to read that you had an 'average' stay at the Gregoriana.

First, we have to say that we did not need to sell that room. Since you were looking for a quite room and all the ones on the back were booked, we thought taht keeping the Junior Suite for you (at the same price of the standard double) would have been appreciated.

Regarding the air conditioning and the shower, I am sorry, we have never received any complaint from our guest. I have to say the same for the keys, which open the door of the room, of course not the main one of the hotel. By the way, there is no need to knock, there is a bell. Anyway we will talk to the man on duty to be sure that this kind of inconveniences never happen again.

In the end, we are really sorry for the extra blanket, yoh should have called the reception so that we could have changed them immediately.

We thank you for having taken so much time for your review and truly hope to offer you a 'more than average' stay at our hotel in the future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing location, right on the spanish steps.
hotel breakfast consists of some croissants bread and coffe. enough for us as most of the eating in Rome is done outside anyway.
Staff is very nice and helpful.
Rooms are cozy, small like most European hotel rooms and very well maintained, the hotel has been renovated not long ago. only problem is that the shower is small - thats the only thing that was a bummer for us.
not far from the hotel and on the same street there is also a very nice Jazz Club with live performance called Gregory. reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lior B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your kind review.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated the hotel and the location.
Regarding the shower, we are sorry that you found it small. Anyway not all the rooms and bathrooms are the same and if you are going to visit us again in the future, please do not hesitate to ask for a room with a larger one or with a bathtube.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Gregoriana is close to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, but in a quiet and peaceful location.

It is not the height of luxury and seems a bit poky (reminiscent of Parisian hotels in the same category). However, it is well-maintained and a comfortable place to stay.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for having taken the time to share your review.

We are pleased to read that you have appreciated our hotel and the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Rome again, in the meantime, please receive our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed again at this splendid establishment. First in 1990, then in 1992 and again in 2013. Great improvements in bathrooms, beds and services. Location is superb: close to all retail and historical sites yet quiet and peaceful. Have now stayed as a daughter with my mother, as a friend with three young women, and with my male partner of 20 years. I cannot fault this establishment. In every iteration, I felt welcome and valued. Staff are generous and knowledgable. We especially appreciated Aldo, Francesco and Sandro and le Donne who served breakfast and cleaned for us. We will be back !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominica7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing this kind review.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have chosen the Hotel Gregoriana over the years and enjoyed your stay time after time.

We really look forward to your fourth visit!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,256 in Rome
351 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,256 in Rome
268 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#609 of 1,256 in Rome
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#400 of 1,256 in Rome
244 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,256 in Rome
828 reviews
Campo Marzio
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gregoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gregoriana

Property: Hotel Gregoriana
Address: Via Gregoriana 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#249 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gregoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gregoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregoriana Hotel Rome
Hotel Gregoriana Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing